• John Partridge Reviews

  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 ... 120
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BilliJean3 from Ohio on Sunday, January 11, 2015
    I went head over heels for this coat when I saw it on the Internet, so I bought one in the camel color to give him at Christmas. He loves it!! It's a very nice coat that fits that middle space between a heavy jacket and a dress coat. It fits him beautifully. We are both so glad I bought it. I just can't say enough good about this coat. You will love it, too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lou Rogers from Andover, Ma on Saturday, January 3, 2015
    A fine coat and very good value.
    I own three Gloverall duffle coats, which I bought a few years ago from Sierra, and they are all about six inches longer than the Partridge version. I bought the longest Partridge coat available. I am 6'4", and I like the coat to fall below the knee. The Gloverall version does, the Partridge does not. The Gloverall is also a bit heavier than the Partridge.
    Much as I was sorry to do it, I returned the Partridge after I received it. Just too short for my taste, but probably perfect for someone else. Beautiful blue color, and very well made. I'm certain it will make someone else very happy. Good luck.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by princeton mom from New Jersey on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    This coat works with jeans and suits. It is warm and water proof. My son will be wearing it on job interviews and for his time in grad school,
  • Reviewed by Samskara from New York on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    Never mind the claims of "original" and "authentic" -- this is not the coat that won the Battle of Jutland, it's more like the coat that sat through a thousand college football bames starting in the 1970s. The company may have some element of history, but the best thing about this coat is the look. It's a reasonably thick 70% woolen fabric with a plaid lining and will be adequate for fairly cold days, particularly if worn with a warm sweater. If you have a thick lambswool turtleneck that you never found an excuse to wear, you need this coat.

    The style has been modified many times over, both for fit and features. This coat does not have flaps over the pockets, it does not have a zipper, it has only one inside pocket and while that's just about large enough for an iPhone 6, larger would be better. It does not have a thinsulate lining or satin in the sleeves. In other words, this is a perfect coat for a casual look for week-ends when the trees are turning color, or to wear to work if you have a job that calls for casual wear. It's also great for tree lightings in December.

    The coat I received had an Original Montgomery label, but that seems to be the same firm as John Partridge -- at least they're at the same address. The sleeves were the perfect length -- for me. I haven't had a chance to check how well the toggles are sewn on, but they look okay. Oh yes, their web site says "this first fabric was similar to our current boiled wool- the only difference was the weight-the original was nearly twice as heavy." That should say a lot.

    This is a design classic, well made, and looks good on almost every casual outfit, chinos or jeans. Match it with a mid to heavyweight sweater and a plaid shirt.



  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Hudson Valley Guy from Lower Hudson Valley on Saturday, November 1, 2014
    This coat was a real find. It is light weight and warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Portland, OR on Tuesday, October 21, 2014
    There are two listings for this same jacket. One has the option for short or regular lengths, the otherlisting doesn't specify length. If you order without having to specify length, you will receive a tall size. At 5'6", the tall size definitely didn't work for me, but the exchange process was easy. I also ended up getting one size smaller than my chest measures. My chest is 40", but a 38" is perfectly roomy.

    The jacket is soft, warm, thick, heavy. I've enjoyed wearing it so far.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BarbLINY from New York on Monday, September 1, 2014
    The description is very misleading. I ordered a John Partridge duffle coat in a women's tall. This is not what I received. I actually received an Original Montgomery, which I do not even see on the STP website. Also, Original Montgomery coats do not come in tall sizes.The coat is beautifully made. This company has been making the classic duffle coat in England since 1896. It retails for double what I paid at STP. So what's not to like? Unfortunately the sizing , as described on the website is way off as well. I ordered the 42 which is described as a size 12. I wasn't alarmed by the few reviews claiming they ran large, thinking a little room would be ok in this style….. WOW… way off. I thought for a moment I received a men's coat except the plaid lining was pink and cream. It fit me more like a 16 or 18 perhaps? Sadly I had to return.
  • Reviewed by NotionView from Madrid, NM on Wednesday, April 2, 2014
    Beautiful, well made coat. Runs a bit large. I had to return and couldn't get the right size. Darn!
  • Reviewed by NotionView from Madrid, NM on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    This is a gorgeous English-made coat that screams QUALITY! Just like other top-notch clothing, this coat runs large with a lot of room around the arms and hips. I usually wear a 12 and the 42 was MUCH too large for me! I think I need 36! Well worth the price, this is a coat that will last for years to come with the quality of construction and the timeless design!
  • Reviewed by DC from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    Just got this coat a couple days ago and it is amazing. Everything about it feels and looks high quality. No problems with the toggles or leather straps at all. The camel color I got was a shade darker than it seems on the photo, but it looks great. Especially love the plaid lining. I got a 42 and it fits me perfectly -- 5'11'' 180lbs and I normally wear a 40R. Very happy with this purchase.

  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 ... 120
;