John Partridge customers feel a kinship with this unmistakably English brand that is rarely found in a product as seemingly mundane as clothing. The company started in 1969, selling its country-inspired clothing directly to farmers in Staffordshire. Now John Partridge duffle coats, quilted jackets, rugby shirts and merino wool socks are sold in some of the finest specialty stores in Great Britain. Fusing wholesome country fashions with a touch of urban style, John Partridge apparel is designed with passion, made with pride, and sought after by ... Learn more about John Partridge customers who love the country lifestyle and the distinctive clothing styles that come with it. ... Less
Average Rating based on 1182 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 119 »
  • 21-30 of 1182 reviews
  • Reviewed by Coatless in Brooklyn from NYC on Monday, December 30, 2013
    I wear a size 8/10. I am 5'5" & weigh 128 lbs. When I removed the coat from the plastic bag it looked extremely tiny. The coat looked closer to a size 4. I could barely fit my arms through the sleeves. Needless to say I did not attempt to try closing the jacket. It annoyed me to have to spend $16.95 at the USPS to send it back. Prior to ordering the size 36 I did call customer service to get the measurements in order to avoid the costly expense of ordering the wrong size & having to pay for return shipping. The only information your customer service has is the length of the garment which is on your website . I asked what the measurements were at the hips & chest but all they could tell me what I already knew. I also checked out an international sizing guide to verify what English size would be consistent with the the American size I wear. An American size 10= a British 36 so I purchased the 36. It would helpful to provide complete measurements of the garment at the hip & chest especially so the customer does not have to go through the unnecessary expense & trouble of returning an article of clothing they purchase from Sierra Trading
  • Reviewed by DB from Arkansas/New York on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    Great fit and quality! I bought this coat 2 years ago for myself, I liked it so much purchased one for my husband this year for Christmas!!
  • Reviewed by Sun Lover from Minneapolis, MN on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    This is a super adorable coat and I love the classic cut of it. Because it doesn't cinch in at the waist, it is very important to get it in the correct size. I am 5'7" and weigh 145 pounds and the 36 fit really well. It is a little bit boxy in the shoulders, but perfect if I am wearing a heavy sweater underneath. The sleeves are just barely long enough, but a larger size would look too big. I love the red, although there weren't many other size options by the time I got it. I have worn it in sub-zero temperatures and found it to be warm and have a nice wind-blocking effect. This is one of the best purchases I have ever made.
  • Reviewed by Jeremiah from New York, New York on Friday, December 27, 2013
    Nice solid wool (70%) jacket. Feeling like a schoolboy Brit! Nice toggle buttons. All handmade in the UK! Not in some manufacturing sweatshop in China!
  • Reviewed by GQ from Ontario on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    Although it is a little difficult to figure out the sizing on this coat it is beautiful. I'm about 5"5" and 135 pounds and bought a 38. I could have gone smaller but want to be able to wear heavier sweater underneath. The looser fit looks good in this style. Also love the red colour but haven"t worn it yet so can't comment on warmth or durability. Looks very well finished.
  • Reviewed by Henry from Chicago, Northern Indiana on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    A quality, casual buisness winter coat that keeps you warm and the season elements off. Sierra Trading Post promptly processed my order and UPS delivered my package with respect and pride.This order was preceded by my first and one therafter. Service and care was impeccable.
  • Reviewed by Optimiss from Chicago on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    I got this coat for the Chicago winter and I am very pleased with it so far. The wind in the Windy City can be pretty biting but the coat is quite warm and blocks out the gales. The coat has a nice plaid wool lining and all of the materials seem high quality. My only complaint is that part of the leather catch for the bottom toggle ripped loose at the seam after a week so I can't close the toggle. It might be because the bottom toggle closure gets the most wear because it as right at thigh level. The coat has a zipper so you can certainly wear it without the toggles closed, but it doesn't look as good.

    I ordered a 36 Short and the coat fit perfectly which was a pleasant surprise. The arms on most coats and jackets are too long for me and the fit is too baggy in weird places, like in the back, because I'm short and slim. This coat has a slightly snug fit without being restrictive and is well proportioned. Some reviewers haven't liked the boxy look of the coat but I think it has the classic duffle look and feel that I really like.
  • Reviewed by Charlotte left in the cold from Albany, OR on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    The coat is well-tailored, the chest size complements boyish figures. The wool/nylon material has a hard finish, it feels stiff and uncomfortable. Might discolored pilling may become a problem? Returned the item.
  • Reviewed by CB from New Canaan from New Canaan, CT on Wednesday, December 04, 2013
    The quality and workmanship of this coat is unsurpassed. I love the fabric, the pockets, the yoke, the plaid interior. I'm 5'5' and weigh 138. I normally wear a 10 - 12 coat. I ordered a 36R which fit my shoulders perfectly, but wasn't as roomy around the hips as I would have liked. I don't think these coats are designed for pear shaped women. I will keep the coat anyway but probably just use the toggles to close it and not the zipper.
  • Reviewed by El from Old Greenwich, CT on Thursday, November 28, 2013
    Absolutely yar! So British and true navy color! It is warmer than down coats. So classy. I owned one at university and here I am 38 years later owning one again. I adore the finished tab by the neck for a smooth looking finish. I feel it is the richest coat and warm. The price is fantastic and I recommended to a colleague and she purchased one after me!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 119 »
  • 21-30 of 1182 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;