John Partridge customers feel a kinship with this unmistakably English brand that is rarely found in a product as seemingly mundane as clothing. The company started in 1969, selling its country-inspired clothing directly to farmers in Staffordshire. Now John Partridge duffle coats, quilted jackets, rugby shirts and merino wool socks are sold in some of the finest specialty stores in Great Britain. Fusing wholesome country fashions with a touch of urban style, John Partridge apparel is designed with passion, made with pride, and sought after by ... Learn more about John Partridge customers who love the country lifestyle and the distinctive clothing styles that come with it. ... Less
Average Rating based on 1182 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 40 »
  • 1-30 of 1182 reviews
  • Reviewed by NotionView from Madrid, NM on Wednesday, April 2, 2014
    Beautiful, well made coat. Runs a bit large. I had to return and couldn't get the right size. Darn!
  • Reviewed by NotionView from Madrid, NM on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    This is a gorgeous English-made coat that screams QUALITY! Just like other top-notch clothing, this coat runs large with a lot of room around the arms and hips. I usually wear a 12 and the 42 was MUCH too large for me! I think I need 36! Well worth the price, this is a coat that will last for years to come with the quality of construction and the timeless design!
  • Reviewed by DC from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    Just got this coat a couple days ago and it is amazing. Everything about it feels and looks high quality. No problems with the toggles or leather straps at all. The camel color I got was a shade darker than it seems on the photo, but it looks great. Especially love the plaid lining. I got a 42 and it fits me perfectly -- 5'11'' 180lbs and I normally wear a 40R. Very happy with this purchase.

  • Reviewed by Bee from Utah on Friday, February 21, 2014
    Beautiful, warm and heavy coat. The first coat I had to send back because one of the closure slings broke after a few days.
  • Reviewed by Jay Dub from Rhode Island on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    The leather straps used to secure the coat together are very cheap, and all of them broke within 4 weeks of intermittent use. This renders the coat unusable as there is no zipper.
  • Reviewed by Disappointed from VA on Friday, February 14, 2014
    For an originally priced $600 coat (of course I paid less thru STP), I received it with a toggle loop already broken. The rest of the coat appeared fine, but what does that matter with a dangling toggle right in front. I returned the coat and did not want a replacement.
  • Reviewed by Beate from Utah on Monday, February 10, 2014
    I bought this coat for my husband to walk our dog. He likes the length and the hoody and says it is very nice and warm. However after a week one of the sling closures broke and I had to exchange the coat. It was not sown on correctly.
  • Reviewed by Kenny A from Brooklyn, NY on Sunday, February 9, 2014
    Very pleased with this coat. Fit is perfect. From chest to length to sleeves there is nothing wrong. I couldn't be more satisfied with this garment.And, as I always do when shopping with Sierra, I found a great deal. Between the personal service I received and the fantastic price I am totally happy.
  • Reviewed by Clothes Hound from Alhambra on Friday, February 7, 2014
    Great coat, well made, sized right, A coat to last a lifetime.
  • Reviewed by N Flamer from Wisconsin on Friday, January 24, 2014
    I returned mine. Compared to a Lands End duffle that was about half the price. Liked that the JP coat was true to style (no zipper; no pocket flaps) but LE was 80% wool instead of JP's 70%. The JP fabric felt cheap to the hand and don't think it would be as warm...less wool. Also, as many other reviewers have pointed out, the sleeves were too short. Other reviewers have recently complained about Sierra's copywriters getting a little "loose" with the truth. "Wool-rich fabric"?? Give me a break!
  • Reviewed by Upstate ER from Upstate New York on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    I ordered two in order to get the correct fit. The coats were quite different, different zippers, different wool, etc., although both high quality with the same cut. Because of the straight fit, the sizing can be a challenge. I'm a standard 4 US, and found the size 32 to be quite large -- long sleeves and big in the shoulders. I returned the 32 and kept the 30.
  • Reviewed by ABL from NYC on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    Product is true to size. I have long arms so I took the LONG version and it fits perfectly.
  • Reviewed by ann from md. on Monday, January 20, 2014
    Fantastic Traditionally Styled; Double-Faced Wool, Patch Pockets, Leather & Horn Toggles, Adjustable Hood, Neck Strap and Ribbon Finished Seams, Along With True Sizing, Makes This Item A true Buyers Dream!
  • Reviewed by Mountain-top fop from Flagstaff on Monday, January 20, 2014
    ... like John Lennon, just off the train in Liverpool. Warm, soft, comfortable. Great fit with room for a sport coat underneath.
  • Reviewed by Elephant Painter from Fort Gratiot, Michigan on Monday, January 20, 2014
    The structure of the coat is awesome! Hearty, well sewn, nice. However, I have to agree with other viewers that mention the leather straps for the "buttons'--cheaply done. The straps are way to thin! I had the coat on, fully buttoned and dropped my keys, I bent over to get them and "pop" ripped off the leather strap.

    For a company that has been in business this long--I must say 1)they have an awful design department and 2) they need to listen to the customer more and make changes to the product, namely a thicker, more durable loop to latch the front of the coat.

    The warmth of the coat is wonderful. I am walking about in 20 degrees F and doing fine. But now I will have to wait until all the latches tear, find new leather, take the coat to a tailor and have them all sewn on-- as my machine does not sew leather. If I had paid full price, this coat would have been returned in a heartbeat! I lived in England and have some nostalgia, so I will keep it.

    If you plan to buy this coat and remain standing--YOU WILL LOVE IT! If you need to drive a car, bend over, squat, or do anything other than stand--this may not be the coat for you. If you are creative and innovative enough to make the repairs when the strapped rip-buy it! Happy shopping!
  • Reviewed by Goyo from Northern Virginia on Saturday, January 18, 2014
    I cannot fink anything to criticize about the Montgpmery Duffle coat. It fit perfectly, it is comfortable and it is warm. I ordered a short size and am happy withe sleeve length. It is warm like being wrapped in a blanket. Plus it is good looking. It is the duffle coat I had been seeking
  • Reviewed by Long time quality clothier. from Utah on Saturday, January 11, 2014
    Typical British sizing, fits close to the body, not really built for the American physique. It's a really good double cloth with a clean plaid lining. Nice detailing on the construction with no exposed edges. Anything that could be exposed has a binding over it. The hood has a nice feature that holds it in place when you need the protection. The coat is warm by itself but if you need real warmth you would want a heavy sweater or fleece under it. I'd suggest going up a size for easier movement. The sleeves are 1" short for my 35" shirt sleeve length. You would want that extra length in a traditional top coat to be that 1" longer than your shirt sleeve.
  • Reviewed by Alex from Oslo on Thursday, January 9, 2014
    Got one of these, the zipper broke, got another one in a different color. Felt like the first one was much better quality than the 2nd- wool felt denser/sturdier, and the linings were a nicer fabric. Even so, it's a great warm coat- served me well so far in the Norway winter!
  • Reviewed by Royb from Texas on Monday, January 6, 2014
    Great coat, arrived on time, in perfect condition and fits great. The weight of the coat is just right for our area.
    Could not be any happier with the purchase.
  • Reviewed by Happy Shopper from Northshore on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    Great quality and style. It has been a challenge to get my husband into a good looking winter coat. He's a big man and this coat gives him room to wear a sweater and not feel jammed in. He is wearing it happily and looking well-dressed..
  • Reviewed by Coatless in Brooklyn from NYC on Monday, December 30, 2013
    I wear a size 8/10. I am 5'5" & weigh 128 lbs. When I removed the coat from the plastic bag it looked extremely tiny. The coat looked closer to a size 4. I could barely fit my arms through the sleeves. Needless to say I did not attempt to try closing the jacket. It annoyed me to have to spend $16.95 at the USPS to send it back. Prior to ordering the size 36 I did call customer service to get the measurements in order to avoid the costly expense of ordering the wrong size & having to pay for return shipping. The only information your customer service has is the length of the garment which is on your website . I asked what the measurements were at the hips & chest but all they could tell me what I already knew. I also checked out an international sizing guide to verify what English size would be consistent with the the American size I wear. An American size 10= a British 36 so I purchased the 36. It would helpful to provide complete measurements of the garment at the hip & chest especially so the customer does not have to go through the unnecessary expense & trouble of returning an article of clothing they purchase from Sierra Trading
  • Reviewed by DB from Arkansas/New York on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    Great fit and quality! I bought this coat 2 years ago for myself, I liked it so much purchased one for my husband this year for Christmas!!
  • Reviewed by Sun Lover from Minneapolis, MN on Saturday, December 28, 2013
    This is a super adorable coat and I love the classic cut of it. Because it doesn't cinch in at the waist, it is very important to get it in the correct size. I am 5'7" and weigh 145 pounds and the 36 fit really well. It is a little bit boxy in the shoulders, but perfect if I am wearing a heavy sweater underneath. The sleeves are just barely long enough, but a larger size would look too big. I love the red, although there weren't many other size options by the time I got it. I have worn it in sub-zero temperatures and found it to be warm and have a nice wind-blocking effect. This is one of the best purchases I have ever made.
  • Reviewed by Jeremiah from New York, New York on Friday, December 27, 2013
    Nice solid wool (70%) jacket. Feeling like a schoolboy Brit! Nice toggle buttons. All handmade in the UK! Not in some manufacturing sweatshop in China!
  • Reviewed by GQ from Ontario on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    Although it is a little difficult to figure out the sizing on this coat it is beautiful. I'm about 5"5" and 135 pounds and bought a 38. I could have gone smaller but want to be able to wear heavier sweater underneath. The looser fit looks good in this style. Also love the red colour but haven"t worn it yet so can't comment on warmth or durability. Looks very well finished.
  • Reviewed by Henry from Chicago, Northern Indiana on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    A quality, casual buisness winter coat that keeps you warm and the season elements off. Sierra Trading Post promptly processed my order and UPS delivered my package with respect and pride.This order was preceded by my first and one therafter. Service and care was impeccable.
  • Reviewed by Optimiss from Chicago on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    I got this coat for the Chicago winter and I am very pleased with it so far. The wind in the Windy City can be pretty biting but the coat is quite warm and blocks out the gales. The coat has a nice plaid wool lining and all of the materials seem high quality. My only complaint is that part of the leather catch for the bottom toggle ripped loose at the seam after a week so I can't close the toggle. It might be because the bottom toggle closure gets the most wear because it as right at thigh level. The coat has a zipper so you can certainly wear it without the toggles closed, but it doesn't look as good.

    I ordered a 36 Short and the coat fit perfectly which was a pleasant surprise. The arms on most coats and jackets are too long for me and the fit is too baggy in weird places, like in the back, because I'm short and slim. This coat has a slightly snug fit without being restrictive and is well proportioned. Some reviewers haven't liked the boxy look of the coat but I think it has the classic duffle look and feel that I really like.
  • Reviewed by Charlotte left in the cold from Albany, OR on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    The coat is well-tailored, the chest size complements boyish figures. The wool/nylon material has a hard finish, it feels stiff and uncomfortable. Might discolored pilling may become a problem? Returned the item.
  • Reviewed by CB from New Canaan from New Canaan, CT on Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    The quality and workmanship of this coat is unsurpassed. I love the fabric, the pockets, the yoke, the plaid interior. I'm 5'5' and weigh 138. I normally wear a 10 - 12 coat. I ordered a 36R which fit my shoulders perfectly, but wasn't as roomy around the hips as I would have liked. I don't think these coats are designed for pear shaped women. I will keep the coat anyway but probably just use the toggles to close it and not the zipper.
  • Reviewed by El from Old Greenwich, CT on Thursday, November 28, 2013
    Absolutely yar! So British and true navy color! It is warmer than down coats. So classy. I owned one at university and here I am 38 years later owning one again. I adore the finished tab by the neck for a smooth looking finish. I feel it is the richest coat and warm. The price is fantastic and I recommended to a colleague and she purchased one after me!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 40 »
  • 1-30 of 1182 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;