• John Partridge Reviews

  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 40
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ThriftyGranny from Texas on Tuesday, November 17, 2015
    Ordered in size 0 for tall women (even though I am not tall, but do have long arms). Except for the hips being very narrow the fit was good (and I am not hippy at all). The coat is beautiful and well made.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Linda Shopper from Los Angeles on Monday, November 16, 2015
    Got this coat for my son. It is beautiful, well made, fits great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by oldbailey from Alabama on Wednesday, November 4, 2015
    The coat arrived on time it was well packed,the package also contained a return label,in the event there was a problem.
    The coat is fairly heave,tightly woven wool making it waterproof.I ordered the coat a size larger in order to us it as a foul weather overcoat.The coat fits fine over a suit coat.
    The only thing I would change is,I would put a strip of velcro down the front in order to fasten the coat quickly,without dealing with the buttons.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Deb from New Hampshire on Tuesday, April 14, 2015
    I have wanted a duffle coat for decades,and this is perfect.
    What a price!I got the navy which I am happy with. I am 5'2"115 lb. The 32 short worked-I could not have gone smaller,and larger would have been more baggy which I did not need.Coat hit right at top of my knee and sleeve came to just below wrist bone. Love the horn- toggle front.I was comfortable in a 28 degree windy day where I was standing around- wearing a blouse-no sweater underneath--yeah!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by we track in everything... from WNC on Tuesday, March 17, 2015
    Only reason we did not give this five(5) stars is because husband has not worn the coat yet! Grew up with these style coats in Yankee Land and glad to see them back available to us in the 21st century at such a good price. Wife wears old one from high school(60's) for working in the yard; and that is why husband was envious and had to find one for himself. Thank you, Sierra!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MMHESQ from Baltimmore, MS on Thursday, March 12, 2015
    Originally ordered the Navy in 44, thinking that it would give me a bit of room for my size 42 suit/sport coats/heavy sweaters. The 44 was HUGE, and my kids actually fit inside it with me. Was able to exchange, effortlessly, as always for the last camel coloured duffle coat in a size 40. Fits perfectly, not too long, not too short. The quality is super and the value is outstanding, so together you have a win-win. More pockets, perhaps, but then it takes away from the "old school" traditional look and feel of the duffle I wore as a kid too many decades ago to state here. the two outside pockets are roomy and well sewn. I recall reading reviews about the leather fasteners tearing. A word to the wise, when you get into your vehicle, bus, plane, or whatever mode of transportation, unbutton the bottom horn and you have alleviated the issue of ripping the leather. The hood is substantial, though a little Red Riding Hood for me. The storm flap is a nice touch and the 30% blend of nylon etc. adds to the resiliency of the wool and a bit of rain/snow repellant. I found it warm for blustery Baltimore and equally at home in Washington, DC where I received numerous comments on the coat and the colour. It brought smiles to the faces of the "Old Washingtonians" who said things like, reminds me of the coat I wore at Andover and such. I really love the coat for all the reasons above and it true quality and yes, I do relish in the nostalgic feel of wearing one after all these years. My 25 year old green waxed Barbour is finally getting a break this season!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NewMeme from Victoria, Texas on Sunday, March 1, 2015
    Love the fit, color, and style. I will buy another in a different color.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jon from Mass on Wednesday, February 4, 2015
    This is my first duffle coat and it's a great one. I typically wear 38R and usually need to shorten the sleeves. With this coat, the sleeves were just perfect. There is plenty of room inside for a thicker sweater underneath. Recently, we had 10 degree weathers in New England, with below zero wind chill factor. This coat with the hood over my head kept me warm. The only thing that I would ask for is to relocate the inside pocket. Currently, it's in the lower left side. If it's at chest level it would have been great for a cell phone.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Top Mom from Minnesota on Wednesday, February 4, 2015
    I just bought my third duffle coat, and this is the second one from John Partridge. Because this coat accommodates layers, it serves me well at temperatures at 0 and above. If it had an insulated lining, I would rate it at a full 5 stars, but it is not quite able to keep me warm during the coldest MN winter days. I like the length, the sturdy hood, and the double closure--zipper and toggles. Sizing is accurate, as long as I remember that the coat is made to allow a heavy sweater or blazer to fit comfortably under it.
  • Reviewed by ploeg from Central NJ on Wednesday, January 14, 2015
    The most useful way to think of this coat is as a substantial, well-constructed wool-blend blanket with arms and a hood. It's not a parka. It doesn't have a nylon shell to repel wind and rain, and it doesn't have poly-fill to keep you toasty during arctic blasts. It's wool/polyester blend and more wool/polyester blend. Depending on how warm you typically run and how active you are, it's probably good enough to keep you warm to about 10deg Fahrenheit by itself, or to even colder if you wear appropriate layers underneath (and you purchase a size to accommodate those layers).

    Size 48 of this coat is 42" from neck to hem and weighs 2kg even (4lbs 6oz). I'm 6'3", and the coat hits my leg just above the knee, and the lowest toggle is approximately level with my navel. This allows me to sit down with the lowest toggle fastened. If I had a shorter torso, I probably would not want to have the lowest toggle fastened when I sit down. The toggles are sewn securely to the coat, but if you break a toggle, it would be a lot harder to replace the toggle than it would be to replace a button.

    The hood has no drawstring, so the only way to secure the hood to your head is by using the throat latch. You probably want some form of head covering in addition to the hood (such as a watch cap or beanie).

    The coat has two external patch pockets and one internal patch pocket. More pockets would be good.

    The sleeves don't have a smooth lining, so your arms don't slide into the sleeves so easily if you have a think layer on.

    I don't know that I would call this a $600 value. If you could buy only one winter coat, this is a little too casual to be a good choice, but if you already have a primary winter coat, this makes a nice alternative.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BilliJean3 from Ohio on Sunday, January 11, 2015
    I went head over heels for this coat when I saw it on the Internet, so I bought one in the camel color to give him at Christmas. He loves it!! It's a very nice coat that fits that middle space between a heavy jacket and a dress coat. It fits him beautifully. We are both so glad I bought it. I just can't say enough good about this coat. You will love it, too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lou Rogers from Andover, Ma on Saturday, January 3, 2015
    A fine coat and very good value.
    I own three Gloverall duffle coats, which I bought a few years ago from Sierra, and they are all about six inches longer than the Partridge version. I bought the longest Partridge coat available. I am 6'4", and I like the coat to fall below the knee. The Gloverall version does, the Partridge does not. The Gloverall is also a bit heavier than the Partridge.
    Much as I was sorry to do it, I returned the Partridge after I received it. Just too short for my taste, but probably perfect for someone else. Beautiful blue color, and very well made. I'm certain it will make someone else very happy. Good luck.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by princeton mom from New Jersey on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    This coat works with jeans and suits. It is warm and water proof. My son will be wearing it on job interviews and for his time in grad school,
  • Reviewed by Samskara from New York on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    Never mind the claims of "original" and "authentic" -- this is not the coat that won the Battle of Jutland, it's more like the coat that sat through a thousand college football bames starting in the 1970s. The company may have some element of history, but the best thing about this coat is the look. It's a reasonably thick 70% woolen fabric with a plaid lining and will be adequate for fairly cold days, particularly if worn with a warm sweater. If you have a thick lambswool turtleneck that you never found an excuse to wear, you need this coat.

    The style has been modified many times over, both for fit and features. This coat does not have flaps over the pockets, it does not have a zipper, it has only one inside pocket and while that's just about large enough for an iPhone 6, larger would be better. It does not have a thinsulate lining or satin in the sleeves. In other words, this is a perfect coat for a casual look for week-ends when the trees are turning color, or to wear to work if you have a job that calls for casual wear. It's also great for tree lightings in December.

    The coat I received had an Original Montgomery label, but that seems to be the same firm as John Partridge -- at least they're at the same address. The sleeves were the perfect length -- for me. I haven't had a chance to check how well the toggles are sewn on, but they look okay. Oh yes, their web site says "this first fabric was similar to our current boiled wool- the only difference was the weight-the original was nearly twice as heavy." That should say a lot.

    This is a design classic, well made, and looks good on almost every casual outfit, chinos or jeans. Match it with a mid to heavyweight sweater and a plaid shirt.



  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Hudson Valley Guy from Lower Hudson Valley on Saturday, November 1, 2014
    This coat was a real find. It is light weight and warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Portland, OR on Tuesday, October 21, 2014
    There are two listings for this same jacket. One has the option for short or regular lengths, the otherlisting doesn't specify length. If you order without having to specify length, you will receive a tall size. At 5'6", the tall size definitely didn't work for me, but the exchange process was easy. I also ended up getting one size smaller than my chest measures. My chest is 40", but a 38" is perfectly roomy.

    The jacket is soft, warm, thick, heavy. I've enjoyed wearing it so far.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BarbLINY from New York on Monday, September 1, 2014
    The description is very misleading. I ordered a John Partridge duffle coat in a women's tall. This is not what I received. I actually received an Original Montgomery, which I do not even see on the STP website. Also, Original Montgomery coats do not come in tall sizes.The coat is beautifully made. This company has been making the classic duffle coat in England since 1896. It retails for double what I paid at STP. So what's not to like? Unfortunately the sizing , as described on the website is way off as well. I ordered the 42 which is described as a size 12. I wasn't alarmed by the few reviews claiming they ran large, thinking a little room would be ok in this style….. WOW… way off. I thought for a moment I received a men's coat except the plaid lining was pink and cream. It fit me more like a 16 or 18 perhaps? Sadly I had to return.
  • Reviewed by NotionView from Madrid, NM on Wednesday, April 2, 2014
    Beautiful, well made coat. Runs a bit large. I had to return and couldn't get the right size. Darn!
  • Reviewed by NotionView from Madrid, NM on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    This is a gorgeous English-made coat that screams QUALITY! Just like other top-notch clothing, this coat runs large with a lot of room around the arms and hips. I usually wear a 12 and the 42 was MUCH too large for me! I think I need 36! Well worth the price, this is a coat that will last for years to come with the quality of construction and the timeless design!
  • Reviewed by DC from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    Just got this coat a couple days ago and it is amazing. Everything about it feels and looks high quality. No problems with the toggles or leather straps at all. The camel color I got was a shade darker than it seems on the photo, but it looks great. Especially love the plaid lining. I got a 42 and it fits me perfectly -- 5'11'' 180lbs and I normally wear a 40R. Very happy with this purchase.

  • Reviewed by Bee from Utah on Friday, February 21, 2014
    Beautiful, warm and heavy coat. The first coat I had to send back because one of the closure slings broke after a few days.
  • Reviewed by Jay Dub from Rhode Island on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    The leather straps used to secure the coat together are very cheap, and all of them broke within 4 weeks of intermittent use. This renders the coat unusable as there is no zipper.
  • Reviewed by Anon from VA on Friday, February 14, 2014
    For an originally priced $600 coat (of course I paid less thru STP), I received it with a toggle loop already broken. The rest of the coat appeared fine, but what does that matter with a dangling toggle right in front. I returned the coat and did not want a replacement.
  • Reviewed by Beate from Utah on Monday, February 10, 2014
    I bought this coat for my husband to walk our dog. He likes the length and the hoody and says it is very nice and warm. However after a week one of the sling closures broke and I had to exchange the coat. It was not sown on correctly.
  • Reviewed by Kenny A from Brooklyn, NY on Sunday, February 9, 2014
    Very pleased with this coat. Fit is perfect. From chest to length to sleeves there is nothing wrong. I couldn't be more satisfied with this garment.And, as I always do when shopping with Sierra, I found a great deal. Between the personal service I received and the fantastic price I am totally happy.
  • Reviewed by Clothes Hound from Alhambra on Friday, February 7, 2014
    Great coat, well made, sized right, A coat to last a lifetime.
  • Reviewed by N Flamer from Wisconsin on Friday, January 24, 2014
    I returned mine. Compared to a Lands End duffle that was about half the price. Liked that the JP coat was true to style (no zipper; no pocket flaps) but LE was 80% wool instead of JP's 70%. The JP fabric felt cheap to the hand and don't think it would be as warm...less wool. Also, as many other reviewers have pointed out, the sleeves were too short. Other reviewers have recently complained about Sierra's copywriters getting a little "loose" with the truth. "Wool-rich fabric"?? Give me a break!
  • Reviewed by Upstate ER from Upstate New York on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    I ordered two in order to get the correct fit. The coats were quite different, different zippers, different wool, etc., although both high quality with the same cut. Because of the straight fit, the sizing can be a challenge. I'm a standard 4 US, and found the size 32 to be quite large -- long sleeves and big in the shoulders. I returned the 32 and kept the 30.
  • Reviewed by ArthurB from NYC on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    Product is true to size. I have long arms so I took the LONG version and it fits perfectly.
  • Reviewed by ann from md. on Monday, January 20, 2014
    Fantastic Traditionally Styled; Double-Faced Wool, Patch Pockets, Leather & Horn Toggles, Adjustable Hood, Neck Strap and Ribbon Finished Seams, Along With True Sizing, Makes This Item A true Buyers Dream!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 40
;