Customer Reviews Of:
John Scott Geelong Merino Wool Sweater - V-Neck (For Men)

Closeouts. This John Scott V-neck sweater is fashioned of Geelong, a superfine merino lambswool from Australia which is spun and knit in Scotland.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews 4.200000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jerrymc from laughlin, nv on Sunday, February 28, 2010
    This sweater exceeded my expectations.
    • Best Uses: Going Out, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dao from Roslyn Heights, NY on Thursday, February 4, 2010
    Ridiculously undersized. I normally take a size 46 long. Being forewarned I ordered a size 48 which was must too small. I returned it for a size 50 which fits my size 46 long body perfectly. Unfortunately I had to pay to return the misized item.

    Note that color "burlwood" is somewhat murky and can be worn only with light tan or white trousers. Looks terrible with black, blue or grey.

    Finally note that the v-neck model has an impossibly small opening and very high neck. Stick with the crew neck
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, High-end shopper
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nicked St. Nick from San Francisco, California on Monday, November 23, 2009
    My husband has worn Scottish and English lambswool sweaters for some 20 years. We looked forward to this sweater that you so highly praised. We have returned it. It was atrocious: scratchy, weird shape, bad neckline, poorly blocked. I can't imagine its ever selling at the original price. We recently bought far superior quality lambswool V-necks in Paris for less than your sale price, and this with a weak dollar.

    While we enjoy the excellent savings that Sierra Trading offers us, their buyers would do better to carefully examine these opportunistic purchases to make sure that they are actually salable at any price. We have lost a good measure of faith in the quality of your products.
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, High-end shopper, Practical
  • Reviewed by Spinoza from Cambridge , MA on Wednesday, November 11, 2009
    It seems well made, densely knitted wool sweater, good quality. The V-neck is high, almost a crew neck. I had to return it, however, because it runs quite small. I usually wear a 42-44 and the 46 was a full size too small.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Itchy Material
    • Describe Yourself: Stylish
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: High Quality, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Office Worker from Washington, DC on Wednesday, July 1, 2009
    I seldom see a well-made high-V neck sweater these days, and it's great. It's really substantial and warm. I wear it over a shirt and tie so you can still see the knot of my tie. This is the perfect look for my rather cold office. I wear it a lot and have been complimented on how nice it looks. Sizing is a little tight; get a size larger than usual.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Running guy from San Francisco, CA on Wednesday, May 20, 2009
    trim fit, perhaps not the best choice for all body types. v-neck somewhat high.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Office
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by All to spoil the dog from Los Angeles on Tuesday, March 24, 2009
    Perfect for the cold damp morning weather we have been having in Los Angeles lately. I am wearing it now, so I don't have to turn on the furnace! And yesterday morning at 6 am when it was especially cold, damp and windy, I wore it to take the dog out and play fetch with a hard rubber ball.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Formal Events, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zam from Sonoma County on Saturday, March 14, 2009
    Versatile, elegant and comfortable and WARM
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Formal Events, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Haven't yet washed it, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GUNNER from MIDWEST on Monday, November 10, 2008
    WEAR ON A REGULAR BASIS BOTH TO THE OFFICE AND ON THE GOLF COURSE.

    EXCELLENT CONSTRUCTION AND QUALITY.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by OCULUS from Rensselaer, NY on Wednesday, October 1, 2008
    Perhaps this is designed to be worn with only a t-shirt, but with a buttondown collar shirt underneath it, the V-neck is so snug and high as to feel as though you are wearing a crewneck. Not as expected for nice Scottish goods; returned.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by: