Johnstons of Elgin Bright Buffalo Check Scarf - Woven Lambswool

Closeouts. A popular pattern in bothies and throws, this Bright Buffalo Check scarf of pure woven lambswool is Johnstons of Elgin at its finest -- a colorful way to keep chills from chasing down your neck.

  • Johnstons of Elgin is a centuries-old family firm doing business in the far North of Scotland since 1797
  • Using the finest cashmere and wool fibers imaginable, fabrics are dyed, spun and washed in supersoft Highlands water for irresistible softness
  • Dimensions (LxW): 69x12" with 3" fringe
  • Fabric: Lambswool
  • Care: Dry clean
  • Made in UK

Average Rating based on 21 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-21 of 21 reviews
  • Reviewed by Spy from the Cold from Novosibirsk, Russia on Thursday, January 10, 2013
    Nice fabric, warm, light. Design as described - not stunning, but will do in most cases.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fireman Jim from Canton, OH on Sunday, December 16, 2012
    It is a little itchy at first but is fine.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Greg from Virginia Beach on Friday, December 07, 2012
    color and pattern stand out, not a typical scarf.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Eric from Washington DC on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
    It came quickly and as described. Thanks STP
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Good Length, Soft
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by photojon from Chicago suburbs on Thursday, October 18, 2012
    This comment is for the Johnstons of Elgin Bright Buffalo Check Scarf. The review request appeared to be for a different Johnstons of Elgin scarf than the one that I purchased. I bought the Green/Yellow/Orange Buffalo Check, and it is a handsome, thick, and comfortable lambswool scarf, with plenty of length. I also purchased one of the Moon scarfs, which is also nice, but not as thick or as long as this one. If I could only keep one, this would be the one. But I will keep both, and use the Moon scarf when it isn't quite as cold out.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Good Length, Quality Materials, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zumba Lady from Charleston, SC on Tuesday, October 16, 2012
    This will be a Christmas gift for my husband.
    • Best Uses: As A Fashion Accessory, Cold Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Good Length, Quality Materials, Soft, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nelly B. from Naperville, IL on Tuesday, January 10, 2012
    Though I usually prefer cashmere, this lambswool is very soft, not scratchy. It is a medium weight, but heavy enough to be just as warm (if not warmer) than cashmere. Absolutely love the colors in the plaid...never seen anything quite like it. So if you want to make a statement, this is a great choice...deep brown with purples and blue. Looks great with blue jeans and a dark brown coat! I'll be wearing this one for years.
    • Best Uses: Casual or dressier use, Everyday wear
    • Cons: Absolutely none
    • Pros: Great with jeans, Medium weight wool, Unique colors, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Westport Woman from Connecticut on Tuesday, January 03, 2012
    This is a really nice scarf for both men and women. I'd give it five stars but it is just slightly scratchy - - really nothing terrible but it needs mentioning for those who have sensitive skin. Otherwise, the quality is first rate, the color/pattern is lovely. And it is long enough to wear it several ways.
    • Best Uses: With an overcoat
    • Cons: Slightly scratchy
    • Pros: Good size, Natural fiber, nice pattern, nicely made
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sandi from Parker, CO on Tuesday, January 03, 2012
    Been to the factory in Scotland, so was excited to see this product! They have great quality products! Love the colors and patterns and softness of this!
    • Best Uses: Cold weather fighter
    • Pros: Excellent quality
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sunshine and Sharks from Cape Charles, VA on Monday, January 02, 2012
    Excellent price for a quality scarf. Materials are of the quality one would expect.
    • Best Uses: CASUAL WEAR
    • Pros: Quality of materials, True to photo
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Linny from Mesa, Az on Monday, December 26, 2011
    These are some of the best scarves, live up to the expectation of warmth and comfort.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Toadflax from Canberra, Australia on Friday, December 23, 2011
    Bought this for my mother who lives in the Snowy Mountains here in Australia (yes, it does snow here). Lovely colours and feels soft and warm, though she won't use it until next June. Great product (100% wool) at a great price.
    • Pros: Attractive, Cosy, Soft
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tkg from Minneapolis, MN on Wednesday, December 21, 2011
    Purchased this for my son and he loves it. Not scratchy like some woolen scarfs.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RPG from Orlando, FL on Friday, December 09, 2011
    Nice.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Sierra Shopper from west coast on Thursday, December 08, 2011
    Will be returning only because I didn't like the color combination but Johnstons of Elgin has excellent quality.
    • Best Uses: Winter wear
    • Pros: Colorful, Excellent quality, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Warm Jane from Sharon, CT on Wednesday, December 07, 2011
    Quality is superb. Color gorgeous but length is somewhat short.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by katsass from Madison, WI on Monday, November 28, 2011
    Loved the colors in the plaid but scarf was too scratchy around my neck. Sorry, it had to go back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New York Man from New York on Saturday, November 26, 2011
    Beautiful colors and plaid. Not as soft as cashmere, but not an issue for me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Al in Madison from Madison, WI on Monday, November 21, 2011
    The item is great. Keeps me warm and is a great value at the price.
    • Best Uses: Going out in cold weather
    • Pros: Soft, value, Warmth
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave the Diver from USA on Tuesday, November 01, 2011
    Wonderful lambswool scarf. My wife loved this as part of her anniversary gift. It is very soft and keeps her warm. The length is perfect (as opposed to too short like many other scarves).
    • Pros: Long, Soft, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Heidi from Felton, PA on Monday, October 17, 2011
    nice well made scarf. Johnstons of elgin is the best, great price and NOT made in China. I've bought a load of them for gifts
    • Pros: Nice colors, Soft, Warm
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-21 of 21 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.