Customer Reviews Of:
Johnstons of Elgin Cashmere Cardigan Stitch Sweater (For Men)

Closeouts. Johnstons of Elgin spared no luxury when creating this pure cashmere sweater, made with a round neck and simple cardigan stitch knit.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews 4.666666 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mikej from maryland on Friday, April 15, 2016
    I have always found the product to be of the highest quality. you do get what you pay for. Its why i own a dozen of them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kate Lila from Massachusetts on Sunday, March 13, 2016
    This sweater was a birthday present for my husband. He's very choosy so I am always prepared to return his clothes but this one was an instant hit with him -- and with me. He looks great in it. Feel is yummy, cut is classy and the Smoke color is perfect for him -- not too gray and not too brown and not quite black. The subtle ribs lift it above flat knit style.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mimbresgirl from Redwoods on Sunday, February 7, 2016
    Since most of the colors I preferred in the women's sweater were already sold out, I thought I would do a size comparison in the men's sizes to see if it was even possible to go that route. Well it is! I am 5'4" and weigh 155lbs and I bought this sweater in men's size 44 in the zinc heather and the light green "eat de nil" color. I am large busted and could have bought the size 42 but I usually wear a liner shirt under cashmere to lessen the cleaning cycle. I love them and they fit like the very popular "sweatshirt" look with a relaxed bottom that has a loose fit around my waist. Wonderful for Saturday market or walks along the Redwood beaches. I wish I would have bought a few other colors. I buy cashmere for its warmth so the weave works well for me because it is not the big fluffy cashmere and more like the European cashmere my family in Ireland wears. Nice to know these sweaters are still made on machines that are hundreds of years old. True craftsmanship and artistry.
  • Reviewed by Bjnk from California on Thursday, January 28, 2016
    I love this sweater. The knit is unique and so is the fit...It's "fitted", compared to most - especially Johnston's of Elgin's sweaters. Most seem to be relatively large in the chest compared to the sleeve length. Of all JoE sweaters, this is definitely my favorite fit. In case it helps, I'm 6', 180 lbs and a 42 seems perfect (though borderline short in sleeves).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Terrapin from East Bay on Wednesday, January 6, 2016
    This had a slightly more relaxed bottom hem job than another Johnstons of Elgin sweather I bought for my husband, so it hangs better than the sort of old school poof out look. Can't explain any other way.
    Super soft and great quality. Wish it were cheaper, but oh well....
  • Reviewed by BC from Texas on Monday, December 9, 2013
    I weight 165, am 5'9" and am athletic. The 42 fit me perfectly. Ultimately, I decided to return this sweater as I did not particularly care for the ribbed texture. Other than that, the sweater was nice and seems like a reasonable price to pay for a nice cashmere garment.
  • Reviewed by World Traveler from Santa Fe, NM on Tuesday, November 5, 2013
    Beautifully made & textured cashmere. "Heavy" is not a term you expect to hear in connection with cashmere, but is good in this example. Not heavy as in weight, but rather in the texture of the weave. It is a great upgrade to jeans & loafers.
  • Reviewed by Drake from Princeton on Monday, October 7, 2013
    ...But not special enough to justify the price, so I returned it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LadyFarmer from Upstate NY on Monday, January 28, 2013
    I love the style and fit of this sweater as well as the cardigan stitch. It gives the sweater a little character and it is SO SOFT!!!
  • Reviewed by Shaft from Albany, NY on Thursday, December 20, 2012
    I returned other Johnstons sweaters because they were too loose for my taste, but this one has a very tailored fit like my D&G sweaters. Ummm...think of Banana Republic fit to give you an idea.

    You can also wear it as a cashmere thermal sweater. It'll be an expensive thermal, but nice. :)

    Oh yeah, this is some of the softest cashmere I've ever felt.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2