Johnstons of Elgin Cashmere Cardigan Sweater - Hooded (For Women)

Closeouts. Combed from the undercoat of Chinese and Mongolian goats, the plush cashmere fibers of Johnstons of Elgin's cardigan sweater are dyed, then spun, and finally finished with a wash through soft Highlands water to produce its irresistibly soft hand.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-18 of 18 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by djkento88 from Maryland on Thursday, May 29, 2014
    On May 15, I ordered a Johnstons of Elgin Cashmere Sweater as a gift for my niece. It was on sale for 311.97 from an original price of close to 800. The next day, this sweater was offered at a price which was reduced by 48 dollars. I called up customer service to see whether I would be able to get this better price. The helpful representative went to the effort of refunding me 48 dollars. I am extremely pleased with the service which I received. Since this item is a gift, I wll not be able to say much on wear ability, but the quality is outstanding and the feel of the material indicates a first class quality item. I am sure that my niece will appreciate this item when I give it to her for her birthday the coming winter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by clay artist from Texas on Saturday, April 19, 2014
    I ordered my usual size in this, a medium, I am 5'4",124 lbs, but had to reruns for a large. I had been eyeing this sweater for awhile, it is expensive even with STP discounts, but my sister has been enjoying hers for 2 winters now and it just gets softer with each wash. Hers has held up beautifully, I hope mine will too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kath from Orlando, FL on Thursday, February 7, 2013
    The sweater is a lovely color and a good fit. The sleeves are not too long which is a bonus since they're loose fitting. The cashmere is as soft as soufflé.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elise from Boulder, Co on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    I returned this sweater since it was expensive and it wasn't amazing. The weave is very open, so it wouldn't be as warm as a tightly woven cashmere. The color is nice as is the softness and good quality cashmere, but like others have stated, it's a hoody, and the use didn't match the price for me once I tried it on. I'm short and it probably would look nicer on a person at least 5'6" as it wouldn't appear so schlumpy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dog Walker from Jeffersonville, Vt. on Saturday, December 8, 2012
    Purchased for an elderly lady who spends her days sitting in a wheelchair. She loves the colour (aqua)and the softness and warmth of this sweater.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Barb from Denver, CO on Monday, November 26, 2012
    This sweater is comfortable and looks great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cyn from VA on Wednesday, September 5, 2012
    Shapeless, lumpy, unattractive, very overpriced and returned.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Cons: Heavy, Not Enough Support, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Rarely Work Out
    • Fit: Feels too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Dandy like a Dandelion from New York on Friday, August 17, 2012
    I bought this hoodie in a gray colour – I'm very happy with it. Then, several months later, Sierra made it available in a glacier colour. I got it and I could not have been happier! My favourite pairing of this hoodie in glacier is with shorts or pants in a 'Nantucket red' or coral colours (in my opinion, it pairs even better than with white or gray). As for sizing, I wear it in size S as I am 34" in chest and 25" in waist. I have a short torso but longer arms, and I'm very happy with the length of this cardigan being on the shorter side (the ribbing at the waistline accentuates feminine curves) and as for the sleeves, they are about 1.5" too short for me but, as there are no ribbings at the sleeve-ends, they don't appear to be too short, especially if I put a bracelet on. Of course, the quality of JofE's cashmere yarn is superb. I'm very happy with my purchase. I recommend this hoodie.
    • Best Uses: casual wear
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by elsie from Washington DC area on Monday, January 30, 2012
    Incredibly soft and comfortable to wear.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Color, Soft
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by lark from san francisco ca on Saturday, December 31, 2011
    I got the heather green and the color is really one of the best greens I've ever had in a garment. The cashmere is incredibly thick and soft. I have had 3 compliments just this morning. It is a gift I'll treasure. Since the quality is so high I shouldn't be wearing it everywhere but I am, I just love it.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colorado Girl from Boulder, Colorado on Wednesday, December 21, 2011
    This hoodie is quckly becoming a wardrobe favorite. It's incredibly cozy, the cashmere is of very nice quality. The chest fits a bit generously. I bought a medium - a small would have been ideal but it was sold out in the color I wanted.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Color, Soft, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by stp regular from asheville, nc on Monday, December 19, 2011
    This is a truly fabulous sweater. Incredibly soft and warm. Thick, luxurious cashmere. I got it in Pollen which is a gorgeous yellow. Very cheery in the dark of winter. I do think it may run small.I am a size two and got a medium that fits perfectly. My only criticism is the zipper is a bit sticky. Hoping it will smooth out with wear and am giving it plenty of opportunity. I've worn this sweater everyday!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ehr from san francisco, ca on Monday, December 12, 2011
    I will be returning the sweater because despite the pretty color and beautiful cashmere, the exposed zipper does not look right. It is too large and rough for a beautiful sweater like this one.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pickey Patty from Abu Dhabi UAE on Wednesday, November 30, 2011
    Very high-quality cashmere sweater. Very flattering. My husband gave it to me for a gift- going down as one of the best!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Soft, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by overhear from New York, USA on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
    Although pricey, the quality of the cashmere is well beyond what you find in a retail store cashmere sweater. The sweater is very thick and lush. The color is a heathery green that coordinates well with other clothing. The sweater is fitted enough to flatter without being tight. All around, this is a very special piece of clothing.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Color
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Dandy like a Dandelion from New York on Monday, November 21, 2011
    Granted that a zipper hoodie is as casual piece as it could be, it made me reluctant to buy it at first; seeing how quickly these hoodies were disappearing from Sierra's "shelf," I decided to give a gray one in size S a try. I received it, had a chance to wear it already and I like it quite a bit - hence my 5 star review. This cardigan is made of a thicker, good quality yarn. It has a sturdy metal zipper and its design is flattering; it accentuates feminine curves rather well. I'm 34"-25"-37" in chest, waist and hips respectively and I have a shorter than an average torso. This hoodie is not too long - it does not reach the widest area of my hips (I'm happy about that), while accentuating my waistline in a flattering way. I like the open (no ribbing at the ends) sleeves . So far, I've worn my hoodie with a T-shirt and cashmere jersey slacks; they looked casual and nice together. All in all, I am very nicely surprised by this "little number" from Johnstons of Elgin.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BellaBike from Greensboro, NC on Tuesday, November 15, 2011
    Beautiful wool, soft & warm, but the design is lacking. It's too short, and the ribbing at the bottom accentuates the largest part of your body. The zipper was difficult to get hooked & started, and the hood would not lay flat on the back. The hood sort of has a pixie point to it. Beautiful color of green, but I just didn't love it enough to pay $200+ for it, so I sent it back.
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gata from San Diego, California on Sunday, February 20, 2011
    Very soft, thick, high quality (as is usual with JE). My only complaint is that it does not come in more colors and that the sleeves are not ribbed (although that is not really a complaint, it's fine as it is too). [...]
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-18 of 18 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.