Customer Reviews Of:
Johnstons of Elgin Cashmere Classic V-Neck Cardigan Sweater - 21-Gauge (For Women)

Closeouts. The higher the gauge, the finer the yarn, the softer and lighter the sweater. Apply that logic to Johnstons of Elgin's classic cashmere cardigan sweater -- knit from superfine 21-gauge yarns -- and you have a blissfully soft sweater you can wear in almost any season.

Average Rating based on 24 reviews 4.333333 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Reviewed by Sylvie from Shanghai on Saturday, February 20, 2016
    I brought it for my mom as a gift, and she loves it!
    The size is quite fit (M for 160CM/52KG), the color is pretty for aged women.
    But please do not expect it is for winter, it is better for spring, because it's not thick enough due to the style.
    Anyway, we like it, since we brought it with a big discount!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by katydid from catskill mountains, ny on Sunday, January 24, 2016
    I will echo other reviewers about this sweater. It does run small. I am size 12 and ordered the XL. Also, the colors are slightly off on the monitor. Ordered both the green and the amber because I couldn't decide which color to choose. Hope to have these sweaters for several years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Utahn from Salt Lake City on Wednesday, January 20, 2016
    Green color's not so great (prettier virtually) but otherwise a fantastic sweater: soft, well-cut, classic.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by donomom from Ohio on Monday, August 24, 2015
    I have purchased Johnston's v neck sweaters before, and liked them quite a bit. I have purchased size large, though in US clothing I usually wear a medium. I ordered this sweater in large, and it was too snug to wear any sort of other shirt under. I returned it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 2 Happy from California on Thursday, March 12, 2015
    This sweater is lovely. And it is so soft. I love cashmere and this is the nicest cashmere sweater I have ever owned.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by islandlover from TX on Friday, January 9, 2015
    I was expecting something more luxurious than department store cashmere but I was disappointed. The dark grey color and cut were nice. However, for something this expensive the sweater feels very scratchy and not soft at all. It actually feels more like mediocre wool sweater. It went back to STP.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aranella Farms from California on Sunday, December 7, 2014
    Sweater description says it all & accurately! This is a beautifully made stylish sweater I'll hope to enjoy for many years.
  • Reviewed by Dandy like a Dandelion from Texas on Monday, June 23, 2014
    1. The higher the gauge number, the finer (as in “thinner”) the yarn. Gauge reflects how many stitches it takes to knit (usually) a 10 cm wide pattern; the thinner the yarn, the more stitches are required. This has nothing to do with softness of a yarn. This cardigan, being of 21-gauge, is a thin, lightweight sweater (nothing to be considered for -20F winters but something to be enjoyed for layering in +60F).
    2. Johnstons of Elgin, through centuries of manufacturing, has earned its reputation as a maker of world’s finest cashmeres for a reason: its yarns are superior to others’. While, at first, this sweater may not resemble the softness in touch of the Chinese cashmere and it feels more like merino wool, that’s a good thing! Once you wash this JofE sweater (BTW wash it only by hand or in a true hand-wash cycle in lukewarm water with very delicate detergents and lie it flat to dry), these long strands of yarn will bloom afterwards (“blooming” is a knitting term for threads to loosen up, open up in a wash) giving you the softness expected from cashmere. Now, you can enjoy wearing (and washing) JofE sweaters for 10, even 20 years with them continue to look fine throughout the years, not pilling up, not stretching, not fading. Try doing that with lower-end cashmere – you’ll understand and appreciate the reasons why Johnstons of Elgin has the reputation it has.
    3. I think that these cardigans are made true to size – I’m speaking only about size XS and S, I don’t know how M, L, etc. measure. I’m 34”-25”-35” in chest, waist and hips respectively (5’4” and 100 lb) and I favor size XS but I’m equally comfortable wearing these cardigans in size S as layering over a blouse, etc.
    4. Colors are somewhat off from what they appear on Sierra’s site; midnight blue hints on gray-ink, sapphire is more of a jade (nothing of the purplish navy in it, unfortunately for me), marine is heathery strong aqua/watery color, and sand is simply the best: it’s a delicate camel color.
    5. I couldn’t be more thankful to Sierra for making these Johnstons of Elgin sweaters available at great discounts. 5***** for Sierra and 5***** for these JofE cardigans.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nana from Wi. from Wisconsin. on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    This sweater is a beautiful color (marine) and a very soft and luxurious fabric. It was just the right weight for Wi. Spring and summer weather. I should have read the description more carefully, because it clearly stated this item was fitted! I ordered an extra large. Too snug for me, and sadly I had to return it!
  • Reviewed by Rogers from Oregon on Wednesday, January 15, 2014
    It feels so soft; is warm, and I really like the color. It goes with a lot of my clothes.
  • Reviewed by wiz from ottawa on Monday, January 6, 2014
    Beautiful lines, exactly as the photo shows; but if you know really good cashmere you will not be impressed with the quality of this garment--somewhat harsh to the touch for such a fine wool. Surprising given all the fuss in the description.
  • Reviewed by Catalog girl from Boston on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    I ordered this in a sz. Large. I wouldn't really be able to wear it comfortably over a long-sleeved shirt but that is not what I got it for, so the fit is perfect for me. The length of the sleeve is good and it fits as in the picture. It is not oversized at all, so you might want to order size up unless you want it snug. It is nice and dressy looking and dresses up what you wear with it.
  • Reviewed by yooper by choice from Escanaba, MI on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    I own two of these. I bought the charcoal grey this last winter and loved it as soon as I put it on. Same with the camel. If you are looking for a sweater that is soft to the touch then this is NOT the sweater for you. It definitely is a little heavier and doesn't have that 'soft' cashmere feel. But I think the fabric is great and if I could afford it I would own all the colors.
  • Reviewed by Rogers from Oregon on Saturday, November 16, 2013
    While I wanted the color back, the ash greay will still be useful. Have not used yet, but fits nicely.
  • Reviewed by Turtle1969 from Santa Cruz on Thursday, November 14, 2013
    I am a huge fan of Johnstons and this sweater is the best fitting one of the bunch. Excellent finish, nicely detailed placket, beautiful buttons. This one will be a staple in my wardrobe for many years.
  • Reviewed by cashmere lover from washington on Friday, September 13, 2013
    This Johnston of Elgin cashmere is disappointing; it is not as soft as other Johnston of Elgin cashmere sweaters I bought from STP and love. This one is going back.
  • Reviewed by JC Midwest from Indiana on Sunday, September 1, 2013
    Even in hot muggy weather this kept me comfortable from air conditioning to outside. Great quality and fit. Couldn't be happier .
  • Reviewed by Skye's mom from Lewes, DE on Monday, August 26, 2013
    I am crazy about cashmere and this sweater is beautiful! I always buy one size larger in all cashmere and this sweater was no accept ion.
  • Reviewed by Skye's mom from Lewes, DE on Monday, August 19, 2013
    I ordered this sweater in Navy and Black to decide which color I liked better. The black fit better but I liked the navy better so am returning both of them and reordered another navy which fits much better. Don't give up on this sweater if the sizing isn't quite right! Very soft and lightweight. Great for travel because of the light weight and warmth.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by elgin from woburn ma on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    gift to my mother - she was very pleased
  • Reviewed by Dandy like a Dandelion from New York on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    At first, I overlooked these JofE cardigans. Only thanks to one of the reviews, I reconsidered. Rather than thinking of "now" and a snowy winter outdoors, I realized how practical these will be once summer (with ever-present over-air-conditioned offices) is here. I think that these cardigans will be just perfect for office-layering purposes. I got them in two colours: navy and black simply because I like them the most and, while dark, I think they'll still look very nice with white pants, etc. in summer. I bought them in size S, and I think they run true to size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DogLover from Albuquerque, NM on Saturday, December 29, 2012
    I returned the sweater because it was too thin and sized small, especially the arms but also the breadth. Disappointed because Johnston's usually has superior products. I'll stick with my 20 year old cardigan for the time being.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by twoclippedwings from Charlotte, NC on Friday, November 23, 2012
    I have always wanted a cashmere cardigan and I ended up buying two (light brown and charcoal) after receiving the first. I dress in layers as I travel constantly. This sweater is soft and comfortable. I bought neutrals so that I could pair them with almost everything. So glad that I could finally get them because Sierra Trading Post offered them at such a great price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by El from NC on Saturday, November 17, 2012
    Good quality basic; lightweight;
    well made; expensive for what it is
  • Sort by: