Johnstons of Elgin Cashmere Classic V-Neck Cardigan Sweater - 21-Gauge (For Women)

Closeouts. The higher the gauge, the finer the yarn, the softer and lighter the sweater. Apply that logic to Johnstons of Elgin's classic cashmere cardigan sweater -- knit from superfine 21-gauge yarns -- and you have a blissfully soft sweater you can wear in almost any season.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-15 of 15 reviews
  • Reviewed by Lasjoyas from Oregon on Wednesday, January 15, 2014
    It feels so soft; is warm, and I really like the color. It goes with a lot of my clothes.
  • Reviewed by WIZ from ottawa on Monday, January 6, 2014
    Beautiful lines, exactly as the photo shows; but if you know really good cashmere you will not be impressed with the quality of this garment--somewhat harsh to the touch for such a fine wool. Surprising given all the fuss in the description.
  • Reviewed by Early sixties from Boston on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    I ordered this in a sz. Large. I wouldn't really be able to wear it comfortably over a long-sleeved shirt but that is not what I got it for, so the fit is perfect for me. The length of the sleeve is good and it fits as in the picture. It is not oversized at all, so you might want to order size up unless you want it snug. It is nice and dressy looking and dresses up what you wear with it.
  • Reviewed by yooper by choice from Escanaba, MI on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    I own two of these. I bought the charcoal grey this last winter and loved it as soon as I put it on. Same with the camel. If you are looking for a sweater that is soft to the touch then this is NOT the sweater for you. It definitely is a little heavier and doesn't have that 'soft' cashmere feel. But I think the fabric is great and if I could afford it I would own all the colors.
  • Reviewed by Lasjoyas from Oregon on Saturday, November 16, 2013
    While I wanted the color back, the ash greay will still be useful. Have not used yet, but fits nicely.
  • Reviewed by MTBer from Santa Cruz on Thursday, November 14, 2013
    I am a huge fan of Johnstons and this sweater is the best fitting one of the bunch. Excellent finish, nicely detailed placket, beautiful buttons. This one will be a staple in my wardrobe for many years.
  • Reviewed by cashmere lover from washington on Friday, September 13, 2013
    This Johnston of Elgin cashmere is disappointing; it is not as soft as other Johnston of Elgin cashmere sweaters I bought from STP and love. This one is going back.
  • Reviewed by JC Midwest from Indiana on Sunday, September 1, 2013
    Even in hot muggy weather this kept me comfortable from air conditioning to outside. Great quality and fit. Couldn't be happier .
  • Reviewed by Skye's mom from Lewes, DE on Monday, August 26, 2013
    I am crazy about cashmere and this sweater is beautiful! I always buy one size larger in all cashmere and this sweater was no accept ion.
  • Reviewed by Skye's mom from Lewes, DE on Monday, August 19, 2013
    I ordered this sweater in Navy and Black to decide which color I liked better. The black fit better but I liked the navy better so am returning both of them and reordered another navy which fits much better. Don't give up on this sweater if the sizing isn't quite right! Very soft and lightweight. Great for travel because of the light weight and warmth.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by elgin from woburn ma on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    gift to my mother - she was very pleased
  • Reviewed by Dandy like a Dandelion from New York on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    At first, I overlooked these JofE cardigans. Only thanks to one of the reviews, I reconsidered. Rather than thinking of "now" and a snowy winter outdoors, I realized how practical these will be once summer (with ever-present over-air-conditioned offices) is here. I think that these cardigans will be just perfect for office-layering purposes. I got them in two colours: navy and black simply because I like them the most and, while dark, I think they'll still look very nice with white pants, etc. in summer. I bought them in size S, and I think they run true to size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DogLover from Albuquerque, NM on Saturday, December 29, 2012
    I returned the sweater because it was too thin and sized small, especially the arms but also the breadth. Disappointed because Johnston's usually has superior products. I'll stick with my 20 year old cardigan for the time being.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by twoclippedwings from Charlotte, NC on Friday, November 23, 2012
    I have always wanted a cashmere cardigan and I ended up buying two (light brown and charcoal) after receiving the first. I dress in layers as I travel constantly. This sweater is soft and comfortable. I bought neutrals so that I could pair them with almost everything. So glad that I could finally get them because Sierra Trading Post offered them at such a great price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by El from NC on Saturday, November 17, 2012
    Good quality basic; lightweight;
    well made; expensive for what it is
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-15 of 15 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.