Customer Reviews Of:
Johnstons of Elgin Cashmere Classic V-Neck Cardigan Sweater - 21-Gauge (For Women)

Closeouts. The higher the gauge, the finer the yarn, the softer and lighter the sweater. Apply that logic to Johnstons of Elgin's classic cashmere cardigan sweater -- knit from superfine 21-gauge yarns -- and you have a blissfully soft sweater you can wear in almost any season.

Average Rating based on 24 reviews 4.333333 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Reviewed by Sylvie from Shanghai on Saturday, February 20, 2016
    I brought it for my mom as a gift, and she loves it!
    The size is quite fit (M for 160CM/52KG), the color is pretty for aged women.
    But please do not expect it is for winter, it is better for spring, because it's not thick enough due to the style.
    Anyway, we like it, since we brought it with a big discount!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by katydid from catskill mountains, ny on Sunday, January 24, 2016
    I will echo other reviewers about this sweater. It does run small. I am size 12 and ordered the XL. Also, the colors are slightly off on the monitor. Ordered both the green and the amber because I couldn't decide which color to choose. Hope to have these sweaters for several years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Utahn from Salt Lake City on Wednesday, January 20, 2016
    Green color's not so great (prettier virtually) but otherwise a fantastic sweater: soft, well-cut, classic.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by donomom from Ohio on Monday, August 24, 2015
    I have purchased Johnston's v neck sweaters before, and liked them quite a bit. I have purchased size large, though in US clothing I usually wear a medium. I ordered this sweater in large, and it was too snug to wear any sort of other shirt under. I returned it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 2 Happy from California on Thursday, March 12, 2015
    This sweater is lovely. And it is so soft. I love cashmere and this is the nicest cashmere sweater I have ever owned.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by islandlover from TX on Friday, January 9, 2015
    I was expecting something more luxurious than department store cashmere but I was disappointed. The dark grey color and cut were nice. However, for something this expensive the sweater feels very scratchy and not soft at all. It actually feels more like mediocre wool sweater. It went back to STP.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aranella Farms from California on Sunday, December 7, 2014
    Sweater description says it all & accurately! This is a beautifully made stylish sweater I'll hope to enjoy for many years.
  • Reviewed by Dandy like a Dandelion from Texas on Monday, June 23, 2014
    1. The higher the gauge number, the finer (as in “thinner”) the yarn. Gauge reflects how many stitches it takes to knit (usually) a 10 cm wide pattern; the thinner the yarn, the more stitches are required. This has nothing to do with softness of a yarn. This cardigan, being of 21-gauge, is a thin, lightweight sweater (nothing to be considered for -20F winters but something to be enjoyed for layering in +60F).
    2. Johnstons of Elgin, through centuries of manufacturing, has earned its reputation as a maker of world’s finest cashmeres for a reason: its yarns are superior to others’. While, at first, this sweater may not resemble the softness in touch of the Chinese cashmere and it feels more like merino wool, that’s a good thing! Once you wash this JofE sweater (BTW wash it only by hand or in a true hand-wash cycle in lukewarm water with very delicate detergents and lie it flat to dry), these long strands of yarn will bloom afterwards (“blooming” is a knitting term for threads to loosen up, open up in a wash) giving you the softness expected from cashmere. Now, you can enjoy wearing (and washing) JofE sweaters for 10, even 20 years with them continue to look fine throughout the years, not pilling up, not stretching, not fading. Try doing that with lower-end cashmere – you’ll understand and appreciate the reasons why Johnstons of Elgin has the reputation it has.
    3. I think that these cardigans are made true to size – I’m speaking only about size XS and S, I don’t know how M, L, etc. measure. I’m 34”-25”-35” in chest, waist and hips respectively (5’4” and 100 lb) and I favor size XS but I’m equally comfortable wearing these cardigans in size S as layering over a blouse, etc.
    4. Colors are somewhat off from what they appear on Sierra’s site; midnight blue hints on gray-ink, sapphire is more of a jade (nothing of the purplish navy in it, unfortunately for me), marine is heathery strong aqua/watery color, and sand is simply the best: it’s a delicate camel color.
    5. I couldn’t be more thankful to Sierra for making these Johnstons of Elgin sweaters available at great discounts. 5***** for Sierra and 5***** for these JofE cardigans.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nana from Wi. from Wisconsin. on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    This sweater is a beautiful color (marine) and a very soft and luxurious fabric. It was just the right weight for Wi. Spring and summer weather. I should have read the description more carefully, because it clearly stated this item was fitted! I ordered an extra large. Too snug for me, and sadly I had to return it!
  • Reviewed by Rogers from Oregon on Wednesday, January 15, 2014
    It feels so soft; is warm, and I really like the color. It goes with a lot of my clothes.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3