Johnstons of Elgin Cashmere Sweater - Cable Knit (For Men)

Closeouts. When you choose Johnstons of Elgin's cashmere cable-knit sweater, you're at the tail end of a journey that began in Mongolia (home to the cashmere goat) and ended in pure Scottish Highland waters, where the luxury cashmere fibers were washed.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Emily England from Midwest on Friday, April 25, 2014
    This is simply a fabulous sweater. I'm very allergic to wool have sampled quite a few cashmere labels. This is tops, short of the luxury brand cashmere. My oldest Johnstons is 21 years and I still wear it frequently.
  • Reviewed by lrdjff from Chicago on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    I've been happy with my first color of this style. It has worn well, no pilling or stretched out thin spots in the shoulders or elbows. It has washed well, too. As many other reviewers have said, the proportions run to the skimpy side. Since I'm between a large and XL, depending on the brand, sizing up to an XL in the Johnston's works out fine. The problem with the sizing is in the girth, not the length. I wear a 44 Long suit and a 36" sleeve, and the sweater's length is good for a dressier sweater. You wouldn't want it to fit the same way as an Irish fisherman. I can wear it under a sportcoat without extra bulk. The best aspect of it, of course, is that it is made in Scotland.
  • Reviewed by anonymous coward from la area on Saturday, February 01, 2014
    great material, very soft to the hand. a little "tight" for me, so i size-up by one. if it wears as well (and long) and it should this will be a good purchase indeed.
  • Reviewed by Larry from Louisville on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    Runs very small. You must order at least a size larger than normal. It is not as soft a cashmere as most.
    Colors are true. Again the softness is not up to standard for the price.
  • Reviewed by Isleofgough from USA on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    It progressively shortened sleeves and waste and pills. I have had cashmere sweaters for decades without these issues.
  • Reviewed by Motley Mom from Washington on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    We bought this sweater for our son. We had to send it back twice because it was smaller than we expected. Finally, the largest size offered fit him. He is 6'3" and medium build. Sierra made the exchange very easy for us. Our son loves the sweater.
  • Reviewed by anonymous coward from la area on Sunday, December 29, 2013
    i love the hand of this cashmere - it is very soft and supple. this two-ply sweater is perfect for southern california weather. unfortunately, the sizing runs smaller than the equivalent sized v-neck, so beware. the v-neck medium was a perfect fit for me while the medium in this sweater was pretty tight. and sizing up is not an option as the large is much too big.
  • Reviewed by Mark from Charleston, SC on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    Love the quality now...hoping it lasts for 20 years like some of my other cashmere sweaters.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Doc from Susanville, Ca on Saturday, February 23, 2013
    I love wearing this sweater and others inside. It keeps my body warm while my head stays cool. It also looks sumptuous and I think looking good helps to make one feel good.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MargsPSU from Philadelphia, PA on Friday, February 01, 2013
    Very thick and warm, easily my best sweater. I own many cashmere sweaters, some 15 years old, and this one is already my favorite. Be aware that the fit is quite slim. I sized up one and the size is perfect - no bunching at the bottom. The cut is much more flattering than the v-neck sweaters on this site by the same brand. Worth every penny.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.