Johnstons of Elgin Cashmere Sweater - Cable Knit, V-Neck (For Women)

Closeouts. Like homespun angel hair, this shivery soft cable-knit sweater from Johnstons of Elgin emits halos of softness from the medium cable-knit pattern. Ribbed trim is knit on specialized machines to create the tension needed to preserve the shape of the garment over time. Vertical mill assures all dyeing, spinning, weaving and finishing processes are carefully controlled on site.

Average Rating based on 34 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 34 reviews
  • Reviewed by makingtrailsKY from ky on Tuesday, September 03, 2013
    All their products are nice& this one has quality values as well. I normally get a SM size, but after reading reviews I got a MD. Glad I did as the open style weaving would have made it too see through with a smaller size.
  • Reviewed by Vera from CA on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    I purchased 2 of these sweaters--one in black and one in brume. The odd thing is the two look and fit completely different even though I ordered the same size! The cable knit on the black sweater is tight and the sweater fits nicely, while the knit on the brume is very loose, to the point of being see through. The brume sweater also has no shape. Needless to say, the brume sweater is going back. I would give 5 stars for the black and 1 star for the brume. The overall three stars is for the inconsistency in the product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by warm from san francisco on Monday, January 21, 2013
    this is a pefect, classic sweater
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cyn from Vienna, VA on Sunday, November 18, 2012
    This is my second Johnston in this color.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Emily from Midwest on Wednesday, October 24, 2012
    I really like these sweaters. The variety in color and style make them versatile. I am glad to see the periwinkle and sea foam colors being sold for winter and not just in summer! The cashmere is wonderfully soft and feels great against the skin. The "ply" of the cashmere is thinner than the older Johnstons sweaters I have, so the weight is not as substantial. That said, I paid more for the heavier weight.

    Bottom line: Quality over Quantity: I will pay a bit more for the Scottish cashmere rather than for the very cheap and itchy Chinese cashmere flooding the market today!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Layering, Warm Weather
    • Cons: Older Sweaters Thicker
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Attention to detail, Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Winter fan from Middleton, WI on Tuesday, October 09, 2012
    It will be warm in the winter, especially under a blazer or vest. I had to return it once snce the size was quite unexpectedly small.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Layering
    • Cons: Not true to size, Poor Fit, Wanted 4 Ply Yarn
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Beautiful color, Comfortable, Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lorraine934 from Marion, MA on Wednesday, April 25, 2012
    This sweater is perfect for a hint of coolness or excess A/C. It is high quality, but not dense cashmere. The light color (I got frost or ice or something) looks good for spring without looking too heavy.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Birkin from Sea Girt, NJ on Tuesday, March 27, 2012
    I'm so disappointed. The Johnston's things are so beautiful, and I've always been pleased in the past. Loved the color and softness, but I don't want a sweater that one can see through. Also the sleeves were too short for me.
    • Best Uses: Layering
    • Cons: Could see through it, Sleeves too short
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cashmere soft as a cloud, Comfortable, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Redyoga from Benicia CA on Saturday, December 31, 2011
    This is a high quality cashmere sweater at a great price. I am so pleased with this purchase! I would say the sweater runs small--I wear a medium in practically everything, but I bought a size large based on others' comments, and the large is perfect.
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Excellent quality, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by starry from Florida on Friday, December 09, 2011
    Your skin feels "at home" immediately and it was offered here at a fabulous price
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft, Warm, Your skin feels "athome"
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 34 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.