Johnstons of Elgin Cashmere Sweater - Cable Knit, V-Neck (For Women)

Closeouts. Like homespun angel hair, this shivery soft cable-knit sweater from Johnstons of Elgin emits halos of softness from the medium cable-knit pattern. Ribbed trim is knit on specialized machines to create the tension needed to preserve the shape of the garment over time. Vertical mill assures all dyeing, spinning, weaving and finishing processes are carefully controlled on site.

Average Rating based on 34 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 34 reviews
  • Reviewed by makingtrailsKY from ky on Tuesday, September 3, 2013
    All their products are nice& this one has quality values as well. I normally get a SM size, but after reading reviews I got a MD. Glad I did as the open style weaving would have made it too see through with a smaller size.
  • Reviewed by Vera from CA on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    I purchased 2 of these sweaters--one in black and one in brume. The odd thing is the two look and fit completely different even though I ordered the same size! The cable knit on the black sweater is tight and the sweater fits nicely, while the knit on the brume is very loose, to the point of being see through. The brume sweater also has no shape. Needless to say, the brume sweater is going back. I would give 5 stars for the black and 1 star for the brume. The overall three stars is for the inconsistency in the product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by warm from san francisco on Monday, January 21, 2013
    this is a pefect, classic sweater
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cyn from Vienna, VA on Sunday, November 18, 2012
    This is my second Johnston in this color.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Emily from Midwest on Wednesday, October 24, 2012
    I really like these sweaters. The variety in color and style make them versatile. I am glad to see the periwinkle and sea foam colors being sold for winter and not just in summer! The cashmere is wonderfully soft and feels great against the skin. The "ply" of the cashmere is thinner than the older Johnstons sweaters I have, so the weight is not as substantial. That said, I paid more for the heavier weight.

    Bottom line: Quality over Quantity: I will pay a bit more for the Scottish cashmere rather than for the very cheap and itchy Chinese cashmere flooding the market today!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Layering, Warm Weather
    • Cons: Older Sweaters Thicker
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Attention to detail, Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Winter fan from Middleton, WI on Tuesday, October 9, 2012
    It will be warm in the winter, especially under a blazer or vest. I had to return it once snce the size was quite unexpectedly small.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Layering
    • Cons: Not true to size, Poor Fit, Wanted 4 Ply Yarn
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Beautiful color, Comfortable, Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lorraine934 from Marion, MA on Wednesday, April 25, 2012
    This sweater is perfect for a hint of coolness or excess A/C. It is high quality, but not dense cashmere. The light color (I got frost or ice or something) looks good for spring without looking too heavy.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Birkin from Sea Girt, NJ on Tuesday, March 27, 2012
    I'm so disappointed. The Johnston's things are so beautiful, and I've always been pleased in the past. Loved the color and softness, but I don't want a sweater that one can see through. Also the sleeves were too short for me.
    • Best Uses: Layering
    • Cons: Could see through it, Sleeves too short
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cashmere soft as a cloud, Comfortable, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Redyoga from Benicia CA on Saturday, December 31, 2011
    This is a high quality cashmere sweater at a great price. I am so pleased with this purchase! I would say the sweater runs small--I wear a medium in practically everything, but I bought a size large based on others' comments, and the large is perfect.
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Excellent quality, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by starry from Florida on Friday, December 9, 2011
    Your skin feels "at home" immediately and it was offered here at a fabulous price
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft, Warm, Your skin feels "athome"
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ortho128 from TN on Sunday, December 4, 2011
    I love the ginger color. A great pullover . A can't miss at STP great price.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Soft, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elizabeth from Southeastern Arizona on Saturday, December 3, 2011
    Wonderful quality. I wear this cashmere sweater around the house and feel luxuriously comfortable! Ordered a size Medium (what I usually wear), but found it was too snug. Size Large is just right when I wear it over a lightweight T-shirt or camisole. It's so easy to dress up or down with a collar or scarf. I love it and will order another one in a different color.
    • Best Uses: around the house, Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Versatile, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by commuterguy from Maryland on Monday, November 28, 2011
    Bought wife a Large..she is 5'8", 140lbs, long arms and legs. Fit was perfect. Quality is sky high. Worth every penny. As soon I saw the first one, bought a second.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DDD from Lake George, NY on Wednesday, November 9, 2011
    I'm 5'4'', weigh 135. A medium is the perfect fit for me.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anna from Chicago, IL on Monday, October 31, 2011
    I love this sweater. It looks great under a blazer without adding bulk. It's warm but not too warm that you couldn't wear it inside. I'm 5'4". I think this sweater's length, sleeves and torso, is good for a woman of average height. I purchased the sweater in black, but I am sure the other colors are lovely as well. I own a few other sweaters by Johnstons of Elgin, but this is my favorite because I love light sweaters for layering.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Lightweight, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Marilyn from Prairie Grove, IL on Saturday, October 29, 2011
    I was really disappointed when I received this sweater, as I was hoping for something heavier gauge cashmere. Johnstons of Elgin is quality, no doubt about it, but not what I was hoping for so I returned the item.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Thin Fabric
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by clothes snob from chicago on Thursday, October 27, 2011
    I ended up selling this to a friend who is a size 2 (it was supposed to be size 8-10)
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ilovethehunt from San Jose, Ca on Tuesday, February 1, 2011
    I love the quality of Johnsons cashmere! I have quite a collection of different colors in this style, and will buy more as they come available. I'm pleased with the beautiful color selections and the soft, silky yarn is unbeatable (and I own a lot of cashmere)
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tootr from Kalamazoo, MI on Monday, January 10, 2011
    Everything I hoped for. High quality sweater, comes with great care instructions, the fit is perfect -- not skimpy, not overly large. I can wear this sweater anywhere.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mapa from Great Lakes area U.S. on Friday, December 31, 2010
    Very attractive sweater. Well made, great fit, attractive, and at a very good price.
    • Best Uses: Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Soft, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by yoga girl from portland, oregon on Saturday, December 11, 2010
    Bought this as a x-mas gift for my mom. I think she will love it. Especially since it is not made in China.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Pioneer woman from Palo Alto, CA on Friday, November 26, 2010
    I'm wearing this right now in my 65-degree, drafty house. Warm and comfy. I'm a big-busted gal, and the long style is quite flattering, though some flat knit, dark color merino wool sweaters are more so.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cece from nyc on Saturday, November 20, 2010
    Nice sweater even though the yarn is thinner than it should be. I sent it back because the orange color was too bright for me.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Thin Fabric
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sundowner from Sacramento, CA on Wednesday, November 17, 2010
    This is a very well made sweater - classic design, excellent fit. It's higher quality than most cashmere sweaters for sale this season. Perhaps Scottish milled cashmere is not as heavy as it once was, and perhaps the original price is overstated, but it's still a cut above most everything else, even those with a designer label - it's from Scotland! A rare find these days!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Soft, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ilovethehunt from San Jose, Ca on Sunday, November 14, 2010
    This is the second Vneck sweater purchased from STP. The first, Sapphire, was an incredible color, so I just had to have the one in Platinum! I hope to buy more, as colors are available in my size. BTW, the sizing is very generous in this style, so buy accordingly. This is quality cashmere, it's incredibly soft and lightweight, and feels great against my skin. I definately recommend this brand and this style.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ilovethehunt from San Jose, Ca on Friday, November 5, 2010
    I ordered XL,its larger than expected. The sizing is very generous! Absolutely fell in love with this cashmere, soft and silky, lofty as well. The color, Sapphire, is gorgeous. I can live with the generous size, the style is so flattering, and as you can tell, I'm in love with the color.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Deb the designer from New Jersey on Thursday, October 21, 2010
    Beautiful sweater. Very cozy, soft, warm,
    fits very well and is flattering. I am slim, atheletic type, and 5'-7" tall. I love the sweater. Have purchased in several colors and the crew neck also. Regarding size, the sweater looks best when slightly loose.
    Would highly recommend this sweater.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by urbanbabyboomer from boston, MA on Tuesday, October 19, 2010
    Beautiful classic v-neck cabled sweater. It's comfortable and the color
    (thistle) is beautiful. That said, it's a bit "old-fashioned" in fit, loose and a bit full.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Classic, Comfortable, Great Color, Soft, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sunsong from Portland, OR on Monday, October 4, 2010
    Love the color & feel of it but think it's way too light weight for the price. Can't imagine anyone paying the original price for this sweater and I had to consider long & hard if I wanted to put out the sale price for it. I will have to wait to see how it holds up after wearing and cleaning.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Thin Fabric
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by babs from Napa, CA on Friday, September 24, 2010
    I did not think this sweater was worth the cost; it seemed too thin.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Thin Fabric
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 34 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.