Customer Reviews Of:
Johnstons of Elgin Cashmere Sweater (For Women)

Closeouts. Few things in life are as exquisite as a cashmere sweater from Johnstons of Elgin, where every step of the finishing process is completed under the watchful eye of skilled artisans.

Average Rating based on 57 reviews 4.456140 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by beryl from philadelphia, pa on Wednesday, September 2, 2009
    Amazing cashmere for the price. beautiful vivid color, lightweight, and so soft that I won't need to wear something underneath it.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Susan shopper from Portland. OR on Wednesday, August 19, 2009
    I have several of these sweaters! I keep on splurging because of the incredible quality of this sweater. The colors are really pretty, it's lightweight enough to throw over my shoulders all summer but warm enough for winter. This is my favorite sweater I own! Go for it - you'll be glad you did!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Susan shopper from Portland OR on Wednesday, August 12, 2009
    This is my favorite sweater! I have a few colors and love all of them. The colors are clear and beautiful and the cashmere is light and soft. This sweater isn't bulky but is light and warm. For me, it's the perfect weight and style - timeless and luxurious yet casual. You can dress it up or wear it with jeans and This is a wonderful brand!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by jean from Philly on Tuesday, July 14, 2009
    I have bought Johnstons of Elgin's sweaters in the past. The quality was superb. The cashmere of my previow purchases was thick and luxurious. A real treat. This sweater is flimsy and not worthy of the name Johnstons of Elgin.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Thin Fabric
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Disappointed from NY NY on Sunday, July 12, 2009
    While I am pleased with the sweater color and softness, I find the cashmere much too delicate, the construction seriously under par and the material much too thin. As it is still summer, I cannot test this sweater for warmth. Cannot decide if I will keep the sweater or return it. I feelthe poor quality of this luxury item was not worth the charge.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Thin Fabric
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Versatile
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Garden Goddess from Maryland on Tuesday, April 28, 2009
    This was a very fine and light, but not cheap, very classic cable knit pullover. It did not rock my boat for style, but I would have kept it if it hadn't been too small. I usually wear medium or large tops, size 12, (big chested with broad shoulders), but the large was too small.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sweater maven from NY, NY on Sunday, April 12, 2009
    The sweater was labeled Medium; however, it fit much too small. I had ordered a Medium previously and it was a much better fit. I believe the 2nd sweater sent me (marked Medium) was mislabeled; and that it was actually a Small size. Unfortunately I was compelled to return the 2nd sweater because the fit was not as expected.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Thin Fabric, Too Short
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: Flattering, Lightweight, Soft, Versatile
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by anonymous from Portland OR on Tuesday, March 31, 2009
    This is the best sweater ever! The price is great and the quality is The Best! Expensive but worth every cent!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Myra from NY from NY NY on Monday, March 2, 2009
    bautiful item; however, this magnificent sweater was folded and thrown into a cardboard carton and mailed to me. The item was delicate and SHOULD have been encased in protective plastic. I really liked it; but, the neck area appeared to have been worn (possibly by another customer). It should have been cleaned and wrapped properly before it was sent to me - in which case, I might have kept it.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mapa from great Lakes area, U.S. on Thursday, February 12, 2009
    This purchase was made for my wife, and she is well pleased with the sweater. She likes the look, the softness, the fit. It was for us a luxury purchase that we do not regret.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nicki, the model from N.C, Florida on Friday, February 6, 2009
    I have other Elgin cashmere sweater and looking for more in different colour and I found them!!
    Soft, light and very warm and comfortable, looking great in it.
    No need for the drycleaning.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Stylish, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jan from Dallas, TX on Saturday, December 20, 2008
    The comfort and beauty of this cashmere is truly undescrible. This sweater is the first Scottish cashmere I have owned. The quality is so beautiful! I splurged and ordered 2 more. The colors are lovely. The softness is lushious, light weight and toasty warm. The design is a classic look and fit. You will adore this sweater!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Beautiful, Classic, Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, Lightweight, Soft, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Friesian Lover from Midwest on Tuesday, November 25, 2008
    I'm a first time buyer of this brand. I bought 4 of these...yes, it was a luxury purchase for me, BUT I expect these to last a very long time. The quality just doesn't get any better. My usual size is a Wmn's. 14 or 16 and the XL in this sweater fit perfectly. The softness is incredible! Can be worn without a layer underneath, as these are NOT scratchy at all. If I could, would buy more. Will watch for more sales in the future...nice splurge, but truly an investment!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Soft, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Granny from St. Louis on Monday, November 17, 2008
    I want to wear this sweater every day! It's one of the nicest I've ever owned.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Flattering, Great Color, High Quality, Lightweight, Stylish, Unusual but classic color, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by California Transplant from Shoreline, Connecticut on Sunday, November 9, 2008
    I wear size 8 and the medium fits well. The color was nowhere near what was promised and I hate it, so, sadly, will probably wear this only around the house. An expensive mistake. In a better color, I think I'd like it a lot.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fan of sierra from ohio on Saturday, November 8, 2008
    This is a high quality, beautiful sweater. I got the saffron and it is really a great color. I would order another in a different color but, they do not have my size.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ms. Petite from NYC on Saturday, November 8, 2008
    I am planning to return this,[...]
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Cons: Much too large, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Wonderful cashmere
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by quality fiend from Columbus, Ohio on Friday, November 7, 2008
    too soon to tell if it is durable.
    If you feel comfortable in a classic, this is for you. Top quality. Beautiful shade of bluish white.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Color, High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Diane from Boston, MA on Thursday, November 6, 2008
    This is the most beautiful sweater. I usually wear a size 8 but I bought a large so I could wear a shirt under it. It's a look I love.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Flattering, High Quality, Soft not too heavy, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Diane from Boston, MA on Thursday, November 6, 2008
    The most beautiful sweater. I wear a size 8 and bought a large. I want to wear a shirt under it. It's a look I love. The sweater exceeded my expectations
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Wear To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Soft not too heavy, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by classy lady from Calgary, Alberta on Wednesday, August 20, 2008
    I originally ordered 3 of these sweaters in marine, buttermilk & cranberry. Later I ordered another in cyan. All are beautiful & well made, lightweight but warm. Can see that they should wear well & last a long time as long as they are taken care of. I ordered size large & they are a perfect fit. Style is very classic, these are not trendy sweaters but will be a wardrobe staple that will 'go' with just about anything.
    • Best Uses: Leisure Wear, On a Date, To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Bargain Shopper, Career, Classic
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Flattering, Great Color, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Susan from Oregon on Wednesday, August 13, 2008
    I hope I'll have this sweater for the rest of my life. The quality is that good. I could never afford a sweater like this anywhere else. I bought it in three colors I like it so much. It's expensive, but worth it. So soft and beautiful.
    • Best Uses: Casual Work Days, Leisure Wear, On a Date, To School, To Work
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Bargain Shopper, Career, Casual, Classic, Eclectic, Trendy
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, Great Color, High Quality, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Kaatskills Kate from NYS on Tuesday, August 12, 2008
    P.S... you absolutely cannot go wrong with Elgin, best cashmere on the market, no comparison in quality or construction to Asian merchandise... I purchased several. I spend a lot of time commuting and I live in these sweaters when I travel... always have one in my bag, no matter the season... lightweight and such life-savers if you're caught in over-air-conditioned car or office. Tips: extend the life of your sweater by checking Elgin website for washing instruction -- with care, they hold up beautifully, mine look brand new, no stretching, no loss of color. STP photos do not reflect actual shades, except light pink. Cranberry is richer, and cyan is a deeper blue green than pictured. Size: I bought large and medium... L is slightly bigger in chest and longer in sleeve, good for layering.(again, check Elgin website for measurements in inches) I'm a long-waisted 10-12 and I'm pleased with fit in either size. Love these! Real investment dressing. Never goes out of style.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elisabeth from Ohio on Monday, January 7, 2008
    I bought one a few months ago and loved it so much I bought two more. The colors are gorgeous and the quality is superb. They are light as air but super-warm. The original one that I purchased has been worn many times and still looks new.
    • Best Uses: Perfect for any occasion
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Breathable, Comfortable, Gorgeous color, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Kaatskills Kate from Central NYState on Tuesday, December 25, 2007
    My twenty-year old cashmeres are sadly giving out and it's so difficult to find the same quality and workmanship these days. I'm really pleased at how well this sweater compares to my old top-of-the-lines... it's beautifully made and I hope it will deliver as many good years of use ... I'm already reaching for it all the time. Affordable quality!
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Gorgeous, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Bobrushka from Toronto, Canada on Friday, November 2, 2007
    The softest,excellent sweater.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative, High-end shopper
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Reviewed by Susan from PA on Tuesday, October 16, 2007
    Long ribbing at wrists can cuff up or not. Great fit at neck, not too loose like some. Is my favorite sweater.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Conservative, High-end shopper, Stylish
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Cashmere soft, Comfortable, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2