Johnstons of Elgin Classic Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater - 21-Gauge (For Women)

Closeouts. The higher the gauge, the finer the yarn, the softer and lighter the sweater. Apply that logic to Johnstons of Elgin's classic cashmere turtleneck -- knit from superfine 21-gauge yarns -- and you have a blissfully soft sweater you can wear in almost any season.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews 4.363636 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Selective shopper from Oregon on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    I have other Johnstons turtle neck sweaters but this one just did not fit right.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WannaBeARichGirl from Oregon on Saturday, December 13, 2014
    This fall I went on a cashmere binge. My one cashmere sweater, a gift from my brother more than thirty years ago, had finally worn through at the elbows. So I tried four different well-known brands, two of them carried here at STP, and actually bought one or two, but I kept coming back to Johnstons of Elgin for its sumptuous hand, a hand that I know will only improve as the sweater is washed and blooms. I wear a standard American size 14 (usually a Large for most manufacturers), and I've always preferred my sweaters to skim rather than cling to my body. For my taste, sleeves should allow a blouse to be worn under the sweater. With Johnstons, I had to go to an XL to get the fit right. But the texture of this sweater is so ingratiating, it was worth the exchange wait. (Nevertheless, I didn't return the L until I had XL firmly in hand, figuring I could always wear it as an underlayer, which would have been preferable to losing it entirely.)
  • Reviewed by Robin R from Sylvan Lake Mchigan on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    Well, I was happy to order this sweater, but not happy when it arrived. It runs small, so it is going back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Blikker from Jackson, Wyoming on Wednesday, October 8, 2014
    This sweater is excellent quality, very soft cashmere. The size and fit are true to size. The color is a warm, bright red - a classic.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ilovethehunt! from San Jose, Ca on Thursday, June 5, 2014
    I purchased two sweaters, one in black and the other navy, in XXL. I'm so glad that size was available! Turtleneck sweaters are always a problem for me because I come from the "big neck family" and most T-necks are too tight. By the end of the day, I feel nearly strangled. The extra bit of size helps, even though the rest of the sweater is generous. The cashmere is soft and I look forward to wearing this garment the the cooler months.
  • Reviewed by annomyous from Wisconsin on Friday, March 22, 2013
    Excellent quality sweater, does not pill so far since wearing one from the beginning of this winter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by stp regular from asheville, nc on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    I actually returned this sweater. I have many JE sweaters and love every one of them and wear them all winter. This sweater is more tailored so the shoulders are cut in a bit more than I like. I have very wide shoulders so this should not put anyone off! I decided if it shrank at all, it would not do for me so I returned it. Nothing wrong with the sweater. It is just not for me. It is their usual very-high-quality cashmere and agood look for anyone who wants this tailored look. I am more baggy, Annie Hall.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kathy from NYC on Friday, November 30, 2012
    Excellent addition to anyone's wardrobe!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pawpaw from Lexington on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    This sweater is thin and there are no bands around the bottom edge or wrist area. It seems to be pulling out in those areas and I doubt it will maintain it's shape.
    For the price, I expected a substantial well made sweater. It is going back. I can buy a similar sweater in the local department stores for a third the price.
  • Reviewed by Dandy like a Dandelion from New York on Sunday, November 4, 2012
    While absolutely hating cold and especially long winters, I love sweaters; turtlenecks are my favourite. Probably nothing gets more classic, versatile and practical ("dress it up, dress it down") than a turtleneck in a black, charcoal, navy or a cream colour. And Sierra has them all! These JofE turtlenecks are simply the best: the fabric is of high quality, the length is just right (not too long and not too short either), the delicate tempering in the waistline adds to the overall 5-star product this sweater is. I'm sure that, like with other JofE cashmeres, it will wash very well and it'll last for years. If I were to keep just one sweater, I would choose this turtleneck (then, I'd bargain for keeping it in all of the colours). The best, 5-star product. Thank you, Sierra.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews