Johnstons of Elgin Classic Cashmere V-Neck Sweater - 21-Gauge (For Women)

Closeouts The higher the gauge, the finer the yarn, the softer and lighter the sweater. Apply that logic to Johnstons of Elgin's classic cashmere V-neck -- knit from superfine 2- gauge yarns -- and you have a blissfully soft sweater you can wear in almost any season.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by nodnyc from New York CIty on Saturday, September 27, 2014
    Ordered in the Sapphire and Emerald and I love both colors. It isn't a heavy sweater, but it will keep me warm in the winter months of NYC.
    I think they run small...I ordered my typical size Large and it felt too constricted. I decided to try the next size up, and it's more comfortable.
  • Reviewed by Woodensea from Englewood, CO on Tuesday, April 8, 2014
    Beautiful sweater that fits very well but the actual color doesn't come close to the website picture. The sweater is definitely blue with a heathery undertone. I got it today and haven't yet decided whether I'm going to send it back because it is high quality.
  • Reviewed by Dandy like a Dandelion from New York on Tuesday, April 1, 2014
    I bought these V-neck sweaters for the first time in autumn of 2012. I got them in navy blue and black. Since then they became my most favourite sweaters of all (and I have “a few” to choose from). I follow strictly the provided along by JofE washing instructions and these sweaters only got better with time and with each wash: the yarn blooms (i.e. it opened up and became fluffier and softer), retains its colour and the sweaters have not lost their shape. They pair very well with silk scarves, or a necklace – they are very versatile: dress them up, dress them down.
    But please note: these sweaters are made of thin yarn, they are on a thin side and they are not for -20F winters; they are great for spring and autumn, or for summer over-air-conditioned “chilly Willies” like me.
    When these sweaters in new colors got posted this spring, I just couldn’t object to getting a few. Prior to receiving them, I was already planning which sweater would go with which scarf, and what not. And then there was the: “WOOPS.” The colours turned out to be quite different than they seemed to be; harebell and eau de Nil in particular. The actual colours are much softer, more pastel, washed off, and there is a hint of heather(ing) to them. They are still very nice (but an orange scarf I so much wanted to wear with the harebell blue sweater won’t do it now). There was also a very nice surprise: the sand color looks to me superb; so much so, that I ordered a JofE cardigan in that colour too. I took a photo hoping to show the actual colours more accurately... then there is always a matter of our monitors being properly calibrated for colour.
    Regarding the size, I find them to be accurate; there is only a minute difference between XS and S, and that seems to be only in the tapering of a waistline (I’m 33”-25”-35” in chest-waist-hips and I favour XS). I don’t know how the larger sizes compare but these sweaters, being made in Europe, might have likely been made to fit a traditional sizing (and I trust that other shoppers will post their review offering help on that).
    It truly is my most favourite sweater of all and I highly recommend it.
  • Reviewed by MTBer from Santa Cruz on Thursday, November 14, 2013
    Perfect fit and finish!
  • Reviewed by Steph from Massachusetts on Saturday, September 7, 2013
    beautifully made classic cashmere sweater.
  • Reviewed by Ilovethehunt! from San Jose, Ca on Wednesday, July 10, 2013
    This sweater is exquisitely soft, well finished and light weight. I live in a mild climate (Northern California) and don't need or want a heavier sweater, especially in the office. I proceeded to order this sweater in navy and red (a beautiful deep ruby color) after I purchased the "natural" color. I am quite pleased with the quality of this garment and the sale price was attractive as well - highly recommend this to anyone looking for a lightweight, tailored sweater.
  • Reviewed by Dog Lover from Albuquerque, NM on Tuesday, July 2, 2013
    Soft and warm and light. Neck is low enough to accommodate a shirt in the winter
  • Reviewed by lisa from hawaii on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    This sweater is lovely in all regards. The medium I ordered was true to size. I know this brand always has great quality and this sweater is no exception. The cashmere is so much superior to so many other brands. The fit is excellent, just right, a little shaped.

    A good buy. Would love to see it in more colors, maybe some soft heathered shades.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KDS from North Carolina on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    Two things:
    1. The sizing runs very small. I'd say the L would fit a normal size 8 or a small size 10. I am 5'11" and it was also too short waisted for me. It would be better on someone 5'7" or shorter.

    2. It feels more like a soft shetland wool than cashmere. It is too scratchy to wear next to bare skin. Most of my winter sweaters are cashmere and are far softer than this material. For the price, I'd expect a more luxurious feel.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by luxury lover from LA on Wednesday, December 26, 2012
    Nice color
    Sleeves aren't ribbed high enough
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.