Johnstons of Elgin Recycled Wool Blend Throw Blanket

Closeouts. It was through a meticulous reprocessing that Johnstons of Elgin's recycled wool blend throw blanket -- also referred to as The Recycled Rug -- was created, weaving new life into formerly discarded fibers and yarns.

Average Rating based on 27 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-27 of 27 reviews
  • Reviewed by SC Mom from South Carolina on Friday, February 14, 2014
    Our throw arrived just in time as we lost power in the recent ice storm in the Southeast. It is very soft and warm and we feel it was a very good value. We had previously purchased one of the Johnston's cashmere and wool throws (soft and luxurious) so knew that this would be a quality product.
  • Reviewed by darker from LI, NY on Friday, January 10, 2014
    Delighted with this elegant, soft throw/blanket and a discount price. I have five Johnstons of Elgin's blankets.
    NO dry cleaning necessary! Successfully washed the blankets with "Forever New" Liquid or "Ovacion" in the washing machine on gentle/wool cycle.
    Only a small amount of "Forever New/Ovacion" is needed in HE (high efficiency) washer, and little more in regular machine.
    Then use the dryer on low heat for about 1/2 hr. The results are splendid!! Delighted that there was no dry-cleaning bill or
    dry cleaner. chemical smell.

  • Reviewed by Thumbody from Up North on Thursday, January 9, 2014
    I was a bit concerned about how soft this product would be (especially the 20% other fibers part). My worries vanished when this beautiful blanket arrived. It is every bit as wonderful as my husband's 100% lambs wool blanket and I love the colors, Ruby,camel and black!
  • Reviewed by Larry L from Baltimore, MD on Tuesday, January 7, 2014
    Nice, somewhat large, maybe more like a small blanket. The colors were rich and clear and the wool was soft and not at all scratchy. I wasn't sure exactly what to expect with a reprocessed wool product, but it was fine. A quality manufacturer like Johnstons of Elgin wouldn't produce anything with their name on it that wasn't first-rate. I got this at a particularly good STP price too.
  • Reviewed by Bos Luxury from Boston on Monday, January 6, 2014
    A blanket with a renewed purpose, great quality at a super price
  • Reviewed by BAYOU HIKER from LOUISIANA on Sunday, January 5, 2014
    From the Rocky Mountain High of Colorado, to the winter winds on Gulf Coast beaches, we have used these blankets on many of our travels.
    They are soft, warm and great for just lounging around or using them to bundle up at night. We have a hard time keeping them away from our Wheaten Terrier! We've shopped around and these were by far the best prices, especially when they're 40-80% off.
  • Reviewed by a walker from Monterey on Sunday, January 5, 2014
    Was so pleased with the quality, warmth, and softness of this blanket
  • Reviewed by Lar Lhu from New Jersey on Tuesday, December 3, 2013
    Pleasantly surprised by the quality versus value received. Warm heavy throw that was comfortable as well as attractive as a compliment to furnishings. Had embroidered and received many complements from recipients of the gift.
  • Reviewed by Andrew W from FL on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    This blanket it wonderful. I wasn't sure how soft recycled wool would be, but my doubts disappeared as soon as I took this out of the box. It's very soft, pleasantly warm, and just the right size for wrapping up with a book on the couch. And the colors are lovely.
  • Reviewed by northerner from toronto on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    This is a great blanket that will be going on my bed. The colours are even better than in the pictures shown on the site. Good thickness (not too thick) but still very warm and a very good size. Fantastic! Buy if you can!!!
  • Reviewed by RuralGrl from San Francisco on Monday, November 25, 2013
    We have bought many of these over time, for both home and recreational use, as well as for gifts. We always keep a couple in the car as Emergency blankets (was so glad I had them -- twice!) and for lap blankets in the winter. We also have several on the boat. During the summer we bring a few outside at night to wrap up in while we lie on the lawn chairs for star gazing. Even our doggies have one. The colors are true, and the weight is substantial. These blankets are much softer than I thought they might be, made from recycled fibers, and they're not stiff at all. When I wash them on the Delicate/Wool super-slow cycle and hang them over the drying rack, they turn out beautifully and even softer than when new.
  • Reviewed by Hat Guy from Norfolk VA on Sunday, November 24, 2013
    I bought this to replace a worn out fleece blanket and it is a MAJOR upgrade. Warm, soft, and very nice looking.
  • Reviewed by Rx Kate from North Carolina on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    We love these blankets. We have one on each couch that is about 2 years old and they still look great. I wash them on the wool cycle in my washing machine and air dry them without issues. They are incredibly warm which is great since we live in the mountains. We have given them as gifts in the past to friends of our who already have everything. Sierra Trading Post offers a great deal and the color options change often. Thank you for offering such a nice product!
  • Reviewed by Sierra Shopper from Idaho on Monday, November 18, 2013
    A wonderful blanket/ throw! Very substantial, soft and beautifully crafted!
  • Reviewed by Peeps from LI, NY on Tuesday, November 5, 2013
    I was looking for multipurpose blankets/throws to use outside on chilly mornings and evenings while sitting on the porch. The Recycled Wool Blend blankets are perfect and are so versatile around the house that I ordered more. We've been using them to snuggle on the couch and at the foot of the bed to keep our toes toasty. They are the perfect weight and much softer than imagined (not like the itchy wool blankets I remember as a kid). The colors are rich and classic. They seem very well made and I anticipate many years of use. Great gift idea too.
  • Reviewed by JR from LeSueur, MN on Tuesday, November 5, 2013
    beautiful...."recycled rug" label is funny but prevents one from giving as a gift
  • Reviewed by Up North Girl from Northern Wisconsin on Saturday, October 19, 2013
    Every year we have a Christmas exchange (the type where you can "steal" one of the gifts), and for the 3rd year I will be bringing one of these blankets. The last 2 years is was the most stolen gift and I expect the same result this year. It is a beautiful blanket!
  • Reviewed by carex from California on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    purchased as part of a wedding gift.
    delighted with the weight of the blanket.
    loved that it is made with recycled discarded fibers and yarns.
    my husband was jealous that this was not staying in our home!
  • Reviewed by Elena from NJ on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    I bought 2 of these blankets in different colors, and would buy a couple more if/when Sierra gets them again. Warm, soft, beautiful colors, all natural, and the sale price was very reasonable, too. Love them!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mortimer from Asheville, NC on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    Like them so much, we've bought three over time.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nashville Mom from Nashville, Tn on Sunday, December 30, 2012
    great price on STP
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Baer from NY on Saturday, December 8, 2012
    Good size. Can keep it as an extra blanket on the bed or on the couch.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Felica from Montana on Wednesday, December 5, 2012
    Wonderfully warm, and made from recycled wool. Design not as illustrated. Had to exchange.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by silverchair from Melbourne, FL on Saturday, November 17, 2012
    Very nice wool blanket. Pleasantly surprised.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ex-pat from switzerland on Wednesday, November 14, 2012
    attractive, soft, warm and cozy addition to chilly TV evenings
  • Reviewed by Scott from Big Pine on Sunday, November 11, 2012
    I have been looking at similar blankets elsewhere for some time now, but always at much higher prices. I am really impressed with the look and feel of this great blanket.
    • Best Uses: Couch throw
    • Pros: Looks good, Soft
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bosula from Mt Compass, Australia on Saturday, October 6, 2012
    Great general use blanket to use when the temperature is cool between seasons eg rugging up on couch, picnics.
    • Best Uses: Warming Up On Couch
    • Cons: none
    • Pros: Good Quality
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-27 of 27 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #