Johnstons of Elgin Shetland Wool Throw Blanket

Closeouts. This authentic Shetland wool throw blanket from Johnstons of Elgin utilizes traditional Scottish heather-mixture colors. Designed to replicate the original style of rugs hand woven on the islands years ago, it is a wonderful and durable reminder of how the wool industry was the mainstay of life on the windswept Shetlands.

Average Rating based on 103 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-30 of 103 reviews
  • Reviewed by The Merino Marauder from Brooklyn on Monday, February 24, 2014
    quality product
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rivermoss from Bethlehem, PA on Monday, January 21, 2013
    Great throw. Large enough to use to keep warm. Not itchy at all, very soft and very warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ping pong from tampa, fl on Monday, January 21, 2013
    very good qualities throw blanket, I use on the top of my comforter when outside drop down to 56 degree F, it provide enough heat without turn on my heater.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by al from central illinois on Friday, January 18, 2013
    thin
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Aussie lady from San Diego, CA on Thursday, January 17, 2013
    This totally beats any synthetic product. You have to know that its cold in Scotland so these manufacturers know how to keep you warm and comfortable in style!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by warm & suggly from Lake Havasu, AZ on Monday, January 14, 2013
    Use as decorative piece plus for warmth when watching tv
  • Reviewed by greenonions from Midwest on Friday, January 11, 2013
    A really pretty, soft and well-made blanket. Add to that the great price, I couldn't be happier with the purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kathy from NYC on Wednesday, January 9, 2013
    We have a few of these and leave them around the house.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sixty plus from Maryland on Wednesday, January 9, 2013
    I have the pink and purple throw. The colors are rich and beautiful. The weave is a bit fuzzy so it is a warmer throw than the Bothy, which I also own. I would highly recommend either one. Thank you, Sierra Trading Post, for carrying products from Johnston's of Elgin!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tigerone from Houston,TX on Wednesday, January 9, 2013
    I bought this for myself while watching tv or movies and my father -in-law who was visiting liked it so much that I bought 3 more !! I gifted one to him and have the rest on both floors of the house.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by japatc from holland, mi on Friday, January 4, 2013
    The blanket was very nice. The length was given in the dicription, but hard to decide if too short. This is not for tall people.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sheena is a Punk Rocker from New York City on Thursday, January 3, 2013
    This is really beautiful, very soft and warm. I was thinking I would give it away as a gift before I got it but now I kind of have to keep it.

    Very happy I could get it at an affordable price, this is not something I could normally afford.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Christmas shopper from Idaho on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    I'd give this throw blanket a 5 out of 5 rating if it was machine washable, not dry clean only.
  • Reviewed by Danush from sparta, nj on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    I got 6 of these blankets as X-mas gifts for my family. They are really soft, and not itchy like I've seen on other reviews. They are much softer than the lambswool blankets even though you would think lambswool would be softer. My favorite is the orange, grey and pink colored shetland wool blanket. This really is a great blanket at this price point.
  • Reviewed by Carlo from Wayne, PA on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    Very nice blanket with good weight. Good width, but a little too short.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ponygal from Nor CA on Monday, December 31, 2012
    Very soft wool! Love the plaid colors and it's so warm! I will be buying more, they are so useful!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ZEE from Pittsburgh, PA on Sunday, December 30, 2012
    I purchased more than 20 of these blankets for Christmas gifts this year. Every recipient LOVED their gift. I also kept one or two for myself !! These blankets are soft, warm and very attractive. Some of the color combinations are interesting, but they grow on you! Thank you Sierra Trading Post for offering such items at affordable prices.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nannabanana from Far Left Coast on Friday, December 28, 2012
    The pattern I chose had a cream background and caramel and turquoise plaid. It was a gift for a friend, and when she pulled it out of the box, I couldn't believe how perfectly the colors went with her living room decor! I like that this throw is much longer than your average throw, big enough for a serious nap. I appreciate that STP often offers these wooly throws at a great sale price, making them a bargain gift!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jillita from Daggett, CA on Thursday, December 27, 2012
    Warm, soft, pretty. I bought it on sale as a gift, and it was worth every dime.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old Dutch from New Hampshire on Wednesday, December 26, 2012
    I've purchased three of these over the years. They're great gifts, but it's hard to turn them over to the recipient when you see how well-made and attractive they are!
    They're warm, thick, and surprisingly soft...not the scratchy wool you sometimes find in cheap throws. As another reviwer said, these are heirloom blankets you'd be proud to pass along to children and family members for years to come. Very classic, yet built so well you can use them in all sorts of ways, from stadium blankets to picnic blankets to curling up with a book.
  • Reviewed by NJML from New Jersey on Wednesday, December 26, 2012
    A best buy of all best finds at STP. Pattern is so attractive for the dark green/lime/pink version. And this is surprisingly so warm for keeping toasty in a chilly, older home. Also, appreciate it is 'natural' wool and not a man-made fiber. Brings a feel of comfort and back to nature.
  • Reviewed by Northern Girl from Northern Wisconsin on Sunday, December 23, 2012
    I brought this to a gift exchange where everyone had to bring a $50 gift and you can "steal" gifts once they are opened. Of 40 gifts, it was the most stolen:)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Choosy Mom from Pennsylvania on Thursday, December 20, 2012
    This throw is beautiful. The colors are perfect. The fabric is soft. Purchasing as a Christmas gift for someone who likes wool and lives in a cold climate. So impressed that it is made in the Scottish highlands.
  • Reviewed by Petros from Indpls, Indiana on Tuesday, December 18, 2012
    I love my new blanket. I look forward to when I get to surround myself with this pure luxury in a word filled with man made fibers. This is pure new wool and I was amazed how soft this is since it is shetland wool. I ended up buying this one right after I ordered the lambs wool blanket. Johnson's has a rich history of making the finest wool blankets and I am glad I get to enjoy a Scottish product. Thanks sierratradingpost for stocking their products. I consider this blanket to be a heirloom blanket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ashevillerx from Asheville, NC on Sunday, December 16, 2012
    We have a Johnstons of Elgin blanket in every room thanks to the great prices offered by STP. The Shetland wool and Lambswool have a silker feel than the recycled wool but we like snuggling up in all of them. I have given these as gifts and everyone has loved them. This is a great buy and will not be disappointed.
  • Reviewed by Nikki from Sacramento, CA on Sunday, December 16, 2012
    This is a very wonderful blanket/throw, well made & warm. The colors are beautiful. This throw will be used when the temp drops & there is a need to feel warm. Great service from STP:)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DanTheHikingMan from South San Francisco, CA on Saturday, December 15, 2012
    Since I received my throw in the mail last week, it has been an indispensable companion for the cold, late fall days. I also ordered several more wool throws from Johnstons of Elgin after receiving this one. Great gifts, quality merchandise!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by minimimi from St. Louis, MO on Wednesday, December 12, 2012
    This is a beautiful and very soft throw. It is a nice size to keep yourself warm while reading or watching TV. It is lighter weight than I imagined it would be but because it so incredibly soft I will buy more of these. I didn't know wool could be so luxurious.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by moparjer from Eastern Oregon-the real Oregon on Wednesday, December 12, 2012
    I bought two to use while we watch TV in the winter. The wool is extremely soft, scratch free, and toasty. Both throws are perfectly constructed and no doubt will be treasured for many years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nick from Manchester, NH on Saturday, December 8, 2012
    Great service
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-30 of 103 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #