Customer Reviews Of:
Johnstons of Elgin Scottish Cashmere Sweater (For Men)

Closeouts. Enjoy the tasteful pleasures of superior Scottish cashmere found in this touchably soft sweater. Johnstons of Elgin uses only the finest hair of Himalayan goats and spins it into timeless apparel.

Average Rating based on 72 reviews 4.430555 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 6 ... 8
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J Bug from Newport RI on Tuesday, June 16, 2009
    This was purchased as a gift. For that price I expected a REALLY FINE sweater, but was disappointed by flat tan color and thin material. I expected a thick sumptuous heathered tan sweater. I returned it.
    • Best Uses: Everyday
    • Cons: Color Not As Expected, Not soft enough, Thin material
    • Describe Yourself: Classic
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Franktc from NJ on Saturday, January 17, 2009
    What attracts me to cashmere sweaters is how light-yet warm and extremely comfortable the sweater can be. The Johnstons of Elgin cashmere sweater I purchased is a dense, tight weave. Not such a loose-weave as say, Ralph Lauren's cashmere. I found that the advice of other individuals reviewing Johnstons of Elgin cashmere sweaters is quite correct; buy the next size up, you would normally purchase. In my case; a size 46 was a near perfect fit. I happily expect this sweater, and the next one I purchase, will give me many, many years of comfortable, stylish wear.
    • Best Uses: Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fontinalis from midwest on Tuesday, January 13, 2009
    This is the sixth sweater I purchased of this brand
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RBT32412 from St. Louis, MOO on Friday, January 2, 2009
    Scottish cashmere is the best. It doesn't pill up like cheaper (sometimes) asian imports and it holds it's shape. Good for the long haul.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, High-end shopper, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm, Washes Well
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by briggsie from MA on Wednesday, December 31, 2008
    I followed others recommendations to order a size up - which was needed.
    The quality of the cashmere is great
    • Best Uses: Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Runs at least one size sm
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Craig from Ca. on Monday, December 29, 2008
    These wonderful Elgin sweaters from Scotland are every bit as good as the high end Italian cashmere sweaters(Avon Celli,Piacenza,etc.)that sell for three times as much.The cashmere they use appears to be top quality as it is extremely soft and pills very slightly.And the workmanship and constuction of these garments is superb!My only caveat is that they run quite small.I normally wear a size 44 and had to buy size 48 with these sweaters to get a comfortable fit.These are a steal at these prices!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm, Washes Well
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SMART SHOPPER from ALBUQUERQUE, NM on Tuesday, December 23, 2008
    I BOUGHT THIS FOR MY MAN-FRIEND. HE SAID IT FEELS SO SOFT, HE DOESN'T WANT TO TAKE IT OFF! IT LOOKS GREAT WITH DRESS SHIRT AND SLACKS, OR ALONE WITH JEANS. IT LOOKS CLASSY NO MATTER WHAT YOU WEAR IT WITH, AND IT MAKES A WONDERFUL GIFT FOR SOMEONE SPECIAL.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Office
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, High-end shopper, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by STP fan from Indiana on Tuesday, December 23, 2008
    Global warming hasn't made sweaters obsolete!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Formal Events, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish, Trendy
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cashmere lover from Pittsburgh, PA on Wednesday, December 17, 2008
    Beautiful item but had to return because it didn't fit right for my body type. I usually wear a 44...I got a 46 and it was still too small in some areas (shoulders). Absolutely beautiful quality though. It doesn't get any better than this!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Formal Events, Going Out, Office
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rangey from Pittsburgh, PA on Monday, December 8, 2008
    this is by far the best sweater I've ever seen. You will not be disappointed if you get this. However, keep in mind it does run small. I usually wear a 44L. I ordered a 46 and its still on the tight side. I'm 6' 4" and its just long enough but could be another inch longer.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Formal Events, Office
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 6 ... 8