Johnstons of Elgin Sweater - Scottish Cashmere (For Men)

Closeouts. Enjoy the tasteful pleasures of superior Scottish cashmere found in this touchably soft sweater. Johnstons of Elgin uses only the finest hair of Himalayan goats and spins it into timeless apparel.

Average Rating based on 64 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 64 reviews
  • Reviewed by Ctrosey from Connecticut on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    What you would expect for the money. Saddle shoulders:no longer easy to find.
  • Reviewed by sportdoc from melbourne, australia on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    Fits well (true to size) and excellent quality as advertised. $78 US shipping fee is outrageous!
  • Reviewed by tim from Atlanta on Friday, January 17, 2014
    A couple years ago I dropped a ten year old Lands End cashmere sweater. Thick, soft, luxurious cashmere - I tried to replace it when LE put their high-end cashmere sweaters -- but was very disappointed to discover that the thickness and quality of the cashmere had changed significantly over the years (no doubt due to pricing pressure which had led to outsourcing). Discouraged by the sheer cost of getting a a similar quality sweater, I'd decided to wait several more years at which point I could "justify" making the purchase of a high-end comparable sweater to the old one I had lost. Thanks to Johnstons of Elgin and STP's great prices, I was able to justify it a lot earlier than planned. I am thrilled with this sweater and its very high quality cashmere and construction. I will buy another one sooner than I should!
  • Reviewed by A in NY from NYC on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    It's beautiful and I love the company. Glad I got a sale price as there would be no way without that.
  • Reviewed by Outlawyer from SW Va on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    Very nice cashmere sweater, true to size, fully fashioned (arms sewn on properly is what that means) and with deep saturated colors. Johnstons outlasted the other stuff and is on par with the other premium brands from Scotland. Make sure you like the color. You'll have it a long time.
  • Reviewed by randyga from Georgia on Monday, October 28, 2013
    This sweater is well made. I got the dark blue heather color. It looks good with the black/lighter/darker specks the dye has. For the price though, I'm not sure it's worth it... It is not much softer than my Merino sweaters. The cashmere is lighter though by a little bit. It does not seem like it is any warmer than a wool sweater. I haven't had a chance to wear it in any real cold weather to tell for sure.
  • Reviewed by Robiewan from Colorado on Wednesday, March 06, 2013
    Not too thick. Buy a size larger than normal.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Two Rock from Baltimore Maryland on Monday, February 11, 2013
    Great sweater for the value. Looking forward to many years of use.
  • Reviewed by Prince Of The Peacocks from Lincoln NE on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    The material I think is rather thin for being labeled "Medium Weight", but not when compared to RL/Polo sweaters. Depends upon how u wear the sweater. Take ur regular size if w T shirt, &/or under sports coat. Go up next size if dress shirt, turtle neck, for casual wear. Washing IS CAKE!! TURN INSIDE OUT, use Woolite &/or baby shampoo, & cold water on the DELICATE CYCLE. Don't worry about what kind of machine it is ie: front load or swivel. REALLY. When done, roll up in a dry towel to get excess water out. DON'T WRING GARMENT. Sweater should smell like a wet dog if all soap is out. Then place away from heat & sunlight on another dry towel. I've found after washing fibers are softer & warmer. REALLY. Johnstons of Elgin is the BEST CASHMERE IN THE WORLD when properly washed & properly cared for. You can HAND WASH for same result- I've done both & it just doesn't make that noticeable of a difference. When these go on sale @ STP I'll buy a color I don't have. I never buy from retail stores cause they'd charge $500-750 for these! i.e.: Wingtip & Hansens, RL. I've noticed the thickness keeps getting thinner though- What is a shortage of sheep occurring in Scotland? I can't find a decent sweater that's affordable that's Made in USA, & St. Croix never has cashmere, only merino.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by M3guy from Chattanoga on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    Great for informal wear with jeans and casual pants but could easily be considered "dressy". I will be likely to purchase additional sweaters in different colours.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 64 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.