Johnstons of Elgin Sweater - Scottish Cashmere (For Men)

Closeouts. Enjoy the tasteful pleasures of superior Scottish cashmere found in this touchably soft sweater. Johnstons of Elgin uses only the finest hair of Himalayan goats and spins it into timeless apparel.

Average Rating based on 64 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-30 of 64 reviews
  • Reviewed by Ctrosey from Connecticut on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    What you would expect for the money. Saddle shoulders:no longer easy to find.
  • Reviewed by sportdoc from melbourne, australia on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    Fits well (true to size) and excellent quality as advertised. $78 US shipping fee is outrageous!
  • Reviewed by atlanta STP junkie from Atlanta on Friday, January 17, 2014
    A couple years ago I dropped a ten year old Lands End cashmere sweater. Thick, soft, luxurious cashmere - I tried to replace it when LE put their high-end cashmere sweaters -- but was very disappointed to discover that the thickness and quality of the cashmere had changed significantly over the years (no doubt due to pricing pressure which had led to outsourcing). Discouraged by the sheer cost of getting a a similar quality sweater, I'd decided to wait several more years at which point I could "justify" making the purchase of a high-end comparable sweater to the old one I had lost. Thanks to Johnstons of Elgin and STP's great prices, I was able to justify it a lot earlier than planned. I am thrilled with this sweater and its very high quality cashmere and construction. I will buy another one sooner than I should!
  • Reviewed by A in NY from NYC on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    It's beautiful and I love the company. Glad I got a sale price as there would be no way without that.
  • Reviewed by Outlawyer from SW Va on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    Very nice cashmere sweater, true to size, fully fashioned (arms sewn on properly is what that means) and with deep saturated colors. Johnstons outlasted the other stuff and is on par with the other premium brands from Scotland. Make sure you like the color. You'll have it a long time.
  • Reviewed by RandyGa from Georgia on Monday, October 28, 2013
    This sweater is well made. I got the dark blue heather color. It looks good with the black/lighter/darker specks the dye has. For the price though, I'm not sure it's worth it... It is not much softer than my Merino sweaters. The cashmere is lighter though by a little bit. It does not seem like it is any warmer than a wool sweater. I haven't had a chance to wear it in any real cold weather to tell for sure.
  • Reviewed by Robiewan from Colorado on Wednesday, March 06, 2013
    Not too thick. Buy a size larger than normal.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Two Rock from Baltimore Maryland on Monday, February 11, 2013
    Great sweater for the value. Looking forward to many years of use.
  • Reviewed by Prince Of The Peacocks from Lincoln NE on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    The material I think is rather thin for being labeled "Medium Weight", but not when compared to RL/Polo sweaters. Depends upon how u wear the sweater. Take ur regular size if w T shirt, &/or under sports coat. Go up next size if dress shirt, turtle neck, for casual wear. Washing IS CAKE!! TURN INSIDE OUT, use Woolite &/or baby shampoo, & cold water on the DELICATE CYCLE. Don't worry about what kind of machine it is ie: front load or swivel. REALLY. When done, roll up in a dry towel to get excess water out. DON'T WRING GARMENT. Sweater should smell like a wet dog if all soap is out. Then place away from heat & sunlight on another dry towel. I've found after washing fibers are softer & warmer. REALLY. Johnstons of Elgin is the BEST CASHMERE IN THE WORLD when properly washed & properly cared for. You can HAND WASH for same result- I've done both & it just doesn't make that noticeable of a difference. When these go on sale @ STP I'll buy a color I don't have. I never buy from retail stores cause they'd charge $500-750 for these! i.e.: Wingtip & Hansens, RL. I've noticed the thickness keeps getting thinner though- What is a shortage of sheep occurring in Scotland? I can't find a decent sweater that's affordable that's Made in USA, & St. Croix never has cashmere, only merino.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by M3guy from Chattanoga on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    Great for informal wear with jeans and casual pants but could easily be considered "dressy". I will be likely to purchase additional sweaters in different colours.
  • Reviewed by Great Lakes Girl from Shores of Lake Erie on Wednesday, January 09, 2013
    I gave this sweater to my husband for Christmas. I chose the color sage heather and it's wonderful on him. The sweater runs a tad small and I took advice from other reviewers and ordered up one size. It fits perfectly and although nice and warm, he can wear it comfortably in his office. Cashmere from Scotland gets better when laundered by hand. My guy looks terrific!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bello from NY on Friday, December 28, 2012
    excellent value for the money - easily worth at least 2X what I paid
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob the traveller from Pacific Palisades on Tuesday, December 25, 2012
    Comfortable good looking sweater. Wear it by itself or with a jacket.
  • Reviewed by Edie from Atlanta on Friday, December 14, 2012
    This must be the tenth Johnstons sweater my husband owns. This particular sweater runs small, unless you have a washboard stomach. Given the reviews, we bought two chest sizes larger than his normal suit size and it is still is a trimmer fit than his other sweaters. The mallard green is richer than the photograph. Could not be more pleased. Thanks Sierra!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jerry from bloominton ill on Sunday, December 09, 2012
    fully satisfied
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nick from Manchester, NH on Saturday, December 08, 2012
    Nice product, great service.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dog Walker from Jeffersonville, Vt. on Saturday, December 08, 2012
    This is the 4th Johnston of Elgin Crew Neck that my husband has in his wardrobe - navy, black, rhubard and a grey one that the dog ate. Excellent quality - made in Scotland as opposed to China.

    Excellent price on Sierra Trading Post!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by justjoe from WA on Friday, December 07, 2012
    Expensive, even at discount. Attractive and warm. I do not usually wear sweaters, but I will keep and wear this one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by graham from Blandford NSW Australia on Friday, December 07, 2012
    Casual wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cyn from Vienna, Va on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
    My boyfriend loves his Johnston of Elgin sweater.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by steve the tennis player from Baltimore, MD on Wednesday, November 14, 2012
    It's a great sweater. But I wear a size 44 jacket comfortably and this sweater, which is marked size 46, feels like a size 42.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LIShopper from Stony Brook, NY on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
    I have been buying Johnstons of Elgin sweaters from Sierra trading Post for many years now and they are always top quality. The color selection is beautiful, the fit is perfect and they last a very long time. A terrific buy for a classic casual look.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Innkeeper from Big Timber, MT on Thursday, November 01, 2012
    High quality for reasonable price
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JohnnyC from Brooklyn, NY on Thursday, October 18, 2012
    Sweater is beautiful. Look forward to wearing it shortly when the weather gets cold in NYC!
    • Best Uses: Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, High-end shopper, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Feels And Looks Great, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by long arm lou from NYC on Thursday, October 11, 2012
    I have a v-neck in green from years ago. Love the construction and quality. Just ordered two of these crew-necks in different colors in the same size. One color fits great (a tiny bit long in the torso maybe). The other is very much shorter in the sleeves and torso. Both sweaters are labeled size 46/117cm.

    Also the cuffs on the one that fits are turn-back and the cuffs on the sweater that's too short are plain. I'm guessing these are seconds. Still, they look good otherwise, so roll the dice if you're feeling lucky.
    • Best Uses: Everyday
    • Cons: Inconsistent Sizing
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Practical, Quality over Quantity
    • Pros: Great colors, High Quality
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jon the outdoorsman from northwest ohio on Thursday, September 20, 2012
    wear at office and going out.

    hard to find scottish cashmere at a reasonable price.

    the sweater is high quality and great value.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Oswegan from Lake Oswego, OR on Wednesday, September 19, 2012
    People should take advantage of the good discounts on Johnston's cashmere sweaters.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Burt from Tucson, AZ on Friday, December 30, 2011
    Perfect fit.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Formal Events, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Stylish
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by rtb178 from USA on Thursday, December 29, 2011
    Excellent sweater at an excellent price. Just be sure to get the larger size. I'm a 44 long, and the 46 was both large and long enough. I think sizing up might make the sweater a bit long if you're not tall, so keep that in mind.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by silverfox from Mill Valley CA on Saturday, December 24, 2011
    This was a disappointment.......if I had ordered a very high end Shetland sweater I would have loved it.....Great color/classic style but as a cashmere sweater it is neither soft or as luxurious as one might expect... I sent it back.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not soft, Odd quality, Runs small
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Knows quality, Loves soft stuff, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-30 of 64 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.