Customer Reviews Of:
Johnstons of Elgin Scottish Cashmere Sweater (For Men)

Closeouts. Enjoy the tasteful pleasures of superior Scottish cashmere found in this touchably soft sweater. Johnstons of Elgin uses only the finest hair of Himalayan goats and spins it into timeless apparel.

Average Rating based on 72 reviews 4.430555 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Andy from Vancouver from BC on Tuesday, February 9, 2016
    Looks great. Order one size up
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chicago native from Chicago on Monday, February 8, 2016
    Sweater is as described. It is well made, soft as cashmere should be and the dark brown color is very compatible with a good number of my pants, shirts and sport coats. I prefer a looser fit in sweaters and the XL in this one meets that criteria.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gary from June Lake, CA on Monday, February 8, 2016
    This is the softest sweater I've ever owned
  • Reviewed by Michael B from DC on Wednesday, December 2, 2015
    Seeing all of the positive reviews makes me scratch my head since I had such a negative experience with the 2 sweaters that I purchased. Both the sweaters, after wearing them occasionally over a period of a few months developed holes in the material in multiple places. Fortunately, I was able to still return them for store credit. Logically one would suppose I must have had really bad luck since so few others report problems, but I did not want to take the chance of getting other defective sweaters to replace them. Furthermore, while they look fine, they are thin and they did not look from the beginning to me like they they were woven finely enough to be really long lasting (but I doubted my first impression because of all the other 5 star reviews). I am much more impressed so far, for example, by the quality of workmanship and fine appearance of 2 Norwegian wool sweaters I purchased in the last 2 years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Allen in Sonoma from Sonoma, CA on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    This is my fifth Johnstons of Elgin cashmere sweater. All are handsome, well made, fit well (large 42-44), and attract favorable comments. The colors are great. The quality and wonderful feel are apparent every time I put one on. My wife loves my sweaters and wishes she could find a women's one in her size (small).
  • Reviewed by Kevin John from New York, NY on Monday, January 12, 2015
    Beautiful color and quality construction, but the fit is odd. At 6'1" and 175 pounds. I normally wear a medium. This sweater in medium has short sleeves and is loose around the waist. The fit is weird and I returned it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Doc David from Missouri on Monday, October 6, 2014
    Highest quality cashmere - soft, thick, yet light. Better than cashmere sweaters recently seen at a high quality men's store for $400.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wayne the fisher from Ohio on Tuesday, September 16, 2014
    excellent product, construction and material. also a great value
  • Reviewed by Ctrosey from Connecticut on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    What you would expect for the money. Saddle shoulders:no longer easy to find.
  • Reviewed by sportdoc from melbourne, australia on Thursday, March 6, 2014
    Fits well (true to size) and excellent quality as advertised. $78 US shipping fee is outrageous!
  • Reviewed by tim from Atlanta on Friday, January 17, 2014
    A couple years ago I dropped a ten year old Lands End cashmere sweater. Thick, soft, luxurious cashmere - I tried to replace it when LE put their high-end cashmere sweaters -- but was very disappointed to discover that the thickness and quality of the cashmere had changed significantly over the years (no doubt due to pricing pressure which had led to outsourcing). Discouraged by the sheer cost of getting a a similar quality sweater, I'd decided to wait several more years at which point I could "justify" making the purchase of a high-end comparable sweater to the old one I had lost. Thanks to Johnstons of Elgin and STP's great prices, I was able to justify it a lot earlier than planned. I am thrilled with this sweater and its very high quality cashmere and construction. I will buy another one sooner than I should!
  • Reviewed by A in NY from NYC on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    It's beautiful and I love the company. Glad I got a sale price as there would be no way without that.
  • Reviewed by The Outlawyer from SW Va on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    Very nice cashmere sweater, true to size, fully fashioned (arms sewn on properly is what that means) and with deep saturated colors. Johnstons outlasted the other stuff and is on par with the other premium brands from Scotland. Make sure you like the color. You'll have it a long time.
  • Reviewed by Randy from Georgia on Monday, October 28, 2013
    This sweater is well made. I got the dark blue heather color. It looks good with the black/lighter/darker specks the dye has. For the price though, I'm not sure it's worth it... It is not much softer than my Merino sweaters. The cashmere is lighter though by a little bit. It does not seem like it is any warmer than a wool sweater. I haven't had a chance to wear it in any real cold weather to tell for sure.
  • Reviewed by Anonymous from Colorado on Wednesday, March 6, 2013
    Not too thick. Buy a size larger than normal.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Two Rock from Baltimore Maryland on Monday, February 11, 2013
    Great sweater for the value. Looking forward to many years of use.
  • Reviewed by Prince Of The Peacocks from Lincoln NE on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    The material I think is rather thin for being labeled "Medium Weight", but not when compared to RL/Polo sweaters. Depends upon how u wear the sweater. Take ur regular size if w T shirt, &/or under sports coat. Go up next size if dress shirt, turtle neck, for casual wear. Washing IS CAKE!! TURN INSIDE OUT, use Woolite &/or baby shampoo, & cold water on the DELICATE CYCLE. Don't worry about what kind of machine it is ie: front load or swivel. REALLY. When done, roll up in a dry towel to get excess water out. DON'T WRING GARMENT. Sweater should smell like a wet dog if all soap is out. Then place away from heat & sunlight on another dry towel. I've found after washing fibers are softer & warmer. REALLY. Johnstons of Elgin is the BEST CASHMERE IN THE WORLD when properly washed & properly cared for. You can HAND WASH for same result- I've done both & it just doesn't make that noticeable of a difference. When these go on sale @ STP I'll buy a color I don't have. I never buy from retail stores cause they'd charge $500-750 for these! i.e.: Wingtip & Hansens, RL. I've noticed the thickness keeps getting thinner though- What is a shortage of sheep occurring in Scotland? I can't find a decent sweater that's affordable that's Made in USA, & St. Croix never has cashmere, only merino.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by M3guy from Chattanoga on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    Great for informal wear with jeans and casual pants but could easily be considered "dressy". I will be likely to purchase additional sweaters in different colours.
  • Reviewed by Great Lakes Girl from Shores of Lake Erie on Wednesday, January 9, 2013
    I gave this sweater to my husband for Christmas. I chose the color sage heather and it's wonderful on him. The sweater runs a tad small and I took advice from other reviewers and ordered up one size. It fits perfectly and although nice and warm, he can wear it comfortably in his office. Cashmere from Scotland gets better when laundered by hand. My guy looks terrific!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bello from NY on Friday, December 28, 2012
    excellent value for the money - easily worth at least 2X what I paid
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob the traveller from Pacific Palisades on Tuesday, December 25, 2012
    Comfortable good looking sweater. Wear it by itself or with a jacket.
  • Reviewed by Edie from Atlanta on Friday, December 14, 2012
    This must be the tenth Johnstons sweater my husband owns. This particular sweater runs small, unless you have a washboard stomach. Given the reviews, we bought two chest sizes larger than his normal suit size and it is still is a trimmer fit than his other sweaters. The mallard green is richer than the photograph. Could not be more pleased. Thanks Sierra!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jerry from bloominton ill on Sunday, December 9, 2012
    fully satisfied
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nick from Manchester, NH on Saturday, December 8, 2012
    Nice product, great service.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dog Walker from Jeffersonville, Vt. on Saturday, December 8, 2012
    This is the 4th Johnston of Elgin Crew Neck that my husband has in his wardrobe - navy, black, rhubard and a grey one that the dog ate. Excellent quality - made in Scotland as opposed to China.

    Excellent price on Sierra Trading Post!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by justjoe from WA on Friday, December 7, 2012
    Expensive, even at discount. Attractive and warm. I do not usually wear sweaters, but I will keep and wear this one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by graham from Blandford NSW Australia on Friday, December 7, 2012
    Casual wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cyn from Vienna, Va on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
    My boyfriend loves his Johnston of Elgin sweater.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by steve the tennis player from Baltimore, MD on Wednesday, November 14, 2012
    It's a great sweater. But I wear a size 44 jacket comfortably and this sweater, which is marked size 46, feels like a size 42.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LIShopper from Stony Brook, NY on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
    I have been buying Johnstons of Elgin sweaters from Sierra trading Post for many years now and they are always top quality. The color selection is beautiful, the fit is perfect and they last a very long time. A terrific buy for a classic casual look.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3