The inherent luxury of pure Scottish cashmere is borne out in every garment that arrives from the legendary mills of Johnstons of Elgin - a centuries-old family firm doing business in the far North of Scotland since 1797. Using the finest cashmere and superfine wools in the world, Johnstons processes its fibers in a rare "vertical mill" system, where all of the dyeing, spinning, weaving and finishing are carefully controlled on site. Johnstons produces a range of cloth, knitwear and home furnishings at this historic plant - products that are probably best known for their irres ... Learn more about Johnstons of Elginistible softness to the touch. The secret, Johnstons believes, is in the finishing, a process still enhanced by the super soft, clear water from nearby River Lossie. ... Less
Average Rating based on 2777 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 278 »
  • 1-10 of 2777 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Doc Dave from Missouri on Monday, June 30, 2014
    Excellent sweater. Color is rich and material is a top quality cashmere, supply and thick.
  • Reviewed by Dandy like a Dandelion from Texas on Monday, June 23, 2014
    1. The higher the gauge number, the finer (as in “thinner”) the yarn. Gauge reflects how many stitches it takes to knit (usually) a 10 cm wide pattern; the thinner the yarn, the more stitches are required. This has nothing to do with softness of a yarn. This cardigan, being of 21-gauge, is a thin, lightweight sweater (nothing to be considered for -20F winters but something to be enjoyed for layering in +60F).
    2. Johnstons of Elgin, through centuries of manufacturing, has earned its reputation as a maker of world’s finest cashmeres for a reason: its yarns are superior to others’. While, at first, this sweater may not resemble the softness in touch of the Chinese cashmere and it feels more like merino wool, that’s a good thing! Once you wash this JofE sweater (BTW wash it only by hand or in a true hand-wash cycle in lukewarm water with very delicate detergents and lie it flat to dry), these long strands of yarn will bloom afterwards (“blooming” is a knitting term for threads to loosen up, open up in a wash) giving you the softness expected from cashmere. Now, you can enjoy wearing (and washing) JofE sweaters for 10, even 20 years with them continue to look fine throughout the years, not pilling up, not stretching, not fading. Try doing that with lower-end cashmere – you’ll understand and appreciate the reasons why Johnstons of Elgin has the reputation it has.
    3. I think that these cardigans are made true to size – I’m speaking only about size XS and S, I don’t know how M, L, etc. measure. I’m 34”-25”-35” in chest, waist and hips respectively (5’4” and 100 lb) and I favor size XS but I’m equally comfortable wearing these cardigans in size S as layering over a blouse, etc.
    4. Colors are somewhat off from what they appear on Sierra’s site; midnight blue hints on gray-ink, sapphire is more of a jade (nothing of the purplish navy in it, unfortunately for me), marine is heathery strong aqua/watery color, and sand is simply the best: it’s a delicate camel color.
    5. I couldn’t be more thankful to Sierra for making these Johnstons of Elgin sweaters available at great discounts. 5***** for Sierra and 5***** for these JofE cardigans.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GeorgiaGirl from Georgia on Monday, June 09, 2014
    Of all the things I've ordered from STP, this is hands down my favorite. Although it's summer, I've already used it a bit as I get cold easily, and it feels like wrapping myself in a cloud. That's gonna feel especially awesome this winter when I'm freezing my butt off.

    I needed a new throw for the couch anyway. Mine was a cheap acrylic that had definitely seen better days. This matches the couch perfectly and the quality is top notch. Best part? Getting this baby for $287, an absolute STEAL for what it is! Yeah, almost $300 for a throw seems ridiculous at first glance, but when it's 100% cashmere from Scotland and retails for $1000 ... um, yeah, I'll take it! I mean, a top-quality SWEATER is usually what you'd pay for what I got this huge blanket for!

    Bottom line, STP is the No. 1 place for the top-quality cashmere at unreal prices! Thanks STP!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ilovethehunt! from San Jose, Ca on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    I purchased two sweaters, one in black and the other navy, in XXL. I'm so glad that size was available! Turtleneck sweaters are always a problem for me because I come from the "big neck family" and most T-necks are too tight. By the end of the day, I feel nearly strangled. The extra bit of size helps, even though the rest of the sweater is generous. The cashmere is soft and I look forward to wearing this garment the the cooler months.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by djkento88 from Maryland on Thursday, May 29, 2014
    On May 15, I ordered a Johnstons of Elgin Cashmere Sweater as a gift for my niece. It was on sale for 311.97 from an original price of close to 800. The next day, this sweater was offered at a price which was reduced by 48 dollars. I called up customer service to see whether I would be able to get this better price. The helpful representative went to the effort of refunding me 48 dollars. I am extremely pleased with the service which I received. Since this item is a gift, I wll not be able to say much on wear ability, but the quality is outstanding and the feel of the material indicates a first class quality item. I am sure that my niece will appreciate this item when I give it to her for her birthday the coming winter.
  • Reviewed by sktt from philadelphia on Friday, May 23, 2014
    Johnstons of Elgin has made wonderful cashmere for decades. Like their sweaters and scarves, this blanket is very well made and of excellent quality. It is medium-heavy weight cashmere and not at all itchy. The dot pattern is more subtle in person than it appears in the photos, which is nice. We bought the duck egg blue (a pleasant spa blue/aqua), then went back for the oatmeal one (a pale beige/neutral) because the quality was so lovely. These are pricey, but the STP coupons make these a very good value! The size is very generous and perfect for curling up with a good book on a cold night. Throws look great on a couch or chair or folded at the end of a bed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cape codder from cape cod on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    Drapes and flows beautifully, lovely fabric, subtle and neutral but not boring or dowdy....wish I hadn't gotten the last one, I'd buy more for friends.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Teton view from Jackson, WY on Monday, May 19, 2014
    Great quality, fits medium size well, my favorite sweaters.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nana from Wi. from Wisconsin. on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    This sweater is a beautiful color (marine) and a very soft and luxurious fabric. It was just the right weight for Wi. Spring and summer weather. I should have read the description more carefully, because it clearly stated this item was fitted! I ordered an extra large. Too snug for me, and sadly I had to return it!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Grammybrenn from Pittsburgh on Wednesday, May 07, 2014
    I love the warmth and softness of this throw. Plus, it's really long, so it covers easily my whole body and my feet as well. I bought the green, which is just as pictured in the photo.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 278 »
  • 1-10 of 2777 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;