The inherent luxury of pure Scottish cashmere is borne out in every garment that arrives from the legendary mills of Johnstons of Elgin - a centuries-old family firm doing business in the far North of Scotland since 1797. Using the finest cashmere and superfine wools in the world, Johnstons processes its fibers in a rare "vertical mill" system, where all of the dyeing, spinning, weaving and finishing are carefully controlled on site. Johnstons produces a range of cloth, knitwear and home furnishings at this historic plant - products that are probably best known for their irres ... Learn more about Johnstons of Elginistible softness to the touch. The secret, Johnstons believes, is in the finishing, a process still enhanced by the super soft, clear water from nearby River Lossie. ... Less
Average Rating based on 2959 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 99 »
  • 1-30 of 2959 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Genko from North Carolina on Thursday, February 26, 2015
    If you don't need snowmobiling or ski gloves (waterproof, windproof, heavily insulated), then these are ideal general-purpose low-bulk, crushable, washable gloves, for driving, walking the dog, shopping, going out, you name it. Much warmer than acrylic. No itch. Not too tight across the fingers and palms (a common problem I find in women's gloves). I have bought many pairs in many colors, to give away and to use myself.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David from New York on Thursday, February 26, 2015
    Soft, comfortable and warm, this cashmere sweater also looks great. Sizes are a bit smaller than standard. Check the wide range of colors for the one that suits you best.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kevin from Providence on Wednesday, February 25, 2015
    This sweater fits really well and feels delicious
  • Reviewed by Dandy like a Dandelion from Texas on Sunday, February 22, 2015
    I bought first of these sweaters back in 2012. I’m very happy to see them being brought back by Sierra for the 2014-15 winter season. The sleeves in the new edition seem to be longer than the ones from the few years ago. Yet, I still wear these sweaters with bracelets, not because I need to cover up the shortness of the sleeves but, now, because I like wearing them with bracelets. Other aspects of this sweater remained the same: cropped in a body with a lower-than-typical turtleneck. There are two colors this season which seem to please me the most: zinc/gray and sand/beige. The sand color is the best in my opinion; it is subdued beige resembling camel but less yellow which allows me - taupe blonde hair, blue eyes and a fairs complexion – enjoy wearing it. Of course, knowing that the best designer houses: Chanel, Hermes, etc. often times buy their yarn from Johnstons of Elgin and always, always offer a variety of beige sweats made me only pause and exclaim: “How much does it cost at Sierra? I want them all!” Just kidding. In regards to care, I always refer to the directions provided by JofE: I have my sweaters hand-washed in a delicate detergent and lied flat to dry; the yarn blooms (i.e. opens up and becomes fluffy, and even softer) afterwards. This sweater has become my all-time favourite. Sierra – thank you so much!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Natalie Lee from Naples, Fl on Saturday, February 21, 2015
    Once you see the quality and depth of cashmere you can see why their prices are higher than normal. It fits beautifully - as recommended in a review I read (their sizes run very small) ordered a XL instead of a Medium and pleased with the fit. It runs several sizes smaller but who cares! The goods are the best have seen so it was worth the price!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dimako from Upstate NY on Tuesday, February 17, 2015
    I love sweaters from Johnstons of Elgin, they are always nicely made. Previously I bought other sweaters from this company in size M, and it was fit perfectly. This one, was too big, sleeves are too long. I was very disappointed and I send it back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tellurian Traveler from Bar Harbor, Maine on Tuesday, February 17, 2015
    The "soda" color, which I thought was more yellow, was IMO a bilious green. The cashmere itself did not seem very substantial and the overall cut and drape of the wrap didn't add up well. I was aware that the back was short, but just did not like the cut, so returned and did not exchange for another color.
  • Reviewed by Quickbeam from Wisconsin on Tuesday, February 17, 2015
    This is a lovely piece and wonderful color (I got the yellow). Gorgeous cashmere in a very fine gauge. Unfortunately there is not nearly enough fabric in the front to constitute a wrap. Although this was not too small for me, the front hung in my arm pits. The front panels are only a couple inches. I am not sure who could wear this but anyone with a bust will have the front panels by their arms. Had the front pieces been wider, it would have been perfect. As it is, I'll be returning this. It is a shame.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Philipd from Austin on Monday, February 16, 2015
    Johnston of Elgin has an excellent reputation for quality, and this throw confirms it. My skin is sensitive to wool but I found it very comfortable. Unlike what a couple of commentators have said, it does not have the hand of a high quality cashmere, but at the STP price, it doesn't get any better.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve from Philadelphia on Monday, February 16, 2015
    Warm, beautiful and well-made
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tadmur from kansas city on Sunday, February 15, 2015
    The weight and softness of the cashmere as well as the quality of the knitting and construction make this cardigan - classic in its styling - extraordinary. Equally important, the price on STP, while still expensive, made it affordable. My wife loves it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nini the shopper from Maryland on Saturday, February 14, 2015
    Super soft with saturated color. A beautiful buy.
  • Reviewed by jennetj from Boston, MA on Friday, February 13, 2015
    Got these in a teal color. I wear them frequently and do love them--the wool is cozy and warm yet breathable, and the color is rich and saturated. However, they started pilling almost immediately, and they've gotten much baggier over a few months. That's to be expected, but with how badly they've pilled, I'm afraid to wash them too much...but, good price, and worth it for me.
  • Reviewed by jennetj from Boston, MA on Friday, February 13, 2015
    High quality wool with a surprisingly, delightfully soft hand. The blue/gray plaid has beautiful tonal colors and goes well with pretty much any outerwear. Unbeatable price!
  • Reviewed by Peter from Maine on Thursday, February 12, 2015
    I caught one of these on sale from STP and was impressed with the quality enough to purchase a good number of them as Christmas presents for my grown children. Two years later, they continue to keep us warm, and garnish complements. I even keep one in the back of my car, neatly folded, for the kids. These are beautiful in appearance (hey, its a Mercedes) and of superior quality construction.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Allen in Sonoma from Sonoma, CA on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    This is my fifth Johnstons of Elgin cashmere sweater. All are handsome, well made, fit well (large 42-44), and attract favorable comments. The colors are great. The quality and wonderful feel are apparent every time I put one on. My wife loves my sweaters and wishes she could find a women's one in her size (small).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by konyha from TX on Sunday, February 8, 2015
    These cashmere gloves are light weight but warm. They are not exactly a classic fit since they are 'one-size-fits-most' however they are not bulky in any way. Most of all they feel luxuriously soft against my skin. I bought the colour "lead" in hope of it being a deep grey however it is almost a green-based grey. I still like them however they do not match with the coat I was hoping to pair them with. I gifted a pair of the navy gloves and the person loved them and wears them often.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jack from Ohio on Friday, February 6, 2015
    I don't think you can find a better quality cashmere sweater at any price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kate from New York on Thursday, February 5, 2015
    This blanket is as beautifully made as it is lovely to look at. I have several of these...one for each couch and oversized chair in the house. Great for getting cozy in winter with cocoa and a good movie.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KateC from Pennsylvania on Thursday, February 5, 2015
    Whenever Sierra Trading Post offers these high quality Scottish wool blankets I buy at least one (two this time for our guest room). They are hundred times better than those fleece blankets (which I do not find warm and which have annoying static cling). In addition to the two in the guest room, I have two on our master bedroom bed and two by the fireplace as well as one on our sun porch for cool weather napping. I also keep one in my car in case of emergency. Finally, I haven given them as gifts and people love them! They may seem pricey to some even at the very deep Sierra discount but , considering their quality and warmth, they are well worth the price -especially when considering the blankets usually retail from Elgin for well over $300.
    And the quality makes for a lasting blanket - I have thrown out more fleece blankets then I can remember, but have had my Elgin's for many years. One note, I do not dry clean the blankets because I hate the smell of dry cleaning fluid - I wash them in cold water with Woolite and dry on very low or hang to dry and they have held up very well. One note,
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sparklepup from Pittsburgh on Tuesday, February 3, 2015
    These one-size gloves are too small for my big 8-8 1/2" hands. I hoped since they were knit, they'd stretch enough. I can get them on but fabric is stretched too thin to look luxurious. The color Blackberry is beautiful and the style is basic which I like. This is the second pair of Johnson's cashmere gloves I tried; both too small, so this brand not for me. This knit would look a bit thin on anyone, I think.
  • Reviewed by mplsgrrl from mn on Saturday, January 31, 2015
    I lost my first pair of these so someone is walking around SO happy with their find of these wonderful gloves..so soft..so warm...so simple..perfect...so now I have a new pair and if I lose these, I will be back! I have purchased them in other colors and will continue to do so as well...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nikita from Los Angeles, CA on Friday, January 30, 2015
    I'm sadly disappointed with these gloves. When I first received them a couple weeks ago for the holidays they seemed high-quality and was definitely soft and warm. However, after only wearing them to the office (for typing and other light paperwork), they've already begun to pill... all over. :-( I can't imagine what they'd be like after the wash. Very unfortunate. I also bought another set of pink ones which I haven't worn yet and now I am thinking of returning them given that they get "worn" so quickly!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ruby from Boston on Wednesday, January 28, 2015
    I got color 04 after reading a previous review on this color pattern. It's a great choice, the green is indeed a soft avocado green, the colors overall are much softer and richer than online. It looks very attractive on both my beige leather sofa and red cloth chair. It's a nice thickness too, warm but not too heavy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ecd from new york on Monday, January 26, 2015
    Beautifully crafted blanket! The price is unbelievable, so I got two! Timeless piece that will last for years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by T from MN on Monday, January 26, 2015
    I love this! I highly recommend this brand to everyone.
  • Reviewed by Liz M from Ohio on Friday, January 23, 2015
    This is a soft, sturdy, but not too thick wool throw for chilly evenings on the sofa. It is so cozy warm that we're having a hard time putting it away between uses to prevent the Siamese cat from trying to eat it. The grey is a beautiful neutral.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Reid from Minnesota on Thursday, January 22, 2015
    I'm quite pleased with this purchase. The sweater is well made and impressive. Had to order two sizes larger than normal, but works for me now.
  • Reviewed by Susie from Chicago on Thursday, January 22, 2015
    I heard somewhere that Johnston's mill also produces Burberry scarves. I own a Burberry scarf that I adore, and was expecting a similar feel. This scarf, however, is much lighter and and has more movement. It folds over nicely, and despite it's "gauzy" description, I find it to be plenty thick for Chicago weather. Not necessarily a workhorse scarf, but definitely a wonderful dress-up piece. I actually find myself reaching for this more often than the Burberry!
  • Reviewed by Susie from Chicago on Thursday, January 22, 2015
    I purchased these and the matching scarf, and they are stunning, warm, and versatile. I find that they don't go up to my elbows, so I instead wear them bunched, which I personally find warmer and more attractive.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 99 »
  • 1-30 of 2959 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;