The inherent luxury of pure Scottish cashmere is borne out in every garment that arrives from the legendary mills of Johnstons of Elgin - a centuries-old family firm doing business in the far North of Scotland since 1797. Using the finest cashmere and superfine wools in the world, Johnstons processes its fibers in a rare "vertical mill" system, where all of the dyeing, spinning, weaving and finishing are carefully controlled on site. Johnstons produces a range of cloth, knitwear and home furnishings at this historic plant - products that are probably best known for their irres ... Learn more about Johnstons of Elginistible softness to the touch. The secret, Johnstons believes, is in the finishing, a process still enhanced by the super soft, clear water from nearby River Lossie. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 104
  • 1-30 of 3109 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Miss Chris from UTAH on Wednesday, February 10, 2016
    Great quality! Very happy with purchase. I have small hands, so ordering gloves online can be problematic - but the fact that these are "fingerless" gloves solved the sizing issue. I wish I'd bought them earlier in the season, when more colors were available....would have made a nice Christmas gift for several of my friends. Hope to find these again next year!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Avid shopper from Illinois on Tuesday, February 9, 2016
    This would have been a great addition to his wardrobe if it had only fit. The x-large fit, but not as loose as it should have been. The cashmere felt wonderful and was of a good weight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Andy from Vancouver from BC on Tuesday, February 9, 2016
    Looks great. Order one size up
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Magpie Lover from Australia on Tuesday, February 9, 2016
    Lovely colours and very soft. Good value at the reduced price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chicago Native from Chicago on Monday, February 8, 2016
    Sweater is as described. It is well made, soft as cashmere should be and the dark brown color is very compatible with a good number of my pants, shirts and sport coats. I prefer a looser fit in sweaters and the XL in this one meets that criteria.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gary from June Lake, CA on Monday, February 8, 2016
    This is the softest sweater I've ever owned
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AMP from US on Monday, February 8, 2016
    Soft!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AMP from US on Monday, February 8, 2016
    A little coarse, but will improve with use and washing. Beautiful pattern, good size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mimbresgirl from Redwoods on Sunday, February 7, 2016
    Since most of the colors I preferred in the women's sweater were already sold out, I thought I would do a size comparison in the men's sizes to see if it was even possible to go that route. Well it is! I am 5'4" and weigh 155lbs and I bought this sweater in men's size 44 in the zinc heather and the light green "eat de nil" color. I am large busted and could have bought the size 42 but I usually wear a liner shirt under cashmere to lessen the cleaning cycle. I love them and they fit like the very popular "sweatshirt" look with a relaxed bottom that has a loose fit around my waist. Wonderful for Saturday market or walks along the Redwood beaches. I wish I would have bought a few other colors. I buy cashmere for its warmth so the weave works well for me because it is not the big fluffy cashmere and more like the European cashmere my family in Ireland wears. Nice to know these sweaters are still made on machines that are hundreds of years old. True craftsmanship and artistry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ravi1g from San Diego on Sunday, February 7, 2016
    I pick up Johnston's of Elgin cashmere items whenever they go on sale. The quality is excellent and these are no exception. They are great for personal use and gifts to friends and family.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ravi1g from San Diego on Sunday, February 7, 2016
    Superb quality and an amazing price makes this one of the most compelling buys of this season.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Maxx from PA on Saturday, February 6, 2016
    Absolutely beautiful, soft, luxurious, colors true as pictured, nice generous size. Great value.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Redfish7 from Lake Jackson,Texas on Friday, February 5, 2016
    Just awesome in every way. I was impressed by the weight of them. But a lady made a statement in one of the reviews that a certain color was better. I bought 2 different colors and you can tell the difference in weight. Nothing that alarmed me, but the purple one was heavier than the brown. But I use them more for decor , it's Texas folks.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by morning from ohio on Thursday, February 4, 2016
    This is a very soft sweater and the cashmere feels wonderful on the skin. I purchased the sweater in XL. I usually wear medium or large in other brands, but I always order up in Johnston's of Elgins' sweaters. I purchased the crimson color which is a beautiful reddish pinkish color. It should brighten up a dull grey winter day. The arms of the sweater are a little tight, so I hope the sweater does not shrink.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Meowmiz from NY on Friday, January 29, 2016
    the color and construction are wonderful, but it is thin and does not provide much warmth. I will keep it and use it for spring when it's chilly but not arctic.
  • Reviewed by Bjnk from California on Thursday, January 28, 2016
    I love this sweater. The knit is unique and so is the fit...It's "fitted", compared to most - especially Johnston's of Elgin's sweaters. Most seem to be relatively large in the chest compared to the sleeve length. Of all JoE sweaters, this is definitely my favorite fit. In case it helps, I'm 6', 180 lbs and a 42 seems perfect (though borderline short in sleeves).
  • Reviewed by Nick from Central Ohio on Thursday, January 28, 2016
    I purchased a large instead of a medium due to reviews as to undersizing. The large fits perfectly, and the "Pollen" color is spectacular! I found it quite warm on cold day. No complaints, great value; it will outlive me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bo the Babyboomer from Upstate New York on Thursday, January 28, 2016
    This blanket could not be softer, nor provide more warmth. It is always fought over at my home.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Redfish7 from Texas on Tuesday, January 26, 2016
    what a steal, yes it's as nice as cashmere, it may not be as thick, but it is pure luxury , perfect for chilly Texas weather.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Henesy from Seattle on Monday, January 25, 2016
    The is no scratchiness to be found in this premium throw, the merino is a nice complement to the secondary cashmere. A good weight and warmth as well. I'm starting a johnston's collection of throws, I think-good deal and cool colors in the plaid patterns
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Henesy from Seattle on Monday, January 25, 2016
    The lambs wool is soft and thick enough to feel durable and warm. Nice bright colors to the plaid. A good deal
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by katydid from catskill mountains, ny on Sunday, January 24, 2016
    I will echo other reviewers about this sweater. It does run small. I am size 12 and ordered the XL. Also, the colors are slightly off on the monitor. Ordered both the green and the amber because I couldn't decide which color to choose. Hope to have these sweaters for several years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MKG from Wisconsin on Friday, January 22, 2016
    this is made well, soft and beautiful
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Utahn from Salt Lake City on Wednesday, January 20, 2016
    Green color's not so great (prettier virtually) but otherwise a fantastic sweater: soft, well-cut, classic.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Redfish7 from Texas on Wednesday, January 20, 2016
    So fine and soft, I think is it softer than cashmere, had to get a second one, just throw on the sofa recliners, they look like a million bucks.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cathy5070 from Mississippi on Tuesday, January 19, 2016
    Feels more like plain wool to me. Definitely not worth the cashmere price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by small town Mom from PA on Tuesday, January 19, 2016
    I own several of these lovely blankets . Without a doubt , these are the softest , warmest and prettiest blankets one can hope to own . They are simply the best . Very light in weight but do not be concerned because the quality and weave of the wool makes them very warm indeed ! The highest praise I can confer is to say I buy these blankets often ... they make lovely shower , wedding , birthday and Christmas gifts . Better yet ... indulge yourself ... get one for yourself ... you wil not regret it . They last for generations !
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wlp from San Francisco on Monday, January 18, 2016
    I bought a pair of these 2 years ago and this year bought 2 more pair. Not because they wore out but because they are soft and warm on my arthritic hands.
  • Reviewed by desertstella from Yucca Valley, CA on Monday, January 18, 2016
    This is really beautiful! I got it in a neutral color combination, planning to wear it like a shawl. It's so thick and tightly woven it will be really warm. It's also really a nice blanket! I'm trying to think of a good excuse to buy it in a bunch of other colors. I want them all over the house.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by girlfromthenorthcountry from Granville, Ohio on Saturday, January 16, 2016
    I have bought many pairs of these in row fingerless and regular glove version. The quality is excellent, very soft and warm cashmere. I wash them by hand and they hold up pretty well. Of course because they are cashmere they are not tough and will not hold up to rough wear. For a classy out and about driving glove they are perfect.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 104
  • 1-30 of 3109 reviews
;