The inherent luxury of pure Scottish cashmere is borne out in every garment that arrives from the legendary mills of Johnstons of Elgin - a centuries-old family firm doing business in the far North of Scotland since 1797. Using the finest cashmere and superfine wools in the world, Johnstons processes its fibers in a rare "vertical mill" system, where all of the dyeing, spinning, weaving and finishing are carefully controlled on site. Johnstons produces a range of cloth, knitwear and home furnishings at this historic plant - products that are probably best known for their irres ... Learn more about Johnstons of Elginistible softness to the touch. The secret, Johnstons believes, is in the finishing, a process still enhanced by the super soft, clear water from nearby River Lossie. ... Less
Average Rating based on 5 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 100 »
  • 1-30 of 2988 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David from Weston, CT on Monday, May 18, 2015
    I sent this sweater back. First impression as it came out of the bag was that it was not particularly soft or thick. Second impression was that despite being an extra large, the sweater was tight under the armpits and body hugging. Not a fan.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PortlandDude from Portland, OR on Wednesday, May 13, 2015
    Amazing quality blanket, incredibly soft and warm. Get it when there's a good coupon discount and you'll be forever glad you did.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cassy from MA on Tuesday, May 5, 2015
    Soft, beautiful wool/cashmere blanket. I'm not wild about the colors but I knew that before I bought it. Quality is outstanding. I'm considering a second one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stephanie from Metro Detroit, MI on Monday, May 4, 2015
    Very soft for wool and colors are gorgeous.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The reader from Minnesota on Sunday, May 3, 2015
    The texture is lovely. Johnstons of Elgin quality is superb. The 4 star rating is because of the colors. The green is much brighter and the blue somewhat paler than expected. It is meant to be a gift and I am sure she will love it anyhow.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zena from South Carolina on Thursday, April 23, 2015
    Getting a cashmere sweater was on my bucket list and I never would have imagined getting such a nice one at such a reasonable price. The color is warm and will compliment many fall and winter outfits. The sleeves are snug but I can wear long sleeved blouses and turtle neck tops under it comfortably. The shawl collar can be worn as pictured or pulled across the bodice to provide more warmth. This sweater makes me look forward to autumn!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kenny from Staten Island on Thursday, April 9, 2015
    Loved it, as it is classicly styled and of excellent quality, but it was simply too long and wide on my smallish frame, Regretfully returned...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Judy from Ohio on Sunday, April 5, 2015
    Throw is super soft to the touch, soothing to the eye in cream with pastel accent stripes and large enough to keep me covered in a chilly room. Just lovely.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Erin from PA on Tuesday, March 31, 2015
    Got two of these for wedding gifts for friends - I got the brown/grey/red one, which actually has a bit of a green hue that is not visible online, and the grey/mustard/lime one which has very soft colors. They are a bit thin but seem very warm. Very soft and not scratchy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sktt from philadelphia on Monday, March 30, 2015
    I tried this sweater on a whim in the coral color, and it is like wearing a gorgeous, soft, decadent blanket. It is really cozy and looks cute with leggings and a tighter top. Four stars instead of five since it is cut quite large - I think one could size down one size if available (I bought a small and am 5'7"/125 lbs, swimming in it a little, but am keeping it because so lovely).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sktt from philadelphia on Monday, March 30, 2015
    Johnstons anythings are such treat - pricey, but so worthwhile. This sweater is form fitting (small; 5'7' and 125 lbs), but not too tight. One could size up one size if a looser fit is desired. The sweater is decadently soft and surprisingly un-itchy. The hem stitch is quite pretty, and the 3/4 length sleeves are fun. The chartreuse green is beautiful, even more so in person than in the photo.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mtinnkeeper from Montana on Friday, March 27, 2015
    This scarf is no exception; I have a few Johnstons cashmere sweaters and I'm so pleased with this scarf. The weave is looser and lighter weight than the sweaters, making it a soft, snuggly scarf. The color, sort of twilight gray lavender, is a good year-around color and coordinates with almost anything (I was tired of wearing black!). Thrilled with this purchase from STP.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Luxury Lover from Arizona on Tuesday, March 24, 2015
    Yes, it is roomy, or oversized, as the ad says but it is comfortable, soft and makes one feel like a million bucks when wearing it. These cashmeres are the greatest. I wear mine with skinny pants or tights. Perfect.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Del from OR on Monday, March 23, 2015
    Soft and light and warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Del from Oregon on Sunday, March 22, 2015
    knit is luxurious, very light, but the style is a little strange - really LONG front drape - I'm tying the tails together, which probably isn't the way it was intended to wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Betty - used to be cold hands from Connecticut on Saturday, March 21, 2015
    These gloves are nice and warm and easy to slip on and off. They're really comfortable and I am very pleased with my purchase. Thank you!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from Massachusetts on Monday, March 16, 2015
    I bought this blanket as a gift, so I have not used it, but it was very attractive and seemed very nice. Fairly heavy, but soft. And as another reviewer mentioned, the tag calls it a 'rug', which is a little odd when it is supposed to be a gift of a throw blanket. But I am very pleased with it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cinnamoncali from chad's ford pa on Saturday, March 14, 2015
    i bought this a year ahead as a 50th anniv. gift. it is just lovely.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 2 Happy from California on Thursday, March 12, 2015
    This sweater is lovely. And it is so soft. I love cashmere and this is the nicest cashmere sweater I have ever owned.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lizzy from NY on Thursday, March 12, 2015
    Really love the color and feel when wearing or draping over my knees on chilly days or evenings.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lizzy from NY on Thursday, March 12, 2015
    cozy in bed or in shoes to ward off chill on colder days!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Retired MD from New Hampshire on Wednesday, March 11, 2015
    If you want a very high quality cashmere sweater that will last for years if well cared for this it the one to buy. The construction is superb and the feel of the fabric ... well let's just say it is as sensual like a caress. If your size is not immediately available just keep returning because the stock is refreshed often. There is even an option to be notified by email when that happens. Treat yourself royally and get one. You will not be disappointed.
  • Reviewed by Wendy502 from North Carolina on Friday, March 6, 2015
    Simple knit gloves, but the cashmere is top drawer & substantial - a quality product. The mustard color is delightful, but not crazy. I wear these every day in the cold, and they do a fantastic job of keeping my hands warm (better than lined leather gloves).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JeanP from Pennslvania on Thursday, March 5, 2015
    A lovely, soft, warm, long, casual scarf. Long enough to wrap around the neck and stay in place.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Onechancetosay from South Dakota on Wednesday, March 4, 2015
    Keeps my neck and chest warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ADK HighPeakSeeker from Philadelphia, PA on Tuesday, March 3, 2015
    I was really impressed by the quality of this classic Fair Isle hat. The wool is super-soft and luxurious feeling, and the intricate design is perfect, with know flaws of any kind. In person the hat is even more striking than the photos, as the reddish-pink accents in the design really "pop." I would note that the wool is lightweight, and because of this, and the fact that it's unlined, it might not be appropriate for extreme winter sports - but it's perfect for anything anything else.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dimako from Upstate NY on Tuesday, March 3, 2015
    Very nice sweater, great quality. This is my second one, I bought similar one earlier in different color. Right to size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anonymous from Rhode Island on Sunday, March 1, 2015
    I bought two of these sweaters. Both are very soft, very thick and very warm cashmere. Both are very slightly short in the arms for me, which isn't a deal breaker but isn't ideal either. I bought the Moss and the Heath colors. The Moss seemed darker in person than on my screen and is a very rich and vibrant color. The Heath seemed lighter in person than on my screen, and is a vapid and unappealing color. It's too much hassle to send back, and I'm worried that the other color in my size might not be available if I do, so I'm dealing with it by accessorizing with colorful scarves. Overall, a great deal for a very high quality cashmere.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jacob from New york on Saturday, February 28, 2015
    I've bought 5 sweaters. The first is the real Johnston cashmere. The rest are not the same label and definitely not the same fit and quality. I returned them.
    Very disappointing ;)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jacob from New york on Saturday, February 28, 2015
    Excellent product!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 100 »
  • 1-30 of 2988 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;