The inherent luxury of pure Scottish cashmere is borne out in every garment that arrives from the legendary mills of Johnstons of Elgin - a centuries-old family firm doing business in the far North of Scotland since 1797. Using the finest cashmere and superfine wools in the world, Johnstons processes its fibers in a rare "vertical mill" system, where all of the dyeing, spinning, weaving and finishing are carefully controlled on site. Johnstons produces a range of cloth, knitwear and home furnishings at this historic plant - products that are probably best known for their irres ... Learn more about Johnstons of Elginistible softness to the touch. The secret, Johnstons believes, is in the finishing, a process still enhanced by the super soft, clear water from nearby River Lossie. ... Less
Average Rating based on 2799 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 94 »
  • 1-30 of 2799 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Selective shopper from Oregon on Thursday, September 18, 2014
    Another great product offered at a fantastic price
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Selective shopper from Oregon on Thursday, September 18, 2014
    Always pleased to find cashmere at an awesome price
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wayne the dog trainer from Ohio on Tuesday, September 16, 2014
    excellent product, construction and material. also a great value
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Winter Style Seeker from Columbus on Thursday, September 11, 2014
    Johnstons of Elgin makes a high quality product and STP makes purchasing its products even more enticing. It is a beautiful scarf and one of several Johnstons scarves I now own, again, thanks to STP. It is great to be able to vary my look with just a change of an accent piece.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lorraine934 from Marion, MA on Saturday, September 06, 2014
    I was expecting to do a quick try-on and return of this because I wasn't sure it would be feminine enough (based on model and one other reviewer's comment that these are menswear) and the color (beige) seemed off, but for a nice cashmere v-neck it was worth the try. I got it and love it. It looks better on than in the box, and the color will look great with black. A surprising winner.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RidgerRunner from Knoxville, TN on Friday, September 05, 2014
    Fit is good and are comfortable, keeps your wrist warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sierra Shopper from Idaho on Wednesday, September 03, 2014
    Soft and cozy, well made and very pretty. I have small hands and wrists and these fit well, not bulky or baggy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tejana from NY on Friday, August 29, 2014
    This scarf was an amazing on sale purchase. The merino wool is so soft and drapes well, i.e., it isn't a stiff wool. Weave is tight so scarf won't catch on things and pull as some loosely woven scarves do. The brown scarf as pictured is primarily chocolate-ish brown (not dark, dark brown) with secondary colors of orange, gold-ish yellow, and almost fuchsia pink that appear in about equal amounts. No one of the secondary colors seems to over shadow the others so you could use scarf with any of those colors in rest of your outfit. Scarf has a medium weight. It is light enough to wear with a sweater and substantive enough to use as scarf with a coat in cooler weather. I am very impressed with quality of Johnstons product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ana from Virginia on Thursday, August 28, 2014
    This is a wonderfully soft and luxurious throw. The cashmere is of the highest quality, as it is to be expected from all of the Johnstons of Elgin Mill's products. After I received this one, I order one more because of the excellent value.
  • Reviewed by MaliMals from San Francisco on Sunday, August 24, 2014
    I was afraid by the looks it would be a bit itchy because my face is sensitive to wool, but this is so soft and non-irritating. Really beautiful and a good, big size to keep me warm in winter. I'd definitely consider getting a throw by Johnstons of Elgin if there's another great sale. Worth the money!
  • Reviewed by zhen huang from la on Sunday, August 24, 2014
    Very good experience, it is recommended
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RaymondC from PA on Thursday, August 21, 2014
    Perhaps not the densest wool, but functional.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Del the Bear from Southern California on Thursday, August 14, 2014
    I did enjoy the feel of material and light weight. This is definitely a quality item. The length could have been longer, and the width was a bit narrow than I expected. For the price, I expected a bit more material. I returned the scarf.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Driver1 from PA on Monday, August 11, 2014
    I bought a few of these same throws a few years back. I recently bought one more as a gift. They are the same size, but half as thick and the fringes on the edges are skinny and look like they will not wear well. Disappointed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mudmom from Boston on Sunday, August 10, 2014
    This is the softest throw I've ever felt. This is a amazingly luxurious item. It feels like there's silk in the wool. I'm a little nervous about using it - afraid it will get dirty, afraid wool moths will eat it, but once it gets colder, I'm sure I'll be wrapped up in it all the time. Great product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JS from British Columbia on Thursday, August 07, 2014
    Nice fall colors in this high quality luxurious scarf from Johnstons. Suitable for men or women. Soft and drapes nicely.
  • Reviewed by Zoroaster from Ohio on Sunday, August 03, 2014
    Perfect weight for golf or knocking around or wearing under a sport coat. After the first order arrived, I liked it so much that I bought another. I ordered the same size as the several Johnston cashmere sweaters that I already own, and the fit was spot on.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mainely Leahy from Maine on Thursday, July 31, 2014
    Johnston of Elgin wovens (cashmere and merino) are of the same quality as those like N Peal cashmere....only they aren't marketed as deliberately. Lovely and soft. Only reason for 4 stars over 5 is that I wish this style was a tad longer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RuralGrl from San Francisco on Monday, July 28, 2014
    Johnstons woolens always get my attention. Have never been disappointed. Got this on for a gift, and she's delighted with the colors and softness, and because it's long enough to wrap nicely.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by yasu from Sydney on Monday, July 28, 2014
    This scarf is very soft and good quality at a very reasonable price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Billbo from Ohio on Friday, July 25, 2014
    Pure luxury. Pure comfort. Now I know how Linus must have felt.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Melu from Dallas on Monday, July 21, 2014
    I have bought several Johnstons of Elgin lambswool throws over the years, and while this one is pretty and soft, it is also noticeable thinner and lighter than most of the others ones I have. Whether this is just one blanket or whether the quality is declining in general I don't know but knowing the thickness of my other throws I cannot give this a full 5 stars.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Doc Dave from Missouri on Monday, June 30, 2014
    Excellent sweater. Color is rich and material is a top quality cashmere, supply and thick.
  • Reviewed by Dandy like a Dandelion from Texas on Monday, June 23, 2014
    1. The higher the gauge number, the finer (as in “thinner”) the yarn. Gauge reflects how many stitches it takes to knit (usually) a 10 cm wide pattern; the thinner the yarn, the more stitches are required. This has nothing to do with softness of a yarn. This cardigan, being of 21-gauge, is a thin, lightweight sweater (nothing to be considered for -20F winters but something to be enjoyed for layering in +60F).
    2. Johnstons of Elgin, through centuries of manufacturing, has earned its reputation as a maker of world’s finest cashmeres for a reason: its yarns are superior to others’. While, at first, this sweater may not resemble the softness in touch of the Chinese cashmere and it feels more like merino wool, that’s a good thing! Once you wash this JofE sweater (BTW wash it only by hand or in a true hand-wash cycle in lukewarm water with very delicate detergents and lie it flat to dry), these long strands of yarn will bloom afterwards (“blooming” is a knitting term for threads to loosen up, open up in a wash) giving you the softness expected from cashmere. Now, you can enjoy wearing (and washing) JofE sweaters for 10, even 20 years with them continue to look fine throughout the years, not pilling up, not stretching, not fading. Try doing that with lower-end cashmere – you’ll understand and appreciate the reasons why Johnstons of Elgin has the reputation it has.
    3. I think that these cardigans are made true to size – I’m speaking only about size XS and S, I don’t know how M, L, etc. measure. I’m 34”-25”-35” in chest, waist and hips respectively (5’4” and 100 lb) and I favor size XS but I’m equally comfortable wearing these cardigans in size S as layering over a blouse, etc.
    4. Colors are somewhat off from what they appear on Sierra’s site; midnight blue hints on gray-ink, sapphire is more of a jade (nothing of the purplish navy in it, unfortunately for me), marine is heathery strong aqua/watery color, and sand is simply the best: it’s a delicate camel color.
    5. I couldn’t be more thankful to Sierra for making these Johnstons of Elgin sweaters available at great discounts. 5***** for Sierra and 5***** for these JofE cardigans.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GeorgiaGirl from Georgia on Monday, June 09, 2014
    Of all the things I've ordered from STP, this is hands down my favorite. Although it's summer, I've already used it a bit as I get cold easily, and it feels like wrapping myself in a cloud. That's gonna feel especially awesome this winter when I'm freezing my butt off.

    I needed a new throw for the couch anyway. Mine was a cheap acrylic that had definitely seen better days. This matches the couch perfectly and the quality is top notch. Best part? Getting this baby for $287, an absolute STEAL for what it is! Yeah, almost $300 for a throw seems ridiculous at first glance, but when it's 100% cashmere from Scotland and retails for $1000 ... um, yeah, I'll take it! I mean, a top-quality SWEATER is usually what you'd pay for what I got this huge blanket for!

    Bottom line, STP is the No. 1 place for the top-quality cashmere at unreal prices! Thanks STP!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ilovethehunt! from San Jose, Ca on Thursday, June 05, 2014
    I purchased two sweaters, one in black and the other navy, in XXL. I'm so glad that size was available! Turtleneck sweaters are always a problem for me because I come from the "big neck family" and most T-necks are too tight. By the end of the day, I feel nearly strangled. The extra bit of size helps, even though the rest of the sweater is generous. The cashmere is soft and I look forward to wearing this garment the the cooler months.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by djkento88 from Maryland on Thursday, May 29, 2014
    On May 15, I ordered a Johnstons of Elgin Cashmere Sweater as a gift for my niece. It was on sale for 311.97 from an original price of close to 800. The next day, this sweater was offered at a price which was reduced by 48 dollars. I called up customer service to see whether I would be able to get this better price. The helpful representative went to the effort of refunding me 48 dollars. I am extremely pleased with the service which I received. Since this item is a gift, I wll not be able to say much on wear ability, but the quality is outstanding and the feel of the material indicates a first class quality item. I am sure that my niece will appreciate this item when I give it to her for her birthday the coming winter.
  • Reviewed by skt from philadelphia on Friday, May 23, 2014
    Johnstons of Elgin has made wonderful cashmere for decades. Like their sweaters and scarves, this blanket is very well made and of excellent quality. It is medium-heavy weight cashmere and not at all itchy. The dot pattern is more subtle in person than it appears in the photos, which is nice. We bought the duck egg blue (a pleasant spa blue/aqua), then went back for the oatmeal one (a pale beige/neutral) because the quality was so lovely. These are pricey, but the STP coupons make these a very good value! The size is very generous and perfect for curling up with a good book on a cold night. Throws look great on a couch or chair or folded at the end of a bed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cape codder from cape cod on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    Drapes and flows beautifully, lovely fabric, subtle and neutral but not boring or dowdy....wish I hadn't gotten the last one, I'd buy more for friends.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Teton view from Jackson, WY on Monday, May 19, 2014
    Great quality, fits medium size well, my favorite sweaters.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 94 »
  • 1-30 of 2799 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;