Customer Reviews Of:
Jonathan Michael Camel Hair Coat - Polished (For Women)

Overstock fabric. Jonathan Michael's polished camel hair coat is a study in the beauty of simplicity. The luster and plush feel of polished camel hair is a result of a special finishing (polishing) of the fabric.

Average Rating based on 121 reviews 4.504132 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5
  • Reviewed by Business Traveler from Atlanta on Saturday, December 21, 2013
    I love this coat. Classic style. Warm without being heavy. Fits beautifully, yet is comfortable over suits and bulky sweaters.
  • Reviewed by Evelyn from Atlanta, GA on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    This coat is a classic! In cold weather, it's invaluable. The fit allows for wearing a suit underneath and the length keeps you warm in chilly weather. Perhaps the only thing that could improve it, would be if it was double-breasted. However, I'm more than pleased with this style, material, size, length, and price!
    Arrived as promised, no problem.
  • Reviewed by Summitgirl from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    I just re ceived this coat and am love the fit and feel of this camel hair coat. It is warm and fits true to size and very good looking.
    I would highly recommend this coat.
  • Reviewed by Pet Nurse from Kentucky on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    I ordered this coat for my mother who wanted a classic camelhair coat. This one is perfect! Fabric is beautiful. Construction is great. I have not a bad thing to say about it.
  • Reviewed by MS from Toronto, Ontario on Monday, November 4, 2013
    I am 5'3" and 122 lb and got petite 2 and it fits perfectly. It fits so well that I am considering getting other coats of the same brand and size. Overall length is good - not too long but long enough, hangs as it should, sleeve length is just right and it is thin but warm and no back vent is a definite plus as it increases the insulation.

    It is only 50% camel but rest of the blend is also warm and because it is a blend it will not wear out too soon and will not wrinkle easily as 100% camel would. Best of all it is very beautiful. Living in Canada I own plenty of thick and functional outerwear but this is the dressy one for special occasions.
  • Reviewed by Snowbird from md on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    This is the second coat I have purchased at Sierra Trading Post. I have never been disappointed. The material is beautiful and the tailoring fits like a glove--no alterations required! I love this coat
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cynthia from So. San Francis on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    I ordered my usual size, and it just seemed too big all over. But, I did not like the strap running underneath the coat between the lining and the outer fabric that is supposed to hold the shoulders in their proper position. I think it's a good coat, but too large for me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Saluki from Indiana on Saturday, February 2, 2013
    I love this coat. The first time I wore it out to a party, as I was leaving and saying goodbye, my friends stopped, stood back and immediately started complimenting me on my new coat. It is not the warmest coat I own, but by far the classiest. Excellent for formal occasions and work.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SPol from Southern NJ on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    I purchased this coat to wear on a special weekend out of town. I knew I would need something that was good-looking enough to wear out to high-end restaurants and to the theater, as well as warm and comfortable enough to wear all day as we traveled around NYC. This coat was a perfect choice. It is easy to wear, warm and soft, and really nice looking. One thing that was a particular surprise is how deep the pockets are, I could suggle my hands in and they were completely warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pianodoc from Santa Fe, NM on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    This is exactly the classic dressy long coat I wanted to replace my worn 10-year-old wool one. The camel hair is so soft and luxurious,and STP has absolutely the best prices.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by restonite from Reston, Va. on Monday, January 14, 2013
    I love the finish on the coat-whatever lands on it brushes away very easily.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lipag from New York on Sunday, January 13, 2013
    Unfortunately, I returned the coat through the mail yesterday. The coat is beautiful but I looked like a football player as my shoulders looked very broad.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Barbsboys2 from Greenwich, CT on Friday, January 4, 2013
    Nice classic coat!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Goochiegrl from Philadelphia, PA on Friday, January 4, 2013
    A beautiful coat! Incredible price for the quality. Gorgeous sheen to coat. Fits well. Great for nights out, special occassions, dressing up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BARGAIN HUNTER from CHICAGO on Tuesday, December 18, 2012
    GREAT DRESS UP COAT.HARD TO FIND ANYWHERE ELSE.--AND A GREAT BARGAIN
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dorothy from New York on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    The understated beauty of this well-tailored coat, from fabric to style, is stunning. It shows fine workmanship and attention to detail. It lends itself to multiple uses and will never go out of style. It's a classic. Wearing it makes me feel good about myself. I'll treasure it !
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DC Metro Lady from Rockville, MD on Monday, December 3, 2012
    Fabric and construction absolutely highest quality, super soft, and color is very beautiful...a steal for the price. Unfortunately, the fit is very generous and the lack of shape/seaming made me look like a pudgy little man. I'm 5'3", middle-aged, and thick in the middle, and this coat has a soft drape and hangs straight from the shoulders, with no shape-flattering seams front or back. Could have easily gone down a whole size from my dress/pants size and have room for a sweater or blazer. Sadly returned, wish that it liked me as much as I loved it.
  • Reviewed by Prisca from Vancouver, BC, Canada on Thursday, November 1, 2012
    Really useful coat, the structure of the fabric makes it warmer than some reviewers appear to expect. Can be dressed up or down, with a fur collar or more casual scarf, even belted. The colour is good, not a weak camel but a warmer light gold.

    Buy your size if you mean to wear bulkier things under this, otherwise get one size down. Myself though only 5 ft. 3 ins. I appreciate the standard length, it covers all my skirts, and I do not find the sleeves too long.

    All in all I do not mind the 50% extra cost for Canadian tax and duty.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Very versatile, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Tax Plus Duty Was High
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Colour Is Rich Pale Gold, Comfortable, Flattering, Goes Over A Bulky Jacket, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wally from Cranston, RI on Thursday, October 18, 2012
    Classic elegance
    • Best Uses: Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Savvy Senior from Brooklyn, NY on Wednesday, May 2, 2012
    This coat is perfect for early Spring or Autumn when I'm tired of dark colors. The camel hair is soft & the coat is beautifully made. For warmth - good to 45 degrees. It's also long enough for those of us who want to cover our knees. I am 5'8" & it hits at mid calf. I was, however, somewhat disappointed that there is not the usual hand-picked stitches or top stitching details that are generally found on coats of this type. That would have greatly ampped-up the styling. So I added my own. I will also probably add better buttons, maybe mother of pearl. Other wise perfect all purpose coat for both day & night use.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Church, Daytime dress, Special Occasions
    • Cons: Plain styling
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Mid-calf length, Nice Color, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pyewacket from New England on Wednesday, April 18, 2012
    THis coat is lovely! I had purchsed another Jonathan Michael coat in black a couple of years ago, and love it because it is lightweight but very warm. When I wanted a camel hair, this brand was where I looked first. I'm tall, but thin, and the size 4 is perfect, with enough room for a sweater or light jacket if necessary. There are a few wrinkles, but if I can't get them out I'll have the dry cleaners' steam them. This will be a great addition to my winter wardrobe; it will be worn with everything from jeans and cords to dress wool slacks and skirts. The price was such a nice surprise considering the quality of the coat.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Med City Traveller from Rochester, MN on Friday, February 17, 2012
    When the package arrived my husband sent me an email. I told him to open it and let me know what he thought. The first word was "soft". It is perfect for dress as it is not too heavy. It is styled for a slim body although my wider hips fit fine with it buttoned. It truly is a classic that won't go out of style. I live in Minnesota so I like the long length but I wouldn't wear it if it were below zero and I needed to be outside for an extended time. It's designed for style, not excessive warmth.
    • Best Uses: Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Soft fabric, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sue from QuadCities, IA on Saturday, January 28, 2012
    I would wear this coat all winter long, to work and out on the town! It is a very soft cashmere/merino blend with a touch of nylon for wear. It is very classic. I do think the size 16 is a little on the small side.
    • Best Uses: Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Cons: I thought the size 16 was, Not Water Resistant
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lana from NC on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
    The fabric it too thin and it is no spesial layer betwen fabric and lining. So its look poor but it will ok for every day.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear to School, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Wrinkles Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Nice Color
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nelly B. from Naperville, IL on Tuesday, January 10, 2012
    Classic versatile top coat. Bought one a couple of years ago and loved it...then lost weight and was so bummed to discover the coat I loved was now way too big. Was thrilled to find it again in my new size and at a ridiculously low price. This is a classic that you will wear for years to come with everything from jeans to dresses. Dress it up or down with choice of scarves, gloves, and even belts! Great fabric (soft, rich-looking, not scratchy) and warm for it's weight. This is not going to be the coat you wear on a frigid winter day, but it is perfectly comfortable between 20 and 45 degrees. Although it would look better if it had a kick pleat, the lack thereof actually makes it warmer. May run long overall for shorter gals...but I'm tall with long arms, and this is close to about right. If you're particular about sleeve length, these sleeves can be easily lengthened up to about an inch max.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Proud Husband from Tennessee on Thursday, December 22, 2011
    I read all the reviews. The coat arrived and exceeded my expectations. The critical reviews are overstated. This is a great coat for the price. Heck, great coat period.
    • Best Uses: Date Night/Night Out, Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Blocks Wind, Comfortable, High Quality, Nice Color, Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Twocoasts from Mid-Hudson valley on Thursday, December 15, 2011
    This is a beautiful dress coat, formal enough in black for work or evenings out. The size 10 was perfect, with just enough room for a jacket or sweater underneath without being too big over lighter clothes (for reference, I'm 5'3", 150 lbs, busty, and 10 is my usual size). Sleeves are a bit long for me but that's typical since I have slightly shorter than average arms. The cut is very flattering, with a long, lean line. The fabric appears very "finished" and plush, without the slightly hairy quality wool outerwear fabrics can sometimes have. My only complaint is common to most wool fabric coats: this is not likely to be warm enough for truly bitter cold days, at least not without significant layering. But it's the nicest looking of several dress coats I tried, so this is the one I kept.
    • Best Uses: Special Occasions, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Liz from Eugene, OR on Monday, December 12, 2011
    Feels great! Probably not the best for temps below 25 degrees.
    • Best Uses: Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Flattering, Nice Color, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RF from Greenville, SC on Monday, December 5, 2011
    This is a wonderful coat. A true classic in design.The fabric is beautiful. I live in the upstate of South Carolina and need a coat of this type only a few weeks out of the year which is why I chose the classic design. I look forward to weaing this coat for many yaers!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night/Night Out, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Flattering, High Quality, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dresser from arlington va on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
    looks lovely - can't wait for the right size!
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5