Aussie-inspired Kakadu hats and outerwear have been tackling rugged conditions presented by the Australian Outback - and similarly unforgiving environments - for 25 years. Their modern-day Microwax® cloth mimics the oil-soaked sailcloth of the early 1800’s that kept drovers well protected from the wind and rain. This super tight cotton weave keeps even ocean winds at bay, while the crystalline structure allows perspiration and moisture to escape. Add to that the water-repellent coating and you'll shed water as easily as a duck in a rainstorm. Highly functional ... Learn more about Kakadu Australiastrong> hats and outerwear are as ruggedly stylish as country they celebrate. ... Less
Average Rating based on 4 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 126 »
  • 1-10 of 1258 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PC from NY on Thursday, May 28, 2015
    I should have read the review before I placed an order. I bought L, but it felt like S. It only looks good from the picture. I had to return it.
    This brand cuts smaller than usual. Another brand cut out from the list!
  • Reviewed by Lindsay from Chicago on Friday, May 08, 2015
    All the reviews and the product page say this runs small, but that must refer to the number size, because I usually wear an XS (0-2), and I was swimming in their XS (6). Had to return. But the quality seems good.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hnlinsbn from South Bend, IN on Monday, April 27, 2015
    Basic outback hat that fits well and as expected. I'm not looking to mahe a statement; just keeping the head and face protected from the elements.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Karen in Maine from Maine on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
    The XS is probably closer to an XXS at the top, but the length is longer - like an XS. It's a great looking shirt, & I can't wait until the weather warms up to wear it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Annie Oakley from Western CO on Wednesday, April 08, 2015
    Hat fits well but needs some sort of protection for those who are bald from the sun under the mesh
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pm from new mexico on Monday, April 06, 2015
    I measured my head before choosing the size, but must have done it wrong. This great hat arrived but didn't fit. I was then so disappointed that there were no other sizes available. So I ended up paying a bunch of shipping costs with nothing to show for it.
  • Reviewed by NC Gal from North Carolina on Thursday, April 02, 2015
    I ordered this as a work shirt. I normally wear a M, got a L, and it was too small in the bust and across the back of the shoulders (no flex room), so have returned it for an XL. The snaps are very hard to close, but I suppose they will loosen up with use and at least they won't pop open when unintended. It is well-constructed and I like the embroidery detail.

    The color is absolutely NOT as shown. It's a dark loden green (and is labeled "Loden" on the tag), not the weathered tan pictured. The fabric has a waxy finish, but it says it's 100% cotton, so I am curious to see how it looks after being washed. I expected the fabric to be heavier than it is, but it's very tightly woven and should work well as a work shirt in warm or hot weather, which is what I bought it for. The embroidery is tan, as shown in the picture.

    The fit is strange, too, not at all as pictured, but the surprise was that my husband liked it so well on me that he wants me to wear it into town, not for work! It's more shaped than I expected from the photo, which he likes just fine! The sleeves are a normal length, which is too long for me, but I expect to just fold back the cuffs, as I often have to do. (I am only 5'0" tall).

    Overall, I hope to be able to wear the replacement shirt, but won't know until I get it and try it out. It hurts to have to pay shipping three times, and I will definitely be more cautious in the future when ordering online.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Neil from New Mexico on Tuesday, March 24, 2015
    Sure the price was right but the lack of quality was obvious. Certainly no where near my hat purchases of Outback Trading.
  • Reviewed by Shelly G from Prescott AZ on Thursday, March 19, 2015
    This hat is made of a treated, stiff canvas. It's very lightweight. It runs small. I have a small head and ordered a medium and had to send it back as it was so tight. A large fit well (21" head). If you pack it, be very careful of the brim--any wrong bend will alter its shape and render it unattractive. It seems to have an Australian look to it.
  • Reviewed by gulfbreeze from FL on Friday, March 13, 2015
    It's no surprise this hat has no sweat band when the pic shows through the ventilation it doesn't have one (or at least it would be impossible to have one of any consequence). But for the most part, I don't notice any difference (and I shave my head so no hair to buffer any perspiration). Perhaps that makes the lack of a sweatband on this Kakadu less noticeable (and perhaps better) for me since I simply get more air circulation to my scalp.

    Also note that while the poly fabric may be UPF 50+, it is for certain the ventilating fabric on the sides of the crown is not even UPF 50 since the ventilating fabric covers approx. 50% of surface area at most. A UPF 50 rating translates to no more than 1/50 of UV rays penetrate the fabric (meaning ~98% of UV rays are being blocked, and ~2% of those rays are transmitted through the fabric). Kakadu's advertising of UPF 50+ means they claim less than 2% UV transmission. So since the ventilating fabric covers perhaps only 50% of surface area, effectively such fabric has a UPF rating of ~0.

    Also note that this minimal UPF rating applies to ANY hat that has ventilating fabric with substantial holes.

    Given this hat's limitations, I use it for specific applications and it works ok. Living in brutal FL sunshine it is definitely the last hat I would ever choose for wearing on mid-summer days. Unlike some other reviewers, mine came true to size in a Large.

  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 126 »
  • 1-10 of 1258 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;