Customer Reviews Of:
Kakadu Coolongatta Vintage Leather Hat - Welt Band, Shapeable Brim (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Made with rugged vintage leather and UPF 50+ sun protection, the Kakadu Coolongatta hat provides excellent coverage and weather resistance during outdoor adventure.

Average Rating based on 25 reviews 3.880000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Reviewed by lindono from TX on Saturday, March 8, 2014
    I LOVE this hat. Unfortunately, the only size left was a small. I have been able to wear small, especially in leathers that can have a bit of stretch. This wasn't even close. It's a small small. It also arrived with a flaw on the brim in the stitching. I would buy it in a heartbeat if I could find it in a M.
  • Reviewed by nm from phila on Tuesday, November 5, 2013
    the hat came with a bent wire, and not bent to form either, its like someone bent it at a hard angle and then sent it out. i could have lived with that but the hat fits weirdly when its on your head. maybe i have a tall head, but it just didnt pull down far eough to feel like that hat wasnt going to fall off with the smallest breeze. the leather was a nice quality though, if it had fit better and the wire wasnt bent i might have kept it.
  • Reviewed by RonBeau from DownEast NC on Friday, May 24, 2013
    Good design and construction. Typical of all Kakadu hats. Will last forever.
  • Reviewed by PalominoPony from Suffolk, VA on Friday, March 15, 2013
    We ordered a small to fit 6 7/8 head. This won't even cover the top of our head. Looks more link we would need XL. Returning.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hammond Beans from Riverside, CA on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    Purchased this for backpacking/hiking. Nothing fancy here- just a good casual hat. If the leather is on the stiff side, the application of a little oil will restore suppleness and give the hat a nice, lived-in look, lest you be taken for a greenhorn. Wire in the brim allows it to be shaped; a good feature, but be careful as it will kink readily. Like a previous reviewer, I initially ordered a size XL and it was too small to fit, exchanged it for a XXL and found it almost too large, so sizing appears to be something of an issue in this range.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Will the casual from Gainesville,Ga. on Wednesday, November 21, 2012
    It is light weight stylish hat.I enjoy wearing it a lot.I have ordered another 1 but a rougher look.I am into hats again.
  • Reviewed by Sonora from Southern Arizona on Wednesday, July 25, 2012
    This hat arrived with a paint blob on its top, a handful of black marks scattered all around, and several scratches or abrasions as well. It's not just a closeout, it's a very bad second or preowned hat. So beware of what's left in the stockpile with respect to these hats. Otherwise, it looks nice, but it ran way big. I usually take a L or a 7 3/8 in hats, and I am wallowing in this one. It's either a missized oddity, OR these hats run huge. Needless to say, I will ship it back and complain about its multitude of defects.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Came wBlack Paint on It, Came with Abrasions, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Practical
    • Pros: Durable, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bez the cowboy from Manchester on Wednesday, May 23, 2012
    EXCELLENT HAT GREAT PRICE
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Trendy
    • Pros: Adjustable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mr. I love camp'n from Annapolis, MD on Tuesday, May 8, 2012
    Great hat for everyday casual use. Good material, vary well made. Lot smaller than listed.
    • Best Uses: Camping, Casual Wear, Evening
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Practical, Stylish
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by momma jo from louisiana on Tuesday, May 8, 2012
    The under side of the brim is unfinished, not smooth - wish it would be. Like the color and is comfortable. Ok for knock about wear.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Not as finished as looks
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish, Trendy
    • Pros: COLOR, Comfortable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave from SF Bay Area on Saturday, April 7, 2012
    I always order my Kakuda hats in sixe 2XL because I have a 73/4 size head. This specific hat runs about 1/2 size larger than the other Kakuda Hats I own. I do like the fact that the brim is shapeable.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Pros: Adjustable, Comfortable, Durable
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by darb from Flagstaff Az on Monday, March 26, 2012
    cool hat for the outdoors.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bif from central pa on Sunday, March 25, 2012
    suites it's purpose - wanted something to keep the rain off the knoggen. gave it a coat of oil inside and out bcause it seamed dry.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Cons: No welting inside
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Comfort-oriented
    • Pros: Good deal for the
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lukie from Rockville, MD on Monday, March 19, 2012
    The efirt Hat came too small. Exchanged to a larger one, and is just right. Very well made leather hat! I love it!
    • Pros: Durable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Good ole hard working country girl from Phillips County, Arkansas on Wednesday, February 29, 2012
    I bought this hat for a friend of mine birthday!!! He loves it!
    • Best Uses: Daytime
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by junkman from mi on Saturday, February 4, 2012
    I bought two (2) of different styles both medium size. One was to big and the other to small. bummer
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Billy Bowlegs from The beautiful Shenandoah Valley of VA on Monday, January 30, 2012
    No major issues.
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kelcra from Georgia on Monday, January 30, 2012
    Great looking and well made
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mrs. Melons from Salt Lake City, UT on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
    This seems like it was sized to fit a child. I have a small head, so I ordered the small, but it was WAY too small. I don't think a medium would have fit, either. The material (oiled leather) was durable and attractive, and the shapeable brim was definitely a plus. I had to send it back because of the size. Great price!
    • Best Uses: Daytime, Keeping sun off, Travel
    • Cons: Poor Fit, WAY small
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Outdoorsy, Practical, Stylish
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Durable, Leather, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kelley from Georgia on Wednesday, January 18, 2012
    Great gift
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BB from Charlotte,nc on Saturday, December 24, 2011
    Could NOT put it on,too small!!
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Susan from Worcester, MA on Wednesday, November 30, 2011
    Got these hats for my grandsons for Christmas. They love playing cowboy, and I know they will be thrilled with them. Great hat for the price.
    • Best Uses: Daytime, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Stylish
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jake from Ann Arbor, MI on Wednesday, November 9, 2011
    Had to treat the band with oil several times before the hat was wearable.
    • Best Uses: Daytime, Night time, Travel
    • Cons: Sticky icky band
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Trendy
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Nice leather, Shape-able rim
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Reviewed by Ray from Florissant, CO on Friday, October 21, 2011
    Usually order hat size around 7 1/2. This hat seems just a tad too large, wish I had bought one size smaller but still is wearable so I didn't bother to return. Shapeable brim works well and I can tailor the hat to my own style. Inner felt brow panel has holes for adding your own draw string (which should have been included anyway)
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by raiffe from ON.CA on Tuesday, August 16, 2011
    nice looking hat very light weight for a lether hat well made and comfortble
    • Best Uses: Daytime, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Sort by: