Kakadu Soaka Billy Hat - Microsuede (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Perfect for fishing, hiking, hunting and more, Kakadu's versatile Soaka Billy hat features durable microsuede, UPF 50+ sun protection and large grommets for ventilation.

Average Rating based on 21 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 21 reviews
  • Reviewed by Eddie from Sarasota, FL on Friday, December 21, 2012
    Tried to follow the sizing info on the maker's website and here. The hat ended up being a bit too small but wearable in my case. The nature of the material is such that I don't think stretching it will be possible.

    I've made use of the soaking feature which is useful.

    It doesn't mind how much you crush it - it returns to it's proper shape.
  • Reviewed by mapleknot from Virginia on Friday, September 21, 2012
    I am a 7&1/4 hat size, usually a medium by ordinary human standards (We are not a family of coneheads). This hat arrived and I was excited for it. Not only did the hat not fit (size M)...it wasn't even close. My wife tried it on, again way too small. My 11 year old tried it...very tight fit. Finally our 9 y/o got it to fit well. She likes it and it was only ten bucks so we'll keep it, but what a huge disapointment. The hat was at least 1-1.5" too small. I gave it 2 stars for although it was small, it appears pretty well made, and it does look nice. Order AT LEAST one size larger, maybe two... and dont pay more than $10.
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WA64 from Australia on Wednesday, August 29, 2012
    I like a broad brimmed hat for outdoor activity like hiking. This suits hiking in that it is reasonably light, crushable, and has a drawstring.

    The brim is narrower at the sides than it is front and back. Not quite as wide as a typical Aussie hat. It would weigh more than the bush hats sold by the specialist hiking equipment brands, It is slightly better styled than some of them but it will never win any fashion competition.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Pros: Durable
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anti-fog from San ramon, ca on Monday, August 27, 2012
    This hat was 1/2 size too small and decided to get the next size up. The hat is very durable, i can fold it up and stuff it into my backpack and when i pull it out it regains its shape. I use it for hiking and when working in the yard. Great hat and would purchase again.
    • Best Uses: Travel
    • Cons: Not Adjustable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Comfort-oriented
    • Pros: Durable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by sgb from South Mississippi on Wednesday, August 01, 2012
    My main reason for purchasing this hat was my desire for a "soakable" hat to wear while doing outside yardwork, and the price here on STP. I paid attention to the other reviews and ordered the XL. I have Tilley hats that fit great at 7-3/8. The Kakadu website lists their size L as 7-3/8 and 23". This hat in XL fits me just right and I measured inside the headband at 23.5", so I'm glad I got the XL. I wore it today for the first time in 100* Mississippi heat and it performed admirably. I did not hesitate to soak the hat in water to provide more cooling to my bald head. One thing that I am experimenting with is shaping the brim. It is fairly stiff and essentially flat. I prefer the front brim to dip toward my face a little. I tried curving the brim in place with the hat's chin cord overnight, but the brim reverted to its flat shape after some time. Tonight I tried saturating the hat with water with the brim in its favored shape and put it in the dryer placed on the shoe rack on high for 30-40 minutes. So far the curved brim has maintained a decent shape. I don't know yet if I'll need to do this some more, but so far so good. This hat won't take the place of my Tilleys for general wear, but will likely become my go-to yardwork hat as I like the ability to wet it down. It appears to be well-made and durable. I'm pleased with this purchase, and would buy it again, especially for the STP price.
    • Best Uses: Outdoors
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Pros: "Dunkable", Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alaska Bound from Camarillo, CA on Thursday, July 05, 2012
    We bought this hat for [$] and it doesn't come close to fitting my husband. Since it will cost $6 to return, we'll keep it and hope that one of the kids can wear it for Halloween.
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trenchdog from Norway on Monday, January 16, 2012
    Great hat for going fishing.
    • Cons: Not Adjustable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual, Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by shmo from kansas on Saturday, October 22, 2011
    Thought I critiqued this hat before. But let me say I have a small head and this hat is a medium and fits just fine so hat is too big as my head is too small. My head is 55 3/4 size as per measure device you get from panama hat measuring device.
    • Best Uses: Must wear can't pack, Travel
    • Cons: Looks unflatering
    • Describe Yourself: Bookish
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels full size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Carlos from Pasadena, Ca on Monday, October 17, 2011
    For less than 10 US - its an amazing deal - and it looks great. Had to exchange from medium size to extra large. Easy to pack as it goes flat. It was shipped in a big envelope, If I didn't know what it was, I'd never guessed it could be a hat.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Travel
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rommelrommel from Canada on Monday, October 17, 2011
    I picked this up because I like the full solid brim style of hat as opposed to the normal boonie hat. It's seemingly well made and I quite liked it. It's not great as a rainy weather hat although because it just soaks water up like crazy (as designed I guess) and it's far too small (I ordered a XL and would usually be a Large at most.

    I'm quite happy with it.
    • Best Uses: FISHING, Outdoors
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Hunter fisherman, Outdoors oriented
    • Pros: Cheap, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 21 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.