Kamik Blacktail Winter Pac Boots - Waterproof, Insulated (Men)

Closeouts. Comfortably endure brutal winter conditions with the technically advanced Kamik Blacktail winter pac boot. Inside the waterproof upper, a removable 8mm Zylex® liner wicks moisture, traps heat and reflects it back to the body.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark of the North from St. Paul, MN on Saturday, January 05, 2013
    I am pleased with the quality of the boots and they should serve me well snowshoeing, apres xc ski, and general navigation of our MN winters. However, I am grateful for the sage advice of other reviews: these run a full size small.
  • Reviewed by Snow Roamer from Sandpoint, ID on Saturday, December 29, 2012
    I ordered these boots in hopes of finding a good boot for winter hiking, snowshoeing, and snow camping. The lacing system seemed like it would hold my foot (and sock) in place much better than my old pacs. The felt (zylex) liner was also a big factor for me, as it's the only insulation type that really works for extended periods, dries quickly when its out of the boot, and can be worn like booties in a sleeping bag.
    However, when these boots arrived I immediately noticed two things; they are stiff, and they run a at least a full size too small. They are consistently small (length and volume), and felt similar to a new pair of ski or mountaineering boots buckled down too snug over the arch and forefoot. I would guess this is becuase the boot looks like its made with the same last/mold as the Patriot, which doesn't have a removable liner. I got these in a size 11 and held them up to my size 10 Sorels to find that these Kamiks were a little shorter. I did lace up the boots and wear them for about half an hour to try to figure out whether they would pack out or if they're just too small. I decided the latter was correct. I'd try them in a larger size but they're gone.
  • Reviewed by TheGearDaddy from North of I-80 on Tuesday, December 04, 2012
    This is not a Bad Boot, but they scared me off on a couple of fronts...

    I should have taken the "runs small" comments more seriously; I have a very low volume foot, yet these still felt tight straight off. I considered whether they might pack out like a good ski boot fit, but didn't want to chance that.

    First thing I do with any boot that has a liner is to... pull the liner. These came out with great effort, and getting them back in was almost enough trouble to throw them back in the box loose. If you don't typically pull the liners every night to dry them out, this issue might never come up; and with the WPB membrane, you migt well not. But the last pair of pac boots I bought came w/ two pair and I wore out the lot of 'em. For dry-footed types, it's probably a non-issue. For those of us whose feet sweat a lot, it felt like a deal-breaker in the making.

    While I had the liners out, I also noticed some slop in the fit of the inner bootie. This is fairly normal in a WP/breathable membrane boot, as stitching or gluing defeats the purpose of the membrane. But when forcing those liners back in, I couldn't get the inner bootie to smooth out, which felt like a blister waiting to happen. My intention was to wear these for still-hunting in snowy, rugged terrain, and these just felt like a bad bet.

    If your primary application is dog-walking or similar, short-term wearings - or maybe for sitting out in moderate cold such as a ballgame - you may well never notice the shortcomings that put me off on these; just order up a full size and make sure you get that inner bootie smoothed out to avoid hotspots.

    I guess overall, I could recommend them to a friend, though not one who's hard-core about winter use..
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snow sufflers paradice from Norway on Thursday, November 22, 2012
    The size seems to small at first. But after a few times of use the lining gives and it fit perfect. I would still recomend half to one size up to be used with thick winter socks.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Safari Dan from Sanint Charles, MO on Wednesday, November 14, 2012
    These boots were not what I was looking for. They seem like they would be great for long exposure to friged conditions. The liner seems very bulky and the boot was stiff. If you need a boot for long extended time in ice and snow I beleive these would do the trick. I would order a size up as the liner is about a half inch thick.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dougcat from New York, NY on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
    VERY warm boots.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Conservative
    • Pros: Comfortable, Stable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GAZ from Q town New Zealand on Sunday, July 29, 2012
    Great boot but would like to have extra insole under boot for extra insulation from cold floors.
    You will need to order 1.5 to 2 sizes larger.
    I'm a size 12 so ordered a 14. Good fit.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Looking Boot
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cpuwhiz from n. mn on Thursday, June 21, 2012
    looks like a quality product ; but sized way too small
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Conservative
    • Pros: Durable
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bigcoldfeet from Waukon, IA on Wednesday, June 13, 2012
    I was looking forward to moving snow next winter while wearing these boots and the Auclair heated mittens I got at the same time. Unfortunately these boots were way too small. The label said size 14 US, 48 Eur. I usually wear 13, sometimes 14 US. I have Born shoes size 47.5 and Ecco shoes size 47 that fit well. These Kamik boots cramped the big toe on both feet as soon as I put them on. I sent them back and hoped the boot was available in size 15 but didn't find it.
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pablo from Sacramento, California on Monday, May 28, 2012
    I had purchased the boots to go fly fishing this fall and Ilike the boots a lot. When ordering you may want to order 2 sizes larger because they tend to run a little small. I can't wait to go fishing in Yellow Stone in September.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Wet Weather
    • Pros: Breathes Well, Comfortable, Durable, Good Cushioning, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.