Katherine Barclay Boiled Wool Coat - Embroidered (For Women)

Closeouts. Women with a passion for art-to-wear will love Katherine Barclay's creatively styled coat in boiled wool -- distinguished by the graceful floral embroidery and unique, offset shaping darts that complement its curves.

  • Heathered grey fabric is plush and soft
  • Offset collar
  • Hidden snap front
  • Beautifully embroidered front placket and cuffs
  • Bell sleeves
  • Length: 37" (based on medium)
  • Fabric: 75% wool, 25% polyester
  • Care: Dry clean
  • Classic Fit
  • Made in China

Average Rating based on 19 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 19 reviews
  • Reviewed by LaReine from Virginia on Saturday, July 13, 2013
    I'll start by saying I bought this coat mainly to wear in the car in the winter, since my husband likes the cabin colder than I do. A single layer of wool, easy on, easy off, is exactly what I'm looking for. But I would never have paid full price for it and here's why:

    This really is a good looking coat, and is well-constructed, and the design details are darling but it is unlined. This wool blend is too scratchy not to be lined, and it would probably benefit from some interfacing to stiffen the fabric a bit.

    The fabric is not really woven (it may be, but it looks like it's felted with integrated interfacing. The weave (if it is a weave) is not tight. I really feel that if I were to pull on it, it would be permanently pulled out of shape, like an overstretched sweater. Another reason I think it's felted is that the bottom hem doesn't even have a hem! It is serged on the inside, and there are no markings whatsoever on the outside.

    I think this garment had a lot of promise, and since it is so beautifully designed, I think I will look for a local seamstress or tailor to add a lining and an extra button for me, because I have not seen a coat I so much liked the look of in some time.
  • Reviewed by Cassandra from Vancouver, BC on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    This is a decent quality of boiled wool and quite attractive, but it is more of a sweater than a coat. Fortunately one can flip the collar down to wear it indoors - the wool is scratchy if collar is worn up. The snaps are not ugly when it is worn open, although as mentioned by an earlier review, they do show.

    I am 5'10" and about 165 pounds, evenly distributed. The Large fits me perfectly.

    It has a few design flaws. 1-The bell sleeves are awkward for wearing indoors, and outdoors would compromise warmth. Some sort of a pleat or tuck could be put on the part of the cuff that does not have embroidery to narrow it down. 2- the snaps don't go all the way down so it either gapes, or just looks odd - seems to be meant to "swing" open from above the waist which is a dumb idea for a sweater that one puts on to be WARM. One extra snap is included and could be added to ameliorate this, but the hemline is slightly asymmetrical so needs realignment as well as added snaps, or buttons. Could also be worn with belt. 3 - Stupid on-seam pockets that are hard to get into and add useless bulk to the hips. They will be removed, or moved, or tacked forward, or something.

    It is pretty and will be worth putting a bit of time into.
  • Reviewed by Still Looking from Atlanta, GA on Tuesday, October 30, 2012
    Though it fits fine and I like its look when closed, this doesn't work for me for two reasons:

    1) Have to wear it snapped all the time because, otherwise, two ugly snaps show and it doesn't lay right.
    2) Wool is very itchy and it is very uncomfortable around my neck when all snapped up (yes, I am especially sensitive to wool).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by happy from san francisco on Wednesday, March 14, 2012
    fun to throw on when it is chilly. Fastenings don't go all the way down, flares open in the front. Makes my (size 6) butt look big....
    • Best Uses: Casual chilly weather, Daily Use
    • Cons: Doesn't close in front, Makes my butt look big
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great with jeans, Heavy sweater weight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mila from Houston on Wednesday, February 1, 2012
    I ordered size L. It was way too small. I could not even bring two sides close to each other
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Runs Small
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chef from Maryland on Tuesday, December 20, 2011
    I love boiled wool, but had to return the jacket. It didn't fit me well. My body is straight up and down and this jacket is for a more curvy person.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Work
    • Cons: Too cut in at waist
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by busy mom from silver spring MD on Friday, November 18, 2011
    I do love the design and the fit. It certainly is not suitable for a long walk in the cold.
    • Best Uses: Going Out
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New England SLP from Vermont on Tuesday, November 8, 2011
    This coat is perfect for New England fall weather! I get in and out of my car numerous times each day and this coat works really well since it's not heavy or bulky but really warm.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J. from Ontario, Canada on Monday, July 4, 2011
    I will wear this coat a lot. Love it; great fit; and it looks great. Love the embroidery.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alex from Melbourne Australia on Wednesday, May 4, 2011
    Pretty and light, but more cardigan than coat.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 19 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.