Katherine Barclay Boiled Wool Coat - Embroidered (For Women)

Closeouts. Women with a passion for art-to-wear will love Katherine Barclay's creatively styled coat in boiled wool -- distinguished by the graceful floral embroidery and unique, offset shaping darts that complement its curves.

  • Heathered grey fabric is plush and soft
  • Offset collar
  • Hidden snap front
  • Beautifully embroidered front placket and cuffs
  • Bell sleeves
  • Length: 37" (based on medium)
  • Fabric: 75% wool, 25% polyester
  • Care: Dry clean
  • Classic Fit
  • Made in China

Average Rating based on 19 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-19 of 19 reviews
  • Reviewed by LaReine from Virginia on Saturday, July 13, 2013
    I'll start by saying I bought this coat mainly to wear in the car in the winter, since my husband likes the cabin colder than I do. A single layer of wool, easy on, easy off, is exactly what I'm looking for. But I would never have paid full price for it and here's why:

    This really is a good looking coat, and is well-constructed, and the design details are darling but it is unlined. This wool blend is too scratchy not to be lined, and it would probably benefit from some interfacing to stiffen the fabric a bit.

    The fabric is not really woven (it may be, but it looks like it's felted with integrated interfacing. The weave (if it is a weave) is not tight. I really feel that if I were to pull on it, it would be permanently pulled out of shape, like an overstretched sweater. Another reason I think it's felted is that the bottom hem doesn't even have a hem! It is serged on the inside, and there are no markings whatsoever on the outside.

    I think this garment had a lot of promise, and since it is so beautifully designed, I think I will look for a local seamstress or tailor to add a lining and an extra button for me, because I have not seen a coat I so much liked the look of in some time.
  • Reviewed by Cassandra from Vancouver, BC on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    This is a decent quality of boiled wool and quite attractive, but it is more of a sweater than a coat. Fortunately one can flip the collar down to wear it indoors - the wool is scratchy if collar is worn up. The snaps are not ugly when it is worn open, although as mentioned by an earlier review, they do show.

    I am 5'10" and about 165 pounds, evenly distributed. The Large fits me perfectly.

    It has a few design flaws. 1-The bell sleeves are awkward for wearing indoors, and outdoors would compromise warmth. Some sort of a pleat or tuck could be put on the part of the cuff that does not have embroidery to narrow it down. 2- the snaps don't go all the way down so it either gapes, or just looks odd - seems to be meant to "swing" open from above the waist which is a dumb idea for a sweater that one puts on to be WARM. One extra snap is included and could be added to ameliorate this, but the hemline is slightly asymmetrical so needs realignment as well as added snaps, or buttons. Could also be worn with belt. 3 - Stupid on-seam pockets that are hard to get into and add useless bulk to the hips. They will be removed, or moved, or tacked forward, or something.

    It is pretty and will be worth putting a bit of time into.
  • Reviewed by Still Looking from Atlanta, GA on Tuesday, October 30, 2012
    Though it fits fine and I like its look when closed, this doesn't work for me for two reasons:

    1) Have to wear it snapped all the time because, otherwise, two ugly snaps show and it doesn't lay right.
    2) Wool is very itchy and it is very uncomfortable around my neck when all snapped up (yes, I am especially sensitive to wool).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by happy from san francisco on Wednesday, March 14, 2012
    fun to throw on when it is chilly. Fastenings don't go all the way down, flares open in the front. Makes my (size 6) butt look big....
    • Best Uses: Casual chilly weather, Daily Use
    • Cons: Doesn't close in front, Makes my butt look big
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great with jeans, Heavy sweater weight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mila from Houston on Wednesday, February 01, 2012
    I ordered size L. It was way too small. I could not even bring two sides close to each other
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Runs Small
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chef from Maryland on Tuesday, December 20, 2011
    I love boiled wool, but had to return the jacket. It didn't fit me well. My body is straight up and down and this jacket is for a more curvy person.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Work
    • Cons: Too cut in at waist
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by busy mom from silver spring MD on Friday, November 18, 2011
    I do love the design and the fit. It certainly is not suitable for a long walk in the cold.
    • Best Uses: Going Out
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New England SLP from Vermont on Tuesday, November 08, 2011
    This coat is perfect for New England fall weather! I get in and out of my car numerous times each day and this coat works really well since it's not heavy or bulky but really warm.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J. from Ontario, Canada on Monday, July 04, 2011
    I will wear this coat a lot. Love it; great fit; and it looks great. Love the embroidery.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alex from Melbourne Australia on Wednesday, May 04, 2011
    Pretty and light, but more cardigan than coat.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WinterWoman from Montana on Wednesday, March 23, 2011
    This was sooo lovely, and I sooo wanted it to work, but with the long skirts and pants we need in Montana winters it looked--really funky. The bottom half of the coat bells out like the sleeves, and it looks really bulky with anything thick or long underneath. It might look nice with a short, thin little dress or skirt--but when I'm wearing those, I don't need a wool coat.
    • Best Uses: Short dresses, Southern winters
    • Cons: Not for long clothes, Unflattering Shape
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Beautiful embroidery, Beautiful Fabric
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by BJ from Vancouver, BC on Saturday, March 19, 2011
    As someone has already said, this is perfect for over dress slacks, or skirt/dress for going out. It's not going to be winter warmth, but I live on the west coast (Vancouver, BC) and it's perfect for going out or just to 'throw on' that last bit to make you feel like you're going out. It's unique, fits nicely if you're reasonably thin (I doubt it would look good if you were busty or had big hips). It isn't lined - boiled wool clothes aren't usually lined. It has pockets too, but I haven't opened mine yet as I'm thinking it might make it look lumpy if I stuffed kleenex in the pockets which I'm prone to do. I'll use my handbag instead. :)
    • Best Uses: Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by horse farmgirl from Virginia on Friday, March 18, 2011
    This is a very attractive coat when it is all closed up. But if left open there are large unattractive snaps on the opposite side of the embroidery and it is floppy and doesn't drape well. Too impractical for me to keep it fastened up all the time, am sending back.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Loves Classy Casual from Lancaster, PA on Thursday, March 10, 2011
    I really liked the look of this coat, but the reviews were all over the place. One comment said it was fully lined, another said it wasn't lined. Decided to try it and hope mine was lined, but when I opened the package saw that it wasn't. I'm a size 4 so most clothes in the 4-6 range fit. Not this - was OK on top yet small in the hips, and with sleeves too long. Strange fit! I called before I returned and was given $10 credit for next purchase. Sad to have to return it!
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels too small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BJ from Vancouver, BC on Thursday, February 10, 2011
    I'm a 50 yr. old size 6-8 and the size 6 fits me perfectly. I needed a dressy coat for such occasions and I'm happy with this. It's open from about the upper legs down and it's not lined so don't count on it for cold weather warm. This is more of a sweater weight, but for going to and coming from type events where you're only outside briefly this is perfect. Looks really sharp and is different, yet classic looking.
    • Best Uses: Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by displaced californian from dodge city, ks on Thursday, December 30, 2010
    This coat is stunning when worn with any dressy outfit. The curved opening and lovely tone-on-tone embroidery make it beautiful and different. Yet the subdued color makes it work where more conservative dress is required. The fabric is warm without being bulky.
    • Best Uses: Date NightGoing Out, SPECIAL OCASSIONS, wear to work
    • Pros: Attractive design, Lightweight, Stylish, Well-made
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by olive from lafayette, co on Thursday, December 30, 2010
    I'm returning the product so I haven't used it. I'm a bit hippy and when buttoned, the bottom pieces don't overlap, so it doesn't look right or keep my legs warm. It was a tad itchy around the neck and wrists. It really is as cute as pictured though, so perhaps a slimmer gal would like it.
    • Best Uses: Fashion, Warmth
    • Cons: Itchy
    • Pros: As-pictured, Cute
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Carolyn from Waco on Sunday, December 26, 2010
    I've been pleased by this jacket so far. The wool is softer than I expected, and it keeps the wind at bay. Lightweight for the level of warmth. Fits snug; if you like a looser fit or intend to layer, buy a size up. My only concern is that the snaps feel like they might come loose with repeated use.
    • Best Uses: Office
    • Cons: Snaps may wear out
    • Pros: Lightweight, Soft, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chicago gal from Chicago, IL on Thursday, December 16, 2010
    This coat had a strange shape and looked lumpy on me. I think it runs big. I don't recommend for anyone with curves. It is also unlined and very thin--really only appropriate as outerwear in early fall.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-19 of 19 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.