Katherine Barclay Melton Wool Coat - Knit Sleeves, Belted (For Women)

Closeouts. Absolutely chic and edgy, Katherine Barclay's Melton wool coat combines your favorite knits of the season with soft, insulating wool, and is fashioned with industrial-style metal buttons.

  • Wide, cape-like collar can be worn snapped up
  • Thick, self-tie belt cinches the waist
  • Princess seams shape to flatter
  • On-seam hand pockets
  • Belt width: 2"
  • Length: 39" (based on medium)
  • Fabric: 60% wool, 25% polyester, 10% viscose, 5% other fibers
  • Lining: Body polyester; sleeves unlined
  • Care: Dry clean
  • Classic Fit
  • Made in China

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-14 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Laurie J from Forestville, CA on Monday, December 10, 2012
    I loved this coat and wanted to keep it so badly, but it was just a bit too small on top and the snaps wouldn't stay closed so I sent it back. It does belt high up on the waist and some people didn't like that, but I thought it was stylish!
  • Reviewed by Anonymous2 from Boston on Saturday, October 6, 2012
    This coat is much better looking in person than it is online! I was amazed at the quality materials and constructed, plus the modern style. But there are a couple things you should know: 1) It weighs a ton! For me, this doesn't make it uncomfortable to wear, but it could be an issue when hanging it up. Because the sleeves (and therefore, the shoulders) are made of knit, this coat could get really stretched out if you leave it on a hanger for an extended period of time. Because it's so heavy, you really need a padded hanger (or 2!) to keep the shoulders from getting misshapen. During spring and summer I would strongly recommend folding this coat instead of leaving it hung up. 2) I agree with another reviewer who said the waist is set high on this coat. I am short waisted, so this type of coat usually looks good on me. But even for me, the waist falls almost right under the bustline - almost too high. If you are long waisted, this coat probably wouldn't look good on you.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pearl Girl from Castle Rock, CO on Saturday, January 7, 2012
    This is a fun coat, nice and warm, and very different. The snaps open easier than I would like, but I have not found it to be an issue. It is actually very well made; I was expecting that it would be more flimsy or cheap. It has very nice quality for a casual coat, and I love it more the more I wear it.
    • Best Uses: Fun casual events, Going Out, Travel
    • Cons: Snaps come open easily
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Love Being in Real Estate from New Hudson, MI on Saturday, November 12, 2011
    Love the look of this coat -
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Joyce from HK on Tuesday, November 8, 2011
    was a bit worry after reading some comments esp on its sizing. i ordered a small & it fits perfectly. looks very stylish, unique, and i just love how it fits my body. love it!
    • Best Uses: Going Out
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, different, Good Cut, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by elle in wi from La Crosse, WI on Sunday, November 6, 2011
    I thought this looked cute in the photo and read the mixed reviews. Gave it a try but definitely not for me. The beltline is very high up and sat nearly under my bust-not a good look. The back of the coat with the dropped hemline is much longer than it appears in the photo. I sent this one back.
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Unflattering Shape
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Flagstaff PHarmer from Flagstaff, Arizona on Wednesday, August 10, 2011
    It is a beautiful coat, I love that it is longer in the back. The cut is super flattering and it isn't big and bulk like other felted wool coats. Only draw back is the snaps-they don't stay closed very well. I sew and fixed it, but it can be bothersome. Over all LOVE it!
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel
    • Cons: Buttons don't stay closed
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bftrs2 from NorCal on Thursday, June 30, 2011
    The style of this coat is awesome! Very figure flattering. I'm a cury girl and was worried the longer back would look funny with my caboose. It actually makes me good, very sleak and classy. The wool part gives a little as you wear it so it's not a constraining style if you have to reach over your head. But I think it will maintain it's shape well too. The jacket seems very well constructed and the material is excellent. A great coat for dressing up and will look super stylish with just a turtleneck, jeans and boots.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bftrs2 from NorCal on Thursday, June 23, 2011
    Very attractive design that flatters, belted waist makes you look feminine and not bulky. Love the unique styling. Also quite heavy and warm. This will be a favorite winter coat!
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Good Cut, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chamorrita from Eugene, OR on Tuesday, April 19, 2011
    This coat fits my shape well because the belt cinches high above my waist and just below my bust (I am 5'6", 36-25-38, 150#). The cut at the rear is stylish as it dips to the tops of my calves, where the front is cut higher and is just above my knees. This design causes it to flow. The lining keeps the itchy wool away from my skin, and the shoulder & arms in a heavy knit material (not wool) are warm, not waterproof, though they would be most comfortable with a long-sleeved blouse underneath. It is best for exploring around town on a cold, lazy weekend, and to wear to and from the office on a daily basis, if it's not raining too hard! Great coat!
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Islander from Orcas, WA on Friday, October 29, 2010
    I really liked the look of this coat online. It appeared to have a great shape. I didn't notice that it had knit sleeves until after I ordered it. The knit sleeves are a deal-breaker for wet, Northwest Washington winters, but after seeing the coat in person, I probably wouldn't have kept it even if the sleeves had been more weatherproof. The cut is weird: really high waisted with quite a bit more flare at the bottom than is shown in the picture (maybe due to the fact that the fabric is really stiff and doesn't hang right?) To sum up: this coat is a cute idea that didn't quite come off successfully.
    • Cons: Bulky, Poor Fit, Really high waist
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design
    • Sizing: Feels too large
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dianne from williamsburg VA on Sunday, October 24, 2010
    This is a very stylish coat with a unique look, particularly the asymmetrical hem. Looks great with skinny jeans and boots. It has a trim fit across the bust so if you are large-busted, order a size up. The snaps are larger and more prominent than they appear on the website photo. I can't wait until the weather gets cool enough to wear it.
    • Best Uses: Going Out, Travel, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Good Cut, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Julsie from New York on Tuesday, October 19, 2010
    I absolutely love this coat. It's perfect for the fall months when it's not yet frigid. I can wear it with both jeans or a skirt. Great deal!!
    • Best Uses: Going Out, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Good Cut, Stylish, Very cool design
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stina from New York, NY on Tuesday, September 7, 2010
    The buttons are unforgiving so you may want to order a size up. If it is tight it wont close and it looks silly open.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Going Out, Work
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-14 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.