Katherine Barclay Plaid Coat - Wool Blend (For Tall Women)

Closeouts. The soft hand of the wool-blend fabric in Katherine Barclay's plaid coat is lighter weight than your average pea coat, but packs in warmth thanks to its naturally insulating fibers.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Reviewed by Frequent STP shopper from Colorado on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    I read the review and decided to go ahead and buy it for my daughter who is starting a new job. She is 6'3" a d size 5 usually. When it arrived I tried it on to gauge the size. The size small should fit her as the arms are nice and long. I bought a wide black belt and it looks great. She is getting it for Christmas so I will know how she likes it in a week.
  • Reviewed by Equine Lady from Santa Barbara, CA on Thursday, March 28, 2013
    I normally buy my coats in size Small. This coat boasts a beautiful plaid pattern in a very soft hand. But the fabric is very thin- more like a sweater. I'm quite tall (5'11") and the sleeves were nice and long. However, the fit was outrageously large and frumpy. I don't think my tailor can work with this one, so I'm sending it back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ann Somm from Baltimore, MD on Wednesday, February 06, 2013
    The picture on the website is misleading. The coat has no lining, no shape, and looks like a couch snuggy. I will have to return it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Valentine from Charlotte on Thursday, January 17, 2013
    Good Versatile Stylish Coat
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JNT from Seattle, WA on Wednesday, February 15, 2012
    This coat is really cute. I am tall and have long arms and broad shoulders - it's SO hard for me to find a jacket that fits. This one does fit in the shoulders and arms. However, it is HUGE in the body. Very baggy, not even close to the body at all. Luckily I got it on sale so won't mind taking it to get it tailored. This coat is not lined so it is not a warm winter coat - more like something to wear as winter is on its way in or out.
    • Best Uses: Work
    • Cons: Not Warm, Poor Fit, Runs large, Unflattering Shape
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Lightweight, Perfect for tall women, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Deloris the Master Gardener from Gainesville, Georgia on Saturday, November 26, 2011
    When I received my coat I was blown away. It is the est coat I have ever bought. It is comfortable, warm, stylish, lightweight, great color, attractive design, versatile and absolutely beautiful. I receive many compliments when I wear it. People want to know where I bought it and of course I tell them right away. I have always been pleased when I buy anything from Sierra Trading Post. Thank you so very much for providing such wonderful products. I get e-mails also which makes it so convenient to find what I am looking for. Your company is the first place I look when I am needing clothing. How convenient to be able to sit at my computer and shop. Awsome Sierra Trading Post. You are the best!
    • Best Uses: Church and shopping, Going Out, Travel
    • Pros: Absolutele perfect, Attractive Design, Comfortable, Good Cut, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Arbor Woman from Columbus, IN on Sunday, April 10, 2011
    For the price, I would have expected a lining and finished edges. Fabric rather thin. This is a trendy piece that isn't likely to keep one very warm for very long. I returned it.
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Dresser
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by anneke from Columbus, OH on Friday, February 04, 2011
    When I placed an order, I thought I am buying a winter coat (my mistake). However, this is rather a light jacket with no lining. It is a nice jacket, though, stylish and I also like the colors. Too bad I have to return it because what I need is a winter coat. I give four stars because the sleeves are WAY too long. I am 6' tall and the sleeves are at least 3" longer than I would need. Makes you wonder - how tall this "tall woman" has to be the coat is made for? My size is between 14 & 16. I ordered size xl because that's the size of coat that would fit me. This coat is larger than regular xl - if you are size 16, order L. And be ready to alter the sleeves.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ccstyle from Portland, OR on Sunday, January 09, 2011
    I am fairly tall (5'9"), but not LARGE, and frequently find coats and jackets are too short in the torso, and have sleeves that are not long enough, so I ordered this boiled wool coat in M for TALL women. This coat was absurdly wide in the skirt. Though I don't like returns, especially at my own expense, it was not worth altering. It should be labeled: For TALL & (very) WIDE WOMEN. A disappointment, as it was a nicely designed, stylish coat, and the fabric was soft & cozy.
    • Best Uses: Dressy Casual, Lightweight warmth, Stylish, Understated, URBAN
    • Cons: Enormous, Wide skirt
    • Pros: Beautiful fabric, Color true to photo, Well constructed
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jhjohn from Kansas City on Wednesday, January 05, 2011
    Bought this coat for my mother-in-law who is 5'10. It had great length everywhere, especially in the sleeves, however, it was a bit roomy through the body. She normally wears a large to xlarge; she only needed the large.It's a nice plaid, perfect weight and length for running in and out of the car when you want to look more presentable than a ski coat.
    • Best Uses: Dressy Casual, Errand running, Layers well
    • Cons: A bit roomy
    • Pros: Long Sleeves, Nice car coat, Nice Warmth, Without bulk
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.