• Katherine Barclay Reviews

  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 8
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by I LoveYouJennay from Chesapeake Bay on Tuesday, December 23, 2014
    Definitely not merely a fashion scarf, this one is built to block out the cold. Very thick and seems like it will last a long time!
  • Reviewed by Frequent STP shopper from Colorado on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    I read the review and decided to go ahead and buy it for my daughter who is starting a new job. She is 6'3" a d size 5 usually. When it arrived I tried it on to gauge the size. The size small should fit her as the arms are nice and long. I bought a wide black belt and it looks great. She is getting it for Christmas so I will know how she likes it in a week.
  • Reviewed by LaReine from Virginia on Saturday, July 13, 2013
    I'll start by saying I bought this coat mainly to wear in the car in the winter, since my husband likes the cabin colder than I do. A single layer of wool, easy on, easy off, is exactly what I'm looking for. But I would never have paid full price for it and here's why:

    This really is a good looking coat, and is well-constructed, and the design details are darling but it is unlined. This wool blend is too scratchy not to be lined, and it would probably benefit from some interfacing to stiffen the fabric a bit.

    The fabric is not really woven (it may be, but it looks like it's felted with integrated interfacing. The weave (if it is a weave) is not tight. I really feel that if I were to pull on it, it would be permanently pulled out of shape, like an overstretched sweater. Another reason I think it's felted is that the bottom hem doesn't even have a hem! It is serged on the inside, and there are no markings whatsoever on the outside.

    I think this garment had a lot of promise, and since it is so beautifully designed, I think I will look for a local seamstress or tailor to add a lining and an extra button for me, because I have not seen a coat I so much liked the look of in some time.
  • Reviewed by Equine Lady from Santa Barbara, CA on Thursday, March 28, 2013
    I normally buy my coats in size Small. This coat boasts a beautiful plaid pattern in a very soft hand. But the fabric is very thin- more like a sweater. I'm quite tall (5'11") and the sleeves were nice and long. However, the fit was outrageously large and frumpy. I don't think my tailor can work with this one, so I'm sending it back.
  • Reviewed by Carri from oregon on Sunday, March 10, 2013
    I have been looking for a bright coat to wear on those dreary drizzly days and I was excited to see this. I [...]ed it up immediately. The fit is great! It hasn't rained since I received it so I can't rate it on how well it keeps me dry so I gave it 4 stars.
  • Reviewed by Beth from Portland OR on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    I am on the fence about keeping or returning this shirt because I love the style and fabric. But the only size is L and the only color is white. I usually wear a M or L, and would have definitely exchanged for an XL if it was available. I am tall and thin, but in this shirt, the little love-handle is perhaps too obvious. Hubby knows better than to tell me that it makes me look fat, so I can't get an honest opinion and haven't made up my mind...
  • Reviewed by Cassandra from Vancouver, BC on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    This is a decent quality of boiled wool and quite attractive, but it is more of a sweater than a coat. Fortunately one can flip the collar down to wear it indoors - the wool is scratchy if collar is worn up. The snaps are not ugly when it is worn open, although as mentioned by an earlier review, they do show.

    I am 5'10" and about 165 pounds, evenly distributed. The Large fits me perfectly.

    It has a few design flaws. 1-The bell sleeves are awkward for wearing indoors, and outdoors would compromise warmth. Some sort of a pleat or tuck could be put on the part of the cuff that does not have embroidery to narrow it down. 2- the snaps don't go all the way down so it either gapes, or just looks odd - seems to be meant to "swing" open from above the waist which is a dumb idea for a sweater that one puts on to be WARM. One extra snap is included and could be added to ameliorate this, but the hemline is slightly asymmetrical so needs realignment as well as added snaps, or buttons. Could also be worn with belt. 3 - Stupid on-seam pockets that are hard to get into and add useless bulk to the hips. They will be removed, or moved, or tacked forward, or something.

    It is pretty and will be worth putting a bit of time into.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ann Somm from Baltimore, MD on Wednesday, February 6, 2013
    The picture on the website is misleading. The coat has no lining, no shape, and looks like a couch snuggy. I will have to return it.
  • Reviewed by Nan from Missouri on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
    This was sooo disappointing! The fabric is stiff, coarse and scratchy; you'd never believe there was any alpaca in it! The seams are on the outside - I know that's a trend, but with the unsavory fabric, the outside seams just added to the dissatisfaction. The strap belt is made of a very thin, cheap leather. It doesn't drape well at all. Back it goes!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Valentine from Charlotte on Thursday, January 17, 2013
    Good Versatile Stylish Coat
  • Reviewed by Lawyer's Kid from Speedway, IN on Thursday, January 3, 2013
    Just got it. Held the piece of fabric up and light poured thru -- straight thru in some spots. Only 2 buttons. Top one too low, collar sags and gapes. Bottom too high would never stay closed w/o flapping. Coat completely disappointing. Waaaay too expensive. Do not waste the funds - wear Kleenex.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Abby from Columbus, Ohio USA on Wednesday, December 19, 2012
    This was a Christmas present and I was really apprehensive since I couldn't actually FEEL it before purchase. It was fine. Thank you.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Laurie J from Forestville, CA on Monday, December 10, 2012
    I loved this coat and wanted to keep it so badly, but it was just a bit too small on top and the snaps wouldn't stay closed so I sent it back. It does belt high up on the waist and some people didn't like that, but I thought it was stylish!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cindy from new mexico on Friday, December 7, 2012
    very feminine sweater,figure flattering
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by waverunner1 from Indiana on Wednesday, December 5, 2012
    This jacket can be dressed up easily to wear to work. it is very stylish and goes well with jeans or a skirt or dress.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Diane the Fed from Northern VA on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
    Form fitting but substantial knit with interesting design. Lots of compliments on goldenrod color. Cold washing machine and dry flat -- looks great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by camelot from North Jersey on Tuesday, November 20, 2012
    I loved how this looked online. However, when it arrived it was NOT what I expected. I tried the blouse on and unfortunately, it just didn't look right. The other thing that was the double buttons...the "layered" look is created by a false full length dickie, if you will. So there are two sets of buttons to do up! Too much work!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Maris from Chicago-ish on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
    I got the ivory - the rhinestones were all tarnished and not sewn on straight. The sweater seemed to run very small and overall it wasn't worth ordering the next size up. I returned it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MayKay from NY, NY on Monday, November 12, 2012
    Did not work as a poncho for me.
    I removed the 2 enormous & heavy buttons at hips.
    I sewed the poncho up the sides to make a tunic\vest.
    I'm still deciding what to do with the 2 huge buttonholes at hips. They may stay and become a place for a belt or sash. I'll wear it and see.
    It is a very heavy weight knit.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Layering
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JF from Boston on Sunday, November 4, 2012
    Nice sweater, perfect for the office or to wear to church. Looks good when paired with black tailored slacks or a black skirt.
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Still Looking from Atlanta, GA on Tuesday, October 30, 2012
    Though it fits fine and I like its look when closed, this doesn't work for me for two reasons:

    1) Have to wear it snapped all the time because, otherwise, two ugly snaps show and it doesn't lay right.
    2) Wool is very itchy and it is very uncomfortable around my neck when all snapped up (yes, I am especially sensitive to wool).
  • Reviewed by Anonymous2 from Boston on Saturday, October 6, 2012
    This coat is much better looking in person than it is online! I was amazed at the quality materials and constructed, plus the modern style. But there are a couple things you should know: 1) It weighs a ton! For me, this doesn't make it uncomfortable to wear, but it could be an issue when hanging it up. Because the sleeves (and therefore, the shoulders) are made of knit, this coat could get really stretched out if you leave it on a hanger for an extended period of time. Because it's so heavy, you really need a padded hanger (or 2!) to keep the shoulders from getting misshapen. During spring and summer I would strongly recommend folding this coat instead of leaving it hung up. 2) I agree with another reviewer who said the waist is set high on this coat. I am short waisted, so this type of coat usually looks good on me. But even for me, the waist falls almost right under the bustline - almost too high. If you are long waisted, this coat probably wouldn't look good on you.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by teacher from Framingham MA on Saturday, September 8, 2012
    I didn't like the weave. I just did not care for it.
    • Pros: Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jelly bean from Northfield, MN on Saturday, August 11, 2012
    Easy to bring along in a back pack or bag. Plan to use it for traveling.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Nice Color, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by EpiGal from Henderson, NV on Monday, August 6, 2012
    I took the advice of other reviewers and bought a size L even though I usually wear an 8 and it fits perfectly.

    I just went back to look at the product description and was surprised to see that it is made from silk and nylon. It felt pretty heavy when I tried it on, so (without getting to see it while writing this review), I was thinking it was made of cotton. But, its being made of silk/nylon will probably mean that it will hold its color (black) longer.

    It's too hot where I live to wear this yet, so I cannot rate on durability.
    • Cons: Need to wash by hand
    • Pros: Figure Flattering, Quality Materials
    • Sizing: Feels too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Julie S from Astoria, OR on Tuesday, June 5, 2012
    Cute style and great price! It's terrific for a lightweight coat in spring & fall, looking forward to wearing it alot!
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Greenwood Gal from South Carolina on Thursday, May 31, 2012
    My package arrived on time, and I am pleased with everything. This sweater is good for going out, especially when the air conditioning is on too high!
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sixties Style from Indiana on Tuesday, May 15, 2012
    The coat makes a bold statement, but without being too over-the-top.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dennis from surfers paradise, australia on Wednesday, May 9, 2012
    I chose this for my tall and slender wife, and she liked it! The fabric is nice, and it's fitted, and the shirt has an interesting design - good for confernces and smart casual nights out,
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear To Work
    • Describe Yourself: Career, Casual, Classic, Eclectic
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Figure Flattering, Quality Materials, Versatile, Washes Well
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 3dvizwiz from Boulder, CO on Thursday, April 26, 2012
    I'm usually excited to find long sleeves and long torso in a garment (as I'm 5'10" with long arms), but this was really long, even for me. Rolling up the sleeves exposed the unfinished cuffs. I also felt that the large buttons looked a bit clown-like, so mine was returned, which was a shame given the nice fabric and the lovely shade of red.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat
    • Fit: Feels too big
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 8
;