Kavu Freeman Backpack - Cross Strap

Closeouts. The perfect bag for students and urban commuters, Kavu's Freeman backpack features a comfortable cross strap, concealed laptop compartment and plenty of storage for your essentials.

  • Adjustable cross strap can be moved to the left or right side
  • Concealed, padded laptop compartment holds most 17" laptops
  • Large main compartment
  • Zip front pocket with interior organizer panel and cellphone pocket
  • Small zip front pocket
  • Stretch water bottle pockets
  • Fits torsos: One size fits most
  • Padded laptop compartment: 17x12x1-1/2"
  • Dimensions (HxWxD): 18x12x7"
  • Capacity: 1296 cu.in.
  • Weight: 1 lb. 11 oz.
  • Material: 600 denier polyester with polyurethane coating
  • Made in Vietnam
  • Visit our Backpack Guide

Average Rating based on 11 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ym from fort smith, ar on Wednesday, August 22, 2012
    I love this backpack. The crossbody strap makes loads more evenly distributed and doesnt make my back hurt.
    • Best Uses: School
    • Describe Yourself: Student
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by happy momma from Tupelo, MS on Thursday, August 09, 2012
    I bought this backpack for my daughter for school. She use to complain about her backpack being to heavy but since she's had this one, there has been no complaints. She is very satisfied with her backpack.
    • Best Uses: Heavy Loads, School
    • Describe Yourself: Student
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Large Capacity, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by anjasmom from Duluth, MN on Wednesday, August 01, 2012
    Great backpack for the money! I bought 2 of these for my children (8 and 10) for school this year. They love them. They love the designs and the trendy "cross strap"! I think they would be great for a laptop, but they seem a bit on the small size for school. I'm not sure there will be enough room for ALL the books, homework, lunches, etc... However, they seem to be made very well; very high quality zippers etc.. I am familiar with this brand and think very highly of it. I'm sure we can make them work!
    • Best Uses: Heavy Loads, Light Loads, School
    • Cons: Not quite large enough
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Load, Good Suspension, Highly Adjustable, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by none from st louis mo on Monday, April 16, 2012
    just the backpack for my granddaughter!
    • Best Uses: Books, School
    • Cons: Wonderful
    • Describe Yourself: Classic
    • Primary use: Business
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Great Features, Lightweight, Roomy
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sissalee from Nenana, Alaska on Saturday, February 25, 2012
    I walk to work and needed a laptop carrier with room for paperwork, books, lunches. I would not have bought it if I had been aware that it only had one strap. Mailing costs from Alaska are too high to return it; so, I will just get used to it.
    • Best Uses: Laptop office
    • Describe Yourself: Practical
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Easy To Access Items, Good Capacity
    • Travel Frequency: 0-5 Annual Trips
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dad from MS on Saturday, February 18, 2012
    Nice design. Well protected computer compartment.
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Practical
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Easy To Access Items, Good Capacity, High Quality
    • Travel Frequency: 0-5 Annual Trips
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gumbysz from ohio on Saturday, January 21, 2012
    I purchased this bag because the description stated that protective compartment would accomodate a 17" laptop. My 17" laptop does not fit in this compartment. I can however put my laptop in the large compartment.
    The entire bag is well made and looks nice. It would be a great bag for a high school or college student.
    • Cons: Small Capacity
    • Describe Yourself: Practical, Stylish
    • Primary use: Business
    • Pros: Easy To Identify, High Quality, Stylish
    • Travel Frequency: 0-5 Annual Trips
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RLS2008 from Cookeville, TN on Thursday, December 29, 2011
    Bought as a gift for my son's girlfriend to use for college. She totally LOVED it! Has so many uses!
    • Best Uses: Family Trips, Long Vacations, Weekend Trips
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-Oriented
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Easy To Access Items, Easy To Carry, Easy To Identify, Good Capacity, High Quality, Lightweight, Stylish, Very trendy
    • Travel Frequency: 6-10 Annual Trips
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chick with a Stick from Illinois on Sunday, October 02, 2011
    I'm an adult student who needs to carry a laptop and numerous books on a long train commute with fast transfers...this bag has been ideal. The cross-chest carry is far lighter on my back than the traditional shoulder straps and is easier to get on and off. It carries the laptop in a separately zipped section of the pack and still has plenty of room in the main body for other books and equipment; one of the outer zipper pockets lies flat but the other is 3-d-enough that it holds more than I expected.

    Highly recommended for heavy schlepping.
    • Best Uses: School
    • Describe Yourself: Adult Student
    • Primary use: Personal
    • Pros: Easy To Access Items, Easy To Carry, Good Capacity, High Quality
    • Travel Frequency: 0-5 Annual Trips
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Daily Cyclist from Durango, CO on Tuesday, September 06, 2011
    I purchased this bag when I decided to commute to work on my bike daily. It is large enough to hold a change of clothes and my lunch as well as other gadgets I need for my day. The best aspect of this bag is the computer compartment. My laptop fits snugly in the compartment up against my back. Even if I were to crash, likely the laptop would remain unscathed in the padded compartment.
    • Best Uses: Bike commute
    • Describe Yourself: Daily Cyclist
    • Primary use: Business
    • Pros: Easy To Carry, Good Capacity
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.