• Kayland Reviews

  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 24
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Grandcanyon Rob from Arizona on Monday, December 12, 2016
    The size is accurate, and they don't need much break in. Good for backpacking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dimako from Upstate NY on Wednesday, October 19, 2016
    Too much volume, have my feet bouncing side to side plus the heel slips. When tighten more it hurts
    Otherwise absolutely great looking quality constructed shoes.
    would recommend for those who have a larger than average volume feet
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Grand Canyon Hiker from North Carolina on Monday, September 26, 2016
    I'm still breaking in this pair of boots - but I can tell you that they arrived true to size (Size 11). I've worn the boots for a couple of weeks and they are comfortable and feel like i could hike all day with them. The boots are appropriately stiff for hiking and backpacking. I'm very happy with these boots.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rick from Pittsburgh on Tuesday, September 6, 2016
    A very comfortable & secure fit with the custom lacing options. I've used the shoes on rocky, rooty & variable pitch terrain while maintaining secure footing.With the gore- tex barrier, rugged materials & attractive design these are a great multi use shoe.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ricky Two Shoes from Philly on Tuesday, September 6, 2016
    I'm generally an Asolo guy, but Sierra didn't have what I needed in a pinch and I went for a new brand, the Kayland Titan Ferrata. I need a somewhat light, non-insulated boot that breathes well and gives great support, as I generally walk about 15 miles a day INDOORS on polished concrete. These boots fit the bill, giving the support of a ski boot that you can actually walk in! Now I have another go-to brand!
  • Reviewed by Taylor the Lumberjack from Tennessee on Monday, September 5, 2016
    I'd never heard of Kayland before, but prior to purchasing these I did some research on them and was pretty impressed with the company. Now that I've had the boots for a little bit I am even more impressed. My previous boots were Asolo and although I have nothing bad to say about those, these Kaylands are at least as good. I am on my feet 10-12 hours a day in the tree service (sometimes climbing) and these boots offer great stability, comfort and durability. They are advertised as a 4 season boot and I was a little worried about what my feet would feel like during the 90+ degree days during middle Tennessee summers, but with a thin pair of marino wool socks, my feet stay comfortable all day. So they are, as advertised, a 4 season boot.These fit pretty close to true to size; maybe a little bit on the small side of true. (I originally ordered a 10 and then opted to exchange them - a painless process thanks to STP's exceptional customer service - for a 10.5). If you are looking for an excellent, year-round, hiking boot, you've found it.
  • Reviewed by ZaTTo from S.E.A. on Wednesday, August 31, 2016
    Im a US13 regular size however ordered a US13.5 after reading some reviews that most stiff sole hiking boots fits feel half size smaller. It fits well however a little tight on the sides. After a 12 days winter trip in South New Zealand, it all fit right. the awkwardness of the initial stiff hardsole became a norm. Sock n feet remain dry crossing puddles and shallow creeks. Though I must say that these are not sub zero boots. Solid contruction and feel secure. I dont feel nothing when i accidentally kick a big rock as if im wearing a safety shoe. No blister no sore and with same boots and I managed to drive with it for 2500km during that 12days trip in an offroader. Do take note that the size labelled on boots are based on UK size thus mine is labelled as 12.5. Made in Romania where most of the top boot are made. A great buy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Amber S from KALISPELL, MT on Friday, August 26, 2016
    I have always loved Kaylands for their 'no break-in', right out of the box, no blister fit. These did not disappoint. My last pair was the kayland contact 1000 which was geared more for hiking and light backpacking, however the Titan Ferrata is a bit sturdier and can handle more weight. Day one in these boots I piled on my 40# pack and trekked for a quick two nighter up in the Jewel Basin in Montana with zero issues. The soles are a bit stiff, but well suited for my purposes. Rocks, scree etc. these boots stick like glue. I wear a ladies 11 in most hiking boots, I ordered the EU 43, men's 10, woman's 11 and the fit was perfect for me. I will note that I wear a thicker wool hiking sock with a thin merino wool liner underneath and it is snug but still has a small amount of room at the toe so I don't bump the tips of my toes going downhill. I highly recommend these boots for backpacking packing especially with a heavier load on your back, for me, they would probably be overkill for just a day hike.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BryHong8 from Washington on Thursday, August 25, 2016
    Got a size 8 1/2 pair for my 12 year-old son on Sierra for about 70% off. Without breaking them in, he did a 10 mile round trip hike - 3,500 foot elevation gain with the last 900 being a class 2 to 3 scramble without complaint. No mole foam used and no blisters. Two days later did an overnight backpacking trip, so he used the boots with a full pack and had no problems. Did some boulder hopping and a climb up Aasgard Pass in Washington - 2,000 vertical feet in 3/4s of a mile over boulders and scree and a lot of miles. His feet hurt at the end after about 18 miles worth of hiking and climbing in 2 days, but whose wouldn't :-). He commented a few times about how good the boots were doing for him. Bottom line, seem like good quality boots after 2 very rugged uses with no breaking in.
  • Reviewed by Phil from Oregon on Thursday, August 25, 2016
    Quite a stiff sole which would be good for backpacking . By contrast the uppers are light and require no break in. Very comfortable out of the box. Waterproof so far.
    I found them true to size.
    I would recommend these boots and am thinking about getting a second pair.
    Best of all; they weren't made in China.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 24
;