Keen Klamath Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. You'll be hardpressed to find a mid-size boot that performs better than Keen's Klamath hiking boots, made with a host of features designed to boost comfort and stability, plus a Keen-Dry® waterproof breathable membrane for superior weather protection.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mr Bull from Central Colorado on Monday, December 10, 2012
    Will use for work at the office, around town and for light hikes and jeeping. They are pretty comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pds psych doc from NY on Friday, December 07, 2012
    great boots
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mazzmop from Peru, NY on Sunday, December 02, 2012
    Excellent pair of shoes. No need to break in, comfortable right out of the box.HGood for everyday use or hiking.
  • Reviewed by Adirondack Hiker from Saratoga Springs, NY on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
    Though the boot appears well made and is certainly sturdy, I can't really offer much of a review because I will never wear them. I have two other pairs of Keen boots and one pair of Keen shoes, and this boot is narrower. I generally can't wear a medium width, but Keen has always provided a wide foot box. Not so much this time.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bigsilk from Brooklyn, NY on Monday, November 26, 2012
    I was initially going to buy a low-top, waterproof hiker for city living, so the Keen Siskiyou was my first choice. Alas, I didn't heed the half size up advice and had to return them. I'd never owned Keens before, but I really liked that big, boxy toe and aggressive design. So, I thought I'd continue the experiment with a pair Of Klamath Waterproof Hiking boots in Bison/Orion Blue, and yes, in size ten - one half up from what I normally order. I am a backpacker, and I could use a pair of warmer, more robust hiking boots.

    First, the Klamath is quite unlike the Siskiyou: While the Siskiyou is meant to be a light day-hiker, the Klamath is a straight-up, big-lugged, heavy, stiff HIKING boot. I have a pair of Hi-Tech mid hikers, but they're meant to be a day/two-day hiker, and were 'out-of-the-box' ready. Not the Klamath. The first thing I'd noticed is that you really don't 'slip' these on; you put your foot into it. The part of the boot protected by 'KeenDry,' Keen's proprietary 'breathable' waterproof membrane, is like a form-footed, semi-rigid cavity for your foot. I put 'breathable' in quotes because, and I hope you're sitting down, if it's waterproof, it ain't breathable. More on that in a bit.

    I laced the boot up. The laces are a little odd. They have a kind of texture to them. I assumed this was to create more friction on the lace in a knot to keep it from loosening. I would come to find, if indeed that is the reason for the texture, that it doesn't work. As I tightened them up, I felt some pressure on the bridge of each foot where the 'KeenDry' gathers between the tongue and the boot proper. I got concerned; this happened with the Siskiyou. First, some deep-knee bends to get the break-in process started. The sole of the boot didn't give much at all.

    My first foray in the Klamath was, of course, around my apartment. The hardwood floors of my living room demonstrated how stiff and heavy these bad boys are; ka-THUMP, ka-THUMP, ka-THUMP. Heel-to-toe. Luckily, I don't have a downstairs neighbor. I noticed when I put my foot forward, I felt more pressure on the bridges of my feet. ka-THUMP. The area around the ankle is comfy enough. The heel box is massive. There is, however, a way to adjust for that. If you'll look at the first lace fastener below the eye-hook, it's actually a strap that extends to a loop, and then it goes back to the top of the heel. When you cinch the lace tight, it draws the top if the heel in, changing the angle from the top of the heel, bringing that padded ankle area closer to the Achilles' tendon. It helps.

    Onto the great outside. A walk around the block has me paying more attention to pick up my feet. Every few steps I'm either scraping the heel or toe. At a regular stride, the heel finds the ground much quicker than any of my other shoes. As such, the toe falls forward quicker (thus the 'ka-THUMP' on my hardwood floors.) It takes a little getting used to. And consider that you don't normally take full strides hiking.

    Next, a longer trek: To my girlfriend's house. A half mile walk to the subway, and then another half mile to her place. I'd tried to tighten the laces down a bit more, but they were still too uncomfortable to get them 'game-time' tight. The problem I see is that the 'heel-tightening strap' eyelets are right over the KeenDry gathering. So, when you tighten the heel, you also pull the gatherings tighter over the soft bridge of your foot. After a full break-in, I'm sure I'll find a balance.

    She and I walk a lot, so during the weekend I was there, I probably put three or so miles on the boots. I was able to increase the pressure on the laces, so I'm guessing the gathering is starting to loosen up. I've only been wearing a mid-weight hiking sock with them. After a long or strenuous walk, I did notice that my socks were moist, as was the removable insole. Be sure to pull them out and fully open the boot after each wearing.

    Figuring I'd broken them in enough, off to the wilds... of Prospect Park. It's a large park, and parts mimic a lot of the terrain I'll be hitting this season; rocky, hilly, sometimes muddy. I tweaked them down pretty tight before entering the park. They were still kind of uncomfortable at the bridge of my foot, but, as is said, no pain, no gain. This is the stuff these boots like; picking up and putting down your feet. Much of the hiking in the Catskills, my playground, has less to do with using your feet, and more your legs. So, the solid platform of the Klamath lets you do just that: Find a place to put your foot and let if fall there. No need to use foot or ankle muscles to maintain your footing.

    I did have to loosen the laces after about half an hour, but not to the point they were before. They are breaking in.

    I plodded around the park for a couple of hours. I held my feet in muddy water for about ten minutes up to the KeenDry line. Not a drop got in. And I know that water is cold, too. My feet never got cold. As a matter of fact, with the temps in the forties, the boots were a bit warm.

    In the final analysis, the Keen Klamath Waterproof Hiking Boot is a sturdy, moderately-priced hiker for multi-day trogging through the yucky stuff. They are a bit heavy, but they're meant to be a lot more robust than a day hiker. They also require a longer break-in. PLEASE don't buy these a week before your five day romp through the ADKs. I'd honestly give these a month of regular wear, and then increasingly long hikes in your choice of terrain before trusting them far from home. I have a feeling, though, that many years from now I will shed a tear for their retirement.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Book from Burtonsville, Maryland on Monday, November 26, 2012
    I work for fedex,and i go from carpet to marble and blacktop pavements. This shoe is the best. This is my third pair of Keens, and that are great. This is a true fit to your feet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jaimgrrd from Chicago IL on Saturday, November 24, 2012
    Good for walking and working perfect support
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Maineguy from Maine on Saturday, November 17, 2012
    I wear these shoes for day hikes as well as for work. They are comfortable, good traction, and I can wear them all day.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The amazing hiking Grandma! from Flagstaff AZ. on Friday, October 26, 2012
    These are very good boots! Just wish they would make them all in the USA!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jsk781 from Sioux Falls, SD on Friday, October 26, 2012
    I ordered these boots to wear for work as a stagehand. I love Keen footwear and wanted something that would be protective (without a steel toe), warm when necessary, and comfortable for long days. They fit my foot snugly and were comfortable throughout a sixteen hour day. The only drawback is that the top of the boot feels a little short to fully support the ankle in the way that I am most comfortable. Overall, a great Keen product.
    • Cons: Rigid, Short At Ankle
    • Pros: Cushioned footbed, Hugs the foot, Provides great support, Sturdy sole, Waterproof
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.