Customer Reviews Of:
Keen Portland Work Boots - Waterproof, Composite Toe (For Men)

Closeouts. Made in the USA, Keen Portland work boots deliver waterproof breathable protection suitable for the wet weather of Oregon's largest city. Sturdy and supportive, they boast a composite safety toe, a puncture-resistant midsole plate and a metatomical, dual-density footbed.

Average Rating based on 29 reviews 4.379310 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Reviewed by Yehuda the electrician from Israel on Sunday, November 2, 2014
    all well, except that: 1) from the start collapsing sole, 2) calm water passes through the skin
  • Reviewed by Joshua from Kentucky on Saturday, November 1, 2014
    These boots are really comfortable, and have good traction on wet or oily surfaces, however the soles did not hold up well. Not sure if it was oil or heat (sometimes they were exposed to probably ~150*F temps) but the lugs on the sides started flaking off in chunks. I meant to return them, but at the time STP was pretty much out of anything that would work for me, and I still had to wear steel toes everyday. I still use them occasionally as a spare, or to wear in snow and ice.
  • Reviewed by Joshua from Kentucky on Monday, September 29, 2014
    I purchased these when I was working as a process engineer in an injection molding facility. I'm not sure if it was occasional exposure to heat or hydraulic oil, but the soles start chunking off after a couple months. The boots were very comfortable and had very good traction in previously mentioned oil.
  • Reviewed by finicky shopper from great northwest on Friday, September 19, 2014
    I am a woman in search of boots that will handle my many foot issues and allow me to hike. I've recently switched to trying men's boots, as they tend to be a little wider in the toes, where I need it. Typically, I love keen shoes because of the round wide toe box. So I've been comparing the Portland and Cleveland work boots. Both have little to no heel height compared to the bed of the shoe, which is great for me.

    **Helpful hint for the hard - to-fit foot: I suggest ordering more than one pair of the same style and size. My experience with Keens, and most Asian made shoes, is that there is a lot of variability in size/shape, and little details. So don't give up if one pair seems like a second - try another pair. So it might be possible to find a pair of boots without the cons listed below.

    Portland Pros: -Nice firm composite toe
    - Nice leather
    - Generally cushier inside, especially around the calves

    Cons: -the gusset on the tongue did not protect from the shoelace hook near the ankle - this could really hurt over time.
    -(for me) the boot is rather narrow and long, so it didn't work for my tender toes. Too bad.

    Cleveland Pros: Nice big round toe box

    Con: The gusset on the tongue is made of some stiff material that makes it less effective as a cushion under the laces. Also, it varies from shoe to shoe how well the gusset lays. Some of them were kind of bunchy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bruce from Ma. on Thursday, June 5, 2014
    I usually have good luck with Keen's. But had to send the first pair back due to the sole coming apart just after 1 month.
  • Reviewed by Thundertoad from Omaha on Monday, March 10, 2014
    Warm, dry and comfortable. All that and a safety toe as well. If in question, order the wide.
  • Reviewed by Deb the Mom from Wisconsin on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    As luck would have it I married a 6'8" man that has a size 15, as he says, it's a great boot. True to size, great fit and perfect for our kind of climate. He's on his feet alot, in every kind of weather. It's always good to keep a man of his size smilin'. Thanks a bunch, Sierra !!!!!!!!
  • Reviewed by little feet from wi on Friday, January 17, 2014
    my Husband loves these!
  • Reviewed by woodluther from MI on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    These Keen work boots are the only pair that I have ever made it through a first day of wearing without either taking them off or going home with sore feet. Right out of the box, I spent 14 hrs on the shop floor and no sore feet to speak of. The toe box has good space, and the foot bed is supportive, but not too stiff to flex. The only thing negative I have to say about them is the hooks for the laces. They are a tight fit to hook the laces into, but once they are hooked in place, they don't slide around.
  • Reviewed by Dean from Plover, WI on Friday, December 6, 2013
    These are the best boots and have the best support system, I can't work any other work boot than Keen's. They are rugged and last forever. And way comfortable. I also love having the composite toe, instead of steel toe, what a difference it makes. These are my most favorite boot ever..
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3