Customer Reviews Of:
Kelty Coyote 80 Backpack

Closeouts. The Kelty Coyote 80 backpack offers the space and support needed for extended wilderness adventures, with the adjustable CloudLock II suspension, panel access to the main compartment and a lid that converts to a lumbar pack.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews 4.500000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Engineerrock from Arkansas on Saturday, March 21, 2015
    Took this one on a long overnighter(15 miles first, then 8) on the Oauchita trail. Loaded up pretty light--not more than forty pounds--but it was super comfortable the whole time. Love the functional pockets everywhere which make everything easy to get to. You don't ever have to worry about stuffing your pack like a sausage. Just throw everything in and cinch it down. The suspension and hip belt are excellent. Only complaint is the padding on the shoulder straps could be heavier.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jon from North Carolina on Thursday, January 22, 2015
    I am very happy with this backpack. I plan to use in on travels overseas then on back country camping trips. I am pleased with the volume and the fact that it is not ridiculously huge. I can't wait to start using it everyday.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pack Mule from The Ozarks on Thursday, January 15, 2015
    This is a workhorse of a pack. I am a fan of Kelty products and this pack is no exception. There is plenty of storage space for multiday hikes and the build quality is fantastic. There are a lot of reviews that say how heavy the pack is, I'm used to military packs so this is a feather weight to me at least. I'll take a little extra weight if it's sturdy and this pack is that. I can't review the lumbar pack option as it looks like a pain to take off and use, so I I've left it alone. I would like to say that I got an unbeatable deal through STP, that was more than half the price of competitor sites. So, if you want a solid well built pack that will not break the wallet this is the pack for you.
  • Reviewed by Scoutmaster TC from North Carolina on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    Bought this for my almost 12 year old son. Fits him nicely. Plenty of interior space and an amazing number of adjustment straps for comfort. I hope it holds up long enough to be used by his younger brother in 4 or 5 years!
  • Reviewed by Neil the Maintenance man from Kentrucky on Wednesday, June 12, 2013
    Excellent product, no complaints. I'm in the mission field and travel around the world and I live out of this for weeks at a time.
  • Reviewed by sc00by2 from Batavia on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    Only way this pack could be better would to have had an integrated rain cover. Fits well, holds all of my sons gear for Philmont with some room to spare.
  • Reviewed by Rocky Mountain from Where the elk roam. on Tuesday, May 21, 2013
    The Coyote is good tough pack and great value if it fits your body and needs. Has truly excellent external organization and pocket design. Decent weight bearing capability. Well constructed with durable materials. The padding is pretty good, especially on the belt which carries most of the weight. I do prefer the closed cell padding on older Keltys though. Pack fit is very individual, but I found this one fairly comfortable *once adjusted*. If you buy one, do yourself a favor and get it fitted at an outdoor store by someone who knows what they are doing. The aluminum stays are bendable and if you have them shaped to match your back it will make a BIG difference. Even for an experienced backpacker it's better to have someone else do it that can see how the pack is riding on you. The main body of the pack is huge. Resembles a duffel bag when full and even has a strap on the back to carry it like one, but it will cinch down. Just be thoughtful in how you pack so your gear doesn't all settle to the bottom. I have moved on to a different pack for back country use, but I still love this one for traveling. Also good for lugging large loads of clothes to the laundry mat. There is no sleeping bag compartment or bottom zipper. In some ways the simplicity is nice and actually makes it more durable.
  • Reviewed by Ikedel from Michigan on Tuesday, May 21, 2013
    Lots of room, seems to have the essentials and she claims it was comfortable. Hope to get many years out of it.
  • Reviewed by PK from Georgia on Friday, May 17, 2013
    I have not had a chance to use this pack yet, but I am impressed with it. It has a lot of room and is hydration system compatible. When I tried it on, it felt comfortable. It also expanded greatly. I plan to use this next month for a short over night hike (7 miles). The quality of the material is great. The pack did not feel heavy when it was empty. This is my first internal frame pack. Get it while you can. I used a coupon from another website, and saved $40 to $100 dollars depending on the site.
  • Reviewed by Johnny the Hiker2 from New Mexico on Tuesday, May 7, 2013
    So I am new to modern hiking and packing and have tried several packs. I had a Kelty Coyote and then decided to take it back and get the larger Kelty Red Cloud. The Red Cloud was a bit large for most of my intended uses so I went back to the Coyote. I find that while it is not as light as some of the more expensive brands like Osprey and Gregory, it is tough and durable and is designed with very logical storage pockets and tool and gear attachment points. The quality is absolutely there and Sierra has pricing that can't be beat. I like the adjustable torso since I move it up to 1/2 inch to balance the load for my carrying preference. Very good padding and adjustable features. The change that I would make, which they did this year, is the waist belt pockets should not be mesh because it is less durable than nylon.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2