Kelty Palisade 4 Tent - 4-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Your family will thank you when you upgrade your next camping trip with Kelty's Palisade 4 tent, featuring a cool dual-entry vestibule design with pull-down shades and cup holders.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ncbluwtrguy from Wilmington, NC on Monday, November 12, 2012
    Excellent tent for family car camping. Comfortably hold 3 adults (with room for gear) or two adults with two kids. Front vestibule is large enough to accommodate two small chairs to ride out inclement weather or stash the dog and gear. Easy to set up. Lots of extras (pockets, cup holders etc.) Replaces an old Eureka Equinox 6 tent that we've had for 17 years - very satisfied !
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Sturdy, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by Wolfespirit from Pacific Northwest on Sunday, November 04, 2012
    I like to camp at National Park Campsites. I just set up the tent to see if I would like it and didn't use it. I'm still debating on whether to keep it. I'm female and found this tent a bit harder to put up and somewhat time consuming. (About 1/2 an hour!) If it were raining, the entire tent would be soaked before I could get it up and the tarp on it...at least alone. I found the round bar both difficult to put together and even more difficult to take apart due to how tightly it went together and how smooth the bar is. It was slippery...best to bring rubber gloves to hold on to it for grip to pull the segments apart. (Is there some trick that I'm unaware of?) The clips seem like they would be better if there was a bit of rubber to make them more sturdy, as the first one snapped in my hand. I'm not sure why tent makers are using so much mesh and very little material these days??? Because there is very little material, the pockets are small and at the bottom corners. Also, if you want privacy, you have to use the tarp. The 2nd door to the back of the tent is only about 2 feet tall and doesn't have a screen...good for the dogs! :) (Although I don't think the back vestibule has a zipper to open it from outside the tent?? Perhaps the only entry is from inside the tent??) You would have to be on your hands and knees to get anything out of the back vestibule. Also, the back vestibule has no flaps at the bottom to keep rain out and it doesn't go all the way to the ground allowing for small visitors, i.e. chipmunks, squirrels, mice, etc. to come in. I'm 5'4" and had a heck of a time trying to put the tarp over the tent. It would be much easier with two people! I can't imagine having to use rocks to hold the tarp in place. Also, because the tent it so large, the poles need lots of area without trees or bushes behind you to be able to put them into the sleeves! I did like the substantial amount of room inside the tent, area in the front vestibule, the flaps on the bottom of the front vestibule that keep the bugs out and the hanging cup holders! I was disappointed with the way the tarp fits, as along the sides of the tent, there is a couple of inches of space where mosquito's and other bugs can easily get into the vestibule, if you were trying to sit and relax outside the tent itself, where the coffee holders are. I wonder if it would hold much heat on chilly nights when it gets down to 40 or 45 degrees. Also, definitely needs a foot print or tarp underneath it. It looks good up and would make a nice tent for the yard. For the most part, I like it...it was just difficult for me to put up alone and I worry about having to put it up or take it down in the rain. The sack to hold it seems large enough, too. Quality, other than the clips, seems good.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Able To Stand Up In It, Color, Comfortable, Hanging Cup Holders, Very roomy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by m31m45 from Jackson, TN on Monday, October 15, 2012
    Purchased this tent for a yearly week long camping trip and it worked great. Due to the large floor area and stand up height it was very comfortable for a week long trip. I am 6'4" and 250 pounds and never felt cramped considering there was a cot, clothing table and a chair in the tent with me. Nice front vestibule. I never got a chance to test it in the rain so not sure of how waterproof it is. The only con is that it took about 16 stakes to set the tent with all the guy lines. Also they supplied the cheap tent stakes so I would plan on getting better stakes. With the discount at the time I paid $197 so at that it is a great deal. I still would have been satisfied if I had to pay the $299 STP is asking.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Sturdy, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Paco from Chattanooga, TN on Tuesday, September 18, 2012
    My husband and I set this tent up in just a few minutes - 15 minutes tops. Very roomy and private at the same time. It's a heavy tent so you wouldn't want to pack the thing in, but great for car camping.
    • Best Uses: Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Skuy camper from Indiana, Pa on Sunday, September 16, 2012
    My husband and I used this tent for a 2 week camp trip in the Colorado Rockies in September. It held up well through wind and rain. Very comfortable for two people and all of our gear, four would have been very difficult.
    Loved the front vestibule. We laid a carpet down and it became a great shoe and coat room. We did have a little flooding in the corner shelf because we didn't tie things down properly.
    This tent is easy to put up, but not quick. When we first got it, I put it up by myself in breezy conditions.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Lightweight, Waterproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by D from Canon City, CO on Wednesday, September 12, 2012
    So far, so good! This tent is roomy and very sturdy. Set up was straight forward. The quality and design are great! The only complaint I had was that there were not enough stakes provided for all of the fly tie down lines. In the manual they show how to use rocks to secure the lines, however suitable rocks were in short supply at my chosen camping location. Not a big deal at all, more of an observation.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Camp-n-fun from Colorado on Wednesday, August 15, 2012
    Plenty of room and easy setup. Our dog didn't want to get out!
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sandyisland from Upstate new york on Monday, August 13, 2012
    Nice tent works well
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Beach, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by island hopper from esko, mn on Tuesday, July 24, 2012
    I almost didn't get this tent with the comments on the wind issues. We just got back from a 3 night kayak camping trip in the Apostle Islands in Wisconsin. Our last night I could hear the wind whipping in the trees. I thought that we were being protected from the wind by the trees , since the tent wasn't even moving, until I opened the fly and almost got blown away. It was a constant 20 knot wind outside and not a ripple in the tent. We didn't even use all the guy line tie downs. Love the huge vestibule for storing wet gear and for getting out of the bugs before bruching the sand off our feet. Great tent and I would definitely recommend it.
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Car Camping, Kayak Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by colorado.mtn.girl from Foothills, Colorado on Tuesday, May 22, 2012
    Big tent- stands 6 ft tall. Would be great for car camping and going somehwere you know there is not a lot of wind. Do not think it would stand up to the wind in Fruita, so returned it. Didn't realize it was the size of a small apartment. Would be great for a family car camp. Great design if you are looking for a home away from home :)
    • Best Uses: Backyard, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Large vestibules
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.