Kelty Redwing 50 Backpack

Closeouts. With features like a large zip main compartment, ample accessory pockets and a padded waistbelt, Kelty's Redwing 50 backpack remains the proven trail classic its always been, just with a stylish face lift.

Average Rating based on 28 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 28 reviews
  • Reviewed by Richard *UT* from Salt Lake City on Saturday, March 01, 2014
    I use this for school and it sees occasional use for summertime over-nighters. For school it is perfect, lots of room and pockets for everything, plenty of padding. I did notice that a different review mentioned that there was no place (hole) on the pack for a water hose from a bladder to get to the hiker. Mine did have a place right at the top. Kelty at a great price, well thought out design, I love it.
  • Reviewed by bert from ct on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    excellent pack, great price
  • Reviewed by Travel lover from Idaho on Tuesday, June 18, 2013
    I am a smaller person and the frame was much to large. It said it was a small but I could not use it I sent it back.
  • Reviewed by Wilbur the Fire Ant Wrangler from Barrow, AK on Thursday, May 30, 2013
    Awesome product, replaces my well-worn 5 year old Redwing 50
  • Reviewed by Sky Dancer from Arizona on Monday, May 20, 2013
    I bought one of these for doing extensive day hikes. It is great!! I love the full round zip main compartment, is so easy to get to things and find them quickly. I like this style much better, than the typical packs, that have a drawstring at the top. The side pockets are a great added feature. Usually I have to buy separate side pockets as an accessory to add on to my previous day packs. The mesh pockets at the bottom, are great for putting your sun hat in, and taking it out, as soon as you need it. It is comfortable, and rides well. It is built to carry skiis, and / or a snowboard.

    I liked it so much, I bought two more, before they were sold out, or discontinued. I like the Orange Color, much better than the standard blue or black.

    Get this backpack and you will be happy for a long time. P.S. It might be big enough to carry your gear for an overnighter, but if you are planning on going backpacking for a few days, you probably will want something larger, and with a bigger frame.

    Happy Trails. :-)
  • Reviewed by Old Scouter from Texas on Friday, May 03, 2013
    I have always been a Kelty's fan. The one disappointment was the lack of a hydration tube hole around the top of the shoulder straps. It has a pocket that will hold a bladder, but there is not a good way to get a tube out of the pack to use while you are hiking. I got it primarily for my bicycle commute to work, so it should work out great for that.
  • Reviewed by DEE from Georgia on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
    This is a very well built pack with many great features. The pack is a little heavy but the quality makes up for it. The big side pockets with pass through design are one of my favorites. The kelty redwing fits like a glove. Sierra trading post was great to deal with. They processed my order and shipped it very quickly.
  • Reviewed by Will from North Carolina on Tuesday, April 16, 2013
    I bought the kelty for a daypack and a bear hunting pack. It has worked well for the dayhikes other than it is a little high capacity. My sister has used this pack for a one day overnighter with sufficient room for gear. High Quality pack that works well.
  • Reviewed by Piedmont Man from Virginia on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    Well made, too big for carry-on. Good for a couple nights out and I am not an ultralight backpacker.Comfortable.THe orange can be see from a long way off if off trail during hunting season.
  • Reviewed by CShines from Indiana on Friday, April 05, 2013
    We haven't used these yet, we haven't even packed them but we are extremely excited about them. I ordered these because of the other reviews and the killer price. When we showed them to my brother in law he was floored at the price we go them for; he was already aware of the quality of the packs.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 28 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.