Kelty Screen House Shelter - Medium

Closeouts. A perfect addition to dinners at the campsite or in the backyard, Kelty's portable Screen House shelter gives you a bug-free, watertight place to relax and enjoy a meal or watch a game from the sidelines.

  • Water-resistant fly material
  • Taped seams
  • Closeable mesh panels
  • Spacious interior
  • Easy set-up
  • Floor: 108x132", 99 sq.ft.
  • Height: 74"
  • Stuff size: 24x8"
  • Weight: 14 lb. 3 oz.
  • Material:
  • Fabric: Polyester taffeta
  • Poles: DAC steel, DAC DA 17 aluminum
  • Made in China
  • Visit our Tent Guide
  • Cannot ship to Japan

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kd from Minneapolis, MN on Wednesday, November 14, 2012
    I am only 5'9" and I could hardly stand up in this thing without hitting my head.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KSE from Golden, CO on Saturday, September 29, 2012
    I just set up this shelter in our backyard. It was pretty easy to set up and seems really sturdy. I think this will be great for some fall camping trips we are planning because it will give us some shelter from the wind while we are eating.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by roger from utah on Tuesday, August 14, 2012
    I've used this several times and works well in forests, by lakes, etc but best in the shade as others have noted. It is NOT a sun shade, but best where temps are cooler and bugs are bad. It is not rainfly waterproof but works well in lite and wind driven rain with seams sealed. As far as setup, it takes some effort because of its heavy duty nature but I did it my self the first time and after that it isn't that difficult. I'm a 5ft 8in. 130lb athletic and strong male so guys bigger than me shouldn't have a problem even without help. Women, you be the judge, but no doubt two could do it easily. It holds up to wind very well if staked because of its heavier duty nature. Cheaper and lighter screen tents no doubt would have failed in winds where I used it.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up, Not that difficult setup
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good in lite rains, Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CO Camper from Longmont, CO on Tuesday, July 24, 2012
    Tent top is thin and ligth colored and lets in much of the sun's heat. I meeasured 120 degF inside on a sunny 90 deg day.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by igotstobeme from ON CAN on Tuesday, July 3, 2012
    havent had this on a trip yet but set it up for a trial run in yard in time for a massive rain... leaked only a tiny bit in roof at seams... but probably totally fixable with seam sealer.

    seems to be a good size... may be a little short for taller people.
    at less then 15 lbs pack weight i would even consider taking this shelter on a paddle in.

    my only complaint about this shelter would be the fact that there is no awning... otherwise love the design & easy set up.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Set Up, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by Dog Agility in CT from Eastern, CT on Monday, June 18, 2012
    I purchased this item as a Dog Agility Competitor to bring with me to trials that are held outdoors on weekends. I brought is along for a 3-day weekend trial for the first time and was horrified when I someone else next to me had just put the same one up and said it was a NIGHTMARE. Well that was certainly the truth as it took four people to put this up with some great difficulty and after only a few hours this thing was hot like a baking oven on the inside....way to hot for dogs never mind people even with the fly open and the doors unzipped and open. The side loops were almost impossible to thread onto the poles or get off and the stakes were cheap and bent just trying to put them into the ground. I only hope I can get my money back as this was a complete waste and would not recommend it to anyone looking for something easy to put up on their own.
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up, Flimsy Construction
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by C-34-02 from St Louis, MO on Tuesday, June 12, 2012
    I was looking for a screen shelter for Boy Scout camp and for my personal use when family camping. This is exactly what I was looking for. The benefit of having storm flaps covering the screened doorways and windows makes this very versatile.
    While it isn't as breezy as ones that are all mesh, it remains functional in a rainstorm while the other isn't.
    As others noted, it is a two person job to set-up, but following the directions had ours up & running in about 15 minutes the first time.
    A great addition for camping when you'd like to sit outside your tent, and have some room for eating or relaxing without the discomfort of insects or weather.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kate from Vermont on Monday, March 26, 2012
    This screenhouse seems sturdy but there also seems to be tremendous stress on the zipper, a non-warranteed part. I haven't used it yet so don't know how it will hold up. It's spacious and will hopefully deliver bug free picnics. Can't really recommend it or not until I've used it for a season.
    • Best Uses: Backyard
    • Cons: Lots of stress on zipper
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Sturdy
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lone camper from Colorado Springs, CO on Sunday, March 11, 2012
    While some have set this up single handedly, the pitch was too tight for me to do it. None of the reviews mention this. I wish it would have worked out. Because I usually camp alone, this would not work for me. After 2 hours I repacked it and sent it back.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping
    • Cons: Tight pitch
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Sturdy, Windproof
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by camper from Southwestern New Hampshire on Saturday, January 7, 2012
    I suspect some of these come with the wrong poles. Some people have had good luck with this but we did not. We are very experienced with tents, and could not set this one up. The poles appear to be for a larger model tent. They pull the fabric too tight, would have to really muscle it to get it set up. Do not buy this.
    • Cons: Difficult To Set Up
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #