Komperdell C3 Carbon Duolock® Trekking Poles - Compact, Pair

Closeouts. Komperdell's C3 Carbon trekking poles ease strain on joints and help conserve energy when you don't want to add much weight to your load. Boasting an ultralight carbon fiber shaft, they feature the dependable DuoLock® adjustment mechanism and neoprene-padded wrist straps.

Average Rating based on 19 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 19 reviews
  • Reviewed by Carol from California on Tuesday, April 02, 2013
    These were a huge help on my first long hike into and through the Grand Canyon. Comfortable and strong.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Firebug from Carrboro, NC on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    These will strap to a daypack or go in checked luggage, so be more likely actually to get taken on our trips. Handles comfortable to hold while walking, stepping up and down. With the fatter, grippier extra rubber tips I bought, they should be good also on uneven, polished stone (e.g., archaeological sites in Italy).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trailblazer from Rochester, new York on Thursday, January 24, 2013
    The most unfortunate part of this product was that both pole straps were left-handed persons. I had to take one pole apart and re-wrap the strap for a right-handed person so that it wasn't twisted
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joybird from Afton, VA on Sunday, December 16, 2012
    I use trekking poles when I am hiking and find that using them helps on 1) powering up steep slopes, 2) easing the strain on my knees when going down steep or rocky trails, 3) giving me a sense of security when I start getting vertigo in places with lots of exposure, and 4) keeping my fingers from swelling up on long hikes. Over the course of hundreds of trail-miles, I had literally worn my previous pair of Komperdells (a more basic model, not the C3s) down to nubs. Though I bought some replacement ends for them and that gave the old poles new life, I recently decided it was time to upgrade so I could get a pair that would be lighter and would collapse to a shorter length to make them easier to pack in my luggage -- or to stow in my backpack without them sticking up too far over my head and getting caught on things. That's why I bought the C3s.

    I've only had the poles for a couple of months, so can't vouch for whether they'll hold up as well or as long as my heavier poles have, but so far they're doing fine. And I LOVE how lightweight the C3s are! And how comfy the straps are. I'm not giving them 5 stars because are a bit hard to adjust -- they have too much friction and you really have to pull on them to change their length. (I'd hoped that would improve with time, but it isn't and now I'm thinking I may have to try to wax them or something? )

    The first pair of C3s I ordered was defective and the twist-lock mechanism twisted, but didn't lock. On this second pair I've found that although occasionally the locking mechanism doesn't want to engage, you can work around that by sliding the poles back to their shortest position and the trying again. This pair has always engaged after I do that. A bit of a pain, and another reason for not giving them 5-stars, but as long as the work-around continues to work, I'm OK with it . It is worth it for how lightweight and comfortable these poles are otherwise.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yosemite Frank from Bay Area on Thursday, September 13, 2012
    These weight in at under one pound for both. The locking system is a little challenging but they work fine if you extend the poles all the way, tighten them slightly and then close to to desired length. One thing Sierra doesn't tell you is they are designed for small hands. They fit my wife perfectly but the grips were too small for me. I will be adding some grip tape to mine. We used two pair on a five day backpacking adventure in Yosemite and they worked great.
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Lightweight, Tough
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Hike from North carolina on Sunday, August 19, 2012
    Good light poles. Problems i beleive are from poor instructions. They use a rubber bushing that is squeezed to lock them. If they are loosened too much they will not relock. If this happens simply extend them all the way tighten the lock enough that some resistance is felt, shorten them to the desired length and then crank them down. I have had no problems with 2 pairs I own. Best pole I have found.
    • Cons: Needs instructions
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Easy To Use, Lightweight, Stylish, Tough
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Hike and Bike Gal from Wyoming on Saturday, June 02, 2012
    I bought these to hike the Chilkoot 3 years ago. While they are light and small (which was my biggest requirement at the time) the locking mechanism is so frustrating that I have almost chucked them over a cliff many times in the past 3 years. Today's hike was the last straw! I'm ditching these losers and am buying poles with a flip lock system. After reading the other reviews I see that the problem with the locking system on these is definitely a design flaw.
    • Cons: Collapses Too Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Lightweight, Strong
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Apple from OH on Monday, January 03, 2011
    The poles were purchased for light trekking. One works OK but the other can not be locked. Though the light weight is great, it does not offset the unreliability.
    • Cons: Collapses Too Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jamie the backpacker from Frederick, MD on Friday, October 08, 2010
    Ordered 2 pair. One worked and the other didn't. The locking system was hard to work with and collapsed easily.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Cons: Collapses Too Easily, Unstable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Good grips, Lightweight, Strong
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Reviewed by Ms Backpacker from Breckenridge, CO on Wednesday, September 15, 2010
    These poles are lightweight, and they have an extra grip material under the handles so you don't have to keep adjusting them as you change directions on a hill. However, they are difficult to adjust, especially in cold weather. I just took mine apart to clean, and the little orange thing that tightens it got stuck somewhere up in the pole sleeve. I give up!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Cons: Brittle, Collapses Too Easily, Difficult to adjust
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 19 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.