Customer Reviews Of:
Komperdell Carbon Approach Vario 4 Compact Trekking Poles

Closeouts. Ideal for through-hikers and space-conscious adventurers, Komperdell Carbon Approach Vario 4 trekking poles offer superior strength in an ultralight, foldable design.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews 4.416666 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Farhomthat from Central Illinois on Wednesday, May 18, 2016
    Purchased specifically for my wife and I chose Komperdell because the poles I've used for 100s of miles have not failed. These have a twist design that allow for compact breakdown and tilting baskets.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dennis from Columbia, MD on Friday, February 12, 2016
    These are adjustable and incredibly light. Perfect for a long trek.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bobbie from Colorado on Sunday, May 24, 2015
    I just got the poles and they fit in my carry on bag for the airlines and that was the point!
  • Reviewed by Sierra from Maine on Wednesday, May 20, 2015
    I bought two pairs, one for my husband and one for myself, to bring with us on a trip to Greece. They fold easily to pack in our carry- ons or packs and are extremely light. Nonetheless, they are sturdy when assembled and have served well hiking on Mt. Olympus and down the Samaria Gorge. My husband also uses them regularly for walking sticks in cities and towns. Sadly, I am on this site looking for replacements as he lost one this afternoon.
  • Reviewed by src from Gardnerville, nv on Friday, March 27, 2015
    The actual poll weight (by my scale) is 229gms/poll (or 8oz/poll). These are not the lightest polls that we own. We have some Komperdell rigid 110cm that weigh 155gms/poll and some twist lock polls that weigh 200gms/poll. I am not a fan of twist locks (they can be very hard to tighten) so I bought these for my wife. As far as comfort, the others are better, being a little better at sucking up the shock. These are stiffer but stronger.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Every Saturday hiker from Los Angeles, CA on Wednesday, February 4, 2015
    The Lightest trekkig pole, When it is folded, very compact & short, Love it, Best Pole ever
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lwilky from Maui on Wednesday, November 5, 2014
    Poles survived first hike nicely. The grips feel good going uphill and are okay going down. They breakdown easily to <16 inches to pack in luggage. Hiking length adjustment is easy and feels secure. Poles feel solid and well built. I expect them to last for years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Montana Ann from Montana on Friday, August 8, 2014
    This is my first set of hiking poles and I am only trying these to help with aging knee problems on steep uphill and downhill sections of trail. I selected these poles due to their light weight and since they fold into a compact size to fit into a pack when I am not using them. They indeed meet these criteria. One thing to note is these poles only have 1 adjustable joint for length adjustments. With a Komperdell trekking tip attached, their shortest length is about 40 inches. On steep uphills, this may be a little longer than ideal for me (I am 5'3"). I believe with poles that have 3 sections for adjustment, you could get a shorter overall length. The shock-corded joints are pretty tight, so I don't think they will come undone if the poles get stuck down in snow, mud or between rocks, but time will tell on that. At this point with limited use, I am satisfied with the quality of the poles and appreciate their ultra-lite weight.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by comtngrl from Colorado on Sunday, August 3, 2014
    I barely noticed that these were on my pack at the beginning of my first "let's try these out" hikes (5 miles and 10 miles). I stuffed them in an outside side pocket on my daypack and cinched them in. When folded all up, they were not taller than my pack and did not look bulky in the pocket. They handled rocky, uneven and steep terrain with no problem -- up and down! I gave four stars only because of the slightly extra time it takes to put them together and break them down while you are on the trail -- you have to twist each pole section them to "lock them in." It takes a few extra minutes and is not a quick release/adjustment like other poles I have that are not as light and compact. The fact that it feels like you are carrying pretty much nothing extra was enough for me though! Not a deal breaker, but it would be nice if they could go even shorter when fully extended so kids can used them. The nice deep color pink did not sway any of the guys on the hike wanting to try them out and gush over their "weightlessness." These poles will be coming on all my hikes and 14ers for sure.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by comtngrl from Colorado on Sunday, August 3, 2014
    I barely noticed that these were on my pack at the beginning of my first "let's try these out" hikes (5 miles and 10 miles). I stuffed them in an outside side pocket on my daypack and cinched them in. When folded all up, they were not taller than my pack and did not look bulky in the pocket. They handled rocky, uneven and steep terrain with no problem -- up and down! I gave four stars only because of the slightly extra time it takes to put them together and break them down while you are on the trail -- you have to twist each pole section them to "lock them in." It takes a few extra minutes and is not a quick release/adjustment like other poles I have that are not as light and compact. The fact that it feels like you are carrying pretty much nothing extra was enough for me though! Not a deal breaker, but it would be nice if they could go even shorter when fully extended so kids can used them. The nice deep color pink did not sway any of the guys on the hike wanting to try them out and gush over their "weightlessness." These poles will be coming on all my hikes and 14ers for sure.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2