Komperdell Mountaineer Snowshoes - 27"

Closeouts. Exercise and adventure in the winter months begin with a pair of Komperdell Mountaineer snowshoes, designed for rugged conditions with hard-wearing decking and lightweight, anodized-aluminum frames.

Average Rating based on 27 reviews 4.259259
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 27 reviews
  • Reviewed by SnowSandy from Centennial, CO on Sunday, January 18, 2015
    This is the first set of snowshoes I bought. I wanted a good paid without breaking my budget and this one fit well into the budget. Getting in and out of the shoes are not too difficult, but I had trouble with the extra strap after tightening it down. Had to tuck them in or fasten them to my boots to prevent stepping on them. My first outing I kept tripping due to the front claws being longer than other snowshoes I rented so it kept grabbing the packed snow. However, they help up well and kept me wanting to keep trying this sport.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Don T from Southern California on Monday, January 05, 2015
    I'm not, nor do I intend to be, regularly snowshoeing. Functionality on these seemed to be just fine. The binding over the toe was fairly easy to get nice and snug, but the heal portion did seem to take some extra work. One shoe did slip off due to the heal strap slipping off after seeming fine for most of the day. Their construction seems adequate and I feel they were worth the money.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike from Pagosa Springs on Friday, January 02, 2015
    We went out last week twice and they seem wonderful. The second day the snow wasn't too deep so they were much better, first day was about 3 feet of snow and without them we would have been miserable.
  • Reviewed by Frank from Minnesota on Friday, February 14, 2014
    Bought these for my wife and she loves the bindings. The bindings are easy to use, she had Redfeather before and she likes these bindings better.
  • Reviewed by Andrews222 from Colorado on Monday, February 03, 2014
    I just tried out the snowshoes in fresh snow about two feet deep with some trails already started by animals and humans alike. On the trails they added to the stability and trail width that had only just been started by earlier hikers with their dogs. In fresh powder, they got through with ease compared to heavier snowshoes or none at all. The buckling system is super easy to use and I like that the ends over the top of the foot snap together. I wish there had been a similar place to 'store' the end strap from behind the heel. The claws on the bottom are heavy duty and add to a feeling of stability.
  • Reviewed by JDill from Michigan on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    I was looking for a pair of shoes that I could go bushwhacking with, mainly in hilly areas. Have used them in 3' deep snow twice so far and am loving them as I have gone anywhere I wanted to go, even up some steeper hills. Helps to have ski poles to check yourself on the slopes. I also will be investing in either gators or some winter pants. Bought two pair so I could share with a friend, glad I did!
  • Reviewed by woodstrider from New York on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    Purchased these and they arrived yesterday, just in time for the snow-storm that hit NYC with about a foot of snow. So, I took them out to Central Park to try them out in the new powder. Out of the box they were ready to go and with only minor adjustments I had them on my boots and trekking up and down hills and across snow fields. The traction devise looked well designed so I found a slope of about 45 degrees and climbed it with confidence- no back sliding. Side-hilled without lateral slippage. I found the binding very easy to use- the straps tightened with one hand and the soft bindings will conform to any boot shape and size, though the very extremes may be hard to accommodate. No buckles to struggle with (in the past I have had ice get jammed in the buckles and there was always the concern of them breaking) and that is a big plus. I look forward to trying them out in the mountains for an extended trial. I would definitely recommend them with confidence, to anyone who wanted a pair of mountaineering snowshoes.
  • Reviewed by Kneedeep Tim from Colorado on Wednesday, January 15, 2014
    Just used these yesterday in 24 inches of fresh in RMNP . They performed great, Very light but very stable. The binding were solid with no shifting and the crampons really dug in on some pretty steep terrain. Five star
  • Reviewed by Snow Sportsman from New Hampshire on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    I ordered these based on the positive reviews, however, I suspect that some of the reviewers may not be experienced with snowshoes. I put them on at home and decided against bringing them on a mountain hike. The bindings are a real challenge to tighten and loosen. There are no quick-release buckles at all and the heel strap has to be tightened and loosened and threaded through a wide heel cup every time. I can't imaging trying to get these on or off while on the trail, in the cold, wearing gloves or mittens. The toe section of the bindings is also very fussy, similar to a low-end Tubbs binding that I have on another pair of snowshoes. I am also dubious of the "stainless steel" claim on the crampons as they are very strongly magnetic and are painted. I recognize that there are some types of stainless steel that are magnetic, generally used for cutlery to hold a sharp knife edge. I was surprised to see the crampons being painted and magnetic and I suspect they are regular steel but can't be sure. These are going back for a refund, not a bargain.
  • Reviewed by Plumbers Mom from Massachusetts and New Hampshire on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    Have not had a chance to use these beauties yet, we are in the midst of a BIG January thaw here in Massachusetts and New Hampshire. I will say they appear to be a very serious snowshoe! I don't understand the comments about not understanding how the bindings work. When I tried them on it seems quite straightforward to me, in fact it seemed MUCH easier than a ratchet system. But as I stated I haven't used them yet so maybe they do not fasten the way I think they do!!.
    As soon as we get some snow (!!!!!!!) I will report back, if I remember. Oh, I got the blue, very pretty!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 27 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #