Customer Reviews Of:
Komperdell Mountaineer Snowshoes - 27"

Closeouts. Exercise and adventure in the winter months begin with a pair of Komperdell Mountaineer snowshoes, designed for rugged conditions with hard-wearing decking and lightweight, anodized-aluminum frames.

Average Rating based on 29 reviews 4.206896 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Reviewed by Kayla from California on Sunday, March 20, 2016
    I bought these a few months ago as I was new to snowshoeing and didn't want to drop a lot of money without knowing if I'd like it. Well, I'm glad I got these for cheap because the snowshoes ARE cheap. I've run into several problems with these. Perhaps the most annoying problem is the ice that builds up between the heel of your boot and the snowshoe underneath, which causes your foot to slide around. After a few hours of this, your ankle and knee will not be happy. On a couple trips, huge clumps of snow built up in the crampon section so it's like walking on gigantic snowballs. Neither the ice or clumps of snow are easy to knock off the snowshoe. I've used these probably seven times or so, and already the rubbery part of the binding that goes around the heel is ripped on one of them. The heel bindings are terrible; difficult to tighten and loosen, which means they'll come off easily. I also don't really see how these are mountaineering snowshoes since they don't have a lot of traction compared to MSR snowshoes, which have much better side traction. On a steep slope of snow, you probably won't feel comfortable in these. I know I don't! I am glad I didn't spend more money on these. I will definitely be upgrading next season.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Blagburnd from Idaho on Wednesday, January 27, 2016
    My new Komperdell snowshoes are a great addition to my winter activity equipment. I went on my first hike on both groomed and ungroomed trails last weekend and I cut the path for the rest of us. The bindings were a little more complicated than I was used to, but I quickly figured them out and compared to others, they worked really well. They never came loose. The materials are light (4 lbs) total but sturdy. I was very happy with my purchase and I can't wait to go into the real back country in a few weeks.
  • Reviewed by SnowSandy from Centennial, CO on Sunday, January 18, 2015
    This is the first set of snowshoes I bought. I wanted a good paid without breaking my budget and this one fit well into the budget. Getting in and out of the shoes are not too difficult, but I had trouble with the extra strap after tightening it down. Had to tuck them in or fasten them to my boots to prevent stepping on them. My first outing I kept tripping due to the front claws being longer than other snowshoes I rented so it kept grabbing the packed snow. However, they help up well and kept me wanting to keep trying this sport.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Don T from Southern California on Monday, January 5, 2015
    I'm not, nor do I intend to be, regularly snowshoeing. Functionality on these seemed to be just fine. The binding over the toe was fairly easy to get nice and snug, but the heal portion did seem to take some extra work. One shoe did slip off due to the heal strap slipping off after seeming fine for most of the day. Their construction seems adequate and I feel they were worth the money.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike from Pagosa Springs on Friday, January 2, 2015
    We went out last week twice and they seem wonderful. The second day the snow wasn't too deep so they were much better, first day was about 3 feet of snow and without them we would have been miserable.
  • Reviewed by Frank from Minnesota on Friday, February 14, 2014
    Bought these for my wife and she loves the bindings. The bindings are easy to use, she had Redfeather before and she likes these bindings better.
  • Reviewed by Andrews222 from Colorado on Monday, February 3, 2014
    I just tried out the snowshoes in fresh snow about two feet deep with some trails already started by animals and humans alike. On the trails they added to the stability and trail width that had only just been started by earlier hikers with their dogs. In fresh powder, they got through with ease compared to heavier snowshoes or none at all. The buckling system is super easy to use and I like that the ends over the top of the foot snap together. I wish there had been a similar place to 'store' the end strap from behind the heel. The claws on the bottom are heavy duty and add to a feeling of stability.
  • Reviewed by JDill from Michigan on Tuesday, January 28, 2014
    I was looking for a pair of shoes that I could go bushwhacking with, mainly in hilly areas. Have used them in 3' deep snow twice so far and am loving them as I have gone anywhere I wanted to go, even up some steeper hills. Helps to have ski poles to check yourself on the slopes. I also will be investing in either gators or some winter pants. Bought two pair so I could share with a friend, glad I did!
  • Reviewed by woodstrider from New York on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    Purchased these and they arrived yesterday, just in time for the snow-storm that hit NYC with about a foot of snow. So, I took them out to Central Park to try them out in the new powder. Out of the box they were ready to go and with only minor adjustments I had them on my boots and trekking up and down hills and across snow fields. The traction devise looked well designed so I found a slope of about 45 degrees and climbed it with confidence- no back sliding. Side-hilled without lateral slippage. I found the binding very easy to use- the straps tightened with one hand and the soft bindings will conform to any boot shape and size, though the very extremes may be hard to accommodate. No buckles to struggle with (in the past I have had ice get jammed in the buckles and there was always the concern of them breaking) and that is a big plus. I look forward to trying them out in the mountains for an extended trial. I would definitely recommend them with confidence, to anyone who wanted a pair of mountaineering snowshoes.
  • Reviewed by Kneedeep Tim from Colorado on Wednesday, January 15, 2014
    Just used these yesterday in 24 inches of fresh in RMNP . They performed great, Very light but very stable. The binding were solid with no shifting and the crampons really dug in on some pretty steep terrain. Five star
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3