Komperdell Mountaineer Snowshoes - 30"

Closeouts. Exercise and adventure in the winter months begins with a pair of Komperdell Mountaineer snowshoes. They're designed for rugged conditions with hard-wearing decking, and lightweight, anodized-aluminum frames.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Reviewed by BY from NY on Saturday, April 11, 2015
    I am extremely unsatisfied with these snowshoes and have returned them. While other brands (MSR, et al) use a metal hingle to secure your feet to the shoe, this only used the straps. Which allows the shoe to turn almost 45 degrees from your foot, either hurting you or making you sink deep into the snow. Also, the gripping metal teeth under the sole of your foot quickly accumulates ice and snow, which after only a minute or two of walking, compressed into a huge block of ice which exacerbates the sliding foot problem mentioned earlier. Used these for a 5 day hike in the lower Adirondacks. While they are probably fine for a casual stroll with very hard snow 3-5" deep, they stand no match for soft snow or anything deeper.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by reed from maine on Saturday, March 21, 2015
    I am quite happy with these. First pair I have owned. They seem to be a quality product. Went on a few short hikes, no problems, no complaints.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kmrylander from Michigan on Monday, February 23, 2015
    These snowshoes have performed beautifully so far. I get out into the wood, blazing my own trails throughout the winter as often as possible. I've gone through 3 pairs of Costco snowshoes during the last few years.

    The binding system isn't the easiest to just slip into and go, but it is fantastic. The stability of the binding once you are in the shoes is great and once your boot is in the webbing system, they are very easy to adjust and tighten. The snowshoes are wider that my previous inexpensive pair, but the extra size is a plus. Each footfall feels very stable and they track straight ahead (other brands of snowshoes I've had had allowed too much side to side movement with the binding).

    This was a great purchase for me and I would highly recommend these whether you are upgrading, or just getting your first pair. I'm not sure if a smaller person would find these unwieldy or not. They are larger than the cheaper, average 25" snowshoe, but at 6'2",190 lbs. I didn't notice any difference with the added size (other than the previously mentioned benefits).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Abuelita84010 from Utah on Monday, December 29, 2014
    I purchased these for a 6' tall 210# man. He found them to be comfortable & handled well both in powder & hard packed snow trails.
  • Reviewed by Dan from New York on Wednesday, March 12, 2014
    I really wanted to like these. The frame is well designed--very quick. Like the tapered design. Two major design flaws however made these a return for me: 1. Bindings--HORRIBLE. Cumbersome, difficult to put on (every time)....also doubt they will hold up over time. 2. Front crampons--very sharp and grippy, BUT their placement directly under the front of the foot with only a thin piece of flimsy pleather separating the boot (and I was wearing very good Vasque boots) ended up causing discomfort after only half an hour of use. Shame, these really could be great shoes.
  • Reviewed by Nate the Biker from notheast utah on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    They work well, but I can't get the foot to line up square with the heal grips, I don't know if this is normal and I can't see a way to adjust them.
  • Reviewed by Andy1252 from Wisconsin on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
    I just received these snowshoes today and had to take them out for a testing. I am in central WI and we have roughly 2 ft of snow in open areas, while our roadside ditches are almost 4 ft deep. These are the first snowshoes I've ever had/worn. They were super easy to put on and strap up. To me they also felt pretty lightweight. Just normal walking I sink 4-8" depending on how fluffy the snow is. I can actually jog/slow run with these on and I didn't seem to sink much more than 8", and I weighed in at ~175ish with clothing and boots. I walked a little over a mile with these and am very impressed. My calves felt fresh and I know they would be killing if I wasn't wearing the snowshoes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from San Diego, CA on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    Lightweight for the size. Straps are easy to bind to boots for secure fit. They were great while in use. Had a bit of trouble securing them to my pack when not in use.
  • Reviewed by Missoula Dad from Missoula, MT on Thursday, January 19, 2012
    Never tried snowshoes before but do a bit of outdoor and back country stuff in the mountains. These have crazy good traction on hard pack snow and icy steep hills, going up or down. They are easy to walk in and seem to do the job all around. I sink at least 6 inches in 3-4 feet deep snow and can still pretty easily walk. I guess that's not too bad. The hypalon seems to have stretched a little bit after use, but not in a way that is affecting performance. I weigh 185-190 and these 30"ers work, but a larger size might have been better. Depends on your snow and body. One negative thing is that a little plastic binding strap guide broke on my 2nd or 3rd use. It's the only thing that seems semi-flimsy on the snowshoes. I was still able to use them though. I went to the hardware store and bought some little bolts, quarter($0.25) size D-rings and some nylon strap. I'm going to drill out the rivet on the plastic strap guide replace it with something sturdier using those parts. For the minor cost of this upgrade and the discount on the snowshoes, I'm happy.
    • Best Uses: All Terrain, Flat Terrain, Icy Conditions, Off Trail, Rolling Terrain, Steep Pitches
    • Cons: Break Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Pros: Attach Securely, Compact Design, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Lightweight, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Winter Loving Fool from Duluth, MN on Monday, January 2, 2012
    The snowshoes stayed firmly attached to the boots without any adjustments during a 1 hour snowshoe. If you have really deep snow, I would use wooden snowshoes for the maximum floatation but that is true for any of the metal shoes in my opinion.
    • Best Uses: All Terrain, Flat Terrain, Icy Conditions, Off Trail, Rolling Terrain, Steep Pitches
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Attach Securely, Good Traction, Lightweight, Stable
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #