Komperdell Mountaineer Snowshoes - 30"

Closeouts. Exercise and adventure in the winter months begins with a pair of Komperdell Mountaineer snowshoes. They're designed for rugged conditions with hard-wearing decking, and lightweight, anodized-aluminum frames.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Reviewed by Dan from New York on Wednesday, March 12, 2014
    I really wanted to like these. The frame is well designed--very quick. Like the tapered design. Two major design flaws however made these a return for me: 1. Bindings--HORRIBLE. Cumbersome, difficult to put on (every time)....also doubt they will hold up over time. 2. Front crampons--very sharp and grippy, BUT their placement directly under the front of the foot with only a thin piece of flimsy pleather separating the boot (and I was wearing very good Vasque boots) ended up causing discomfort after only half an hour of use. Shame, these really could be great shoes.
  • Reviewed by nate the biker from notheast utah on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    They work well, but I can't get the foot to line up square with the heal grips, I don't know if this is normal and I can't see a way to adjust them.
  • Reviewed by Andy1252 from Wisconsin on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
    I just received these snowshoes today and had to take them out for a testing. I am in central WI and we have roughly 2 ft of snow in open areas, while our roadside ditches are almost 4 ft deep. These are the first snowshoes I've ever had/worn. They were super easy to put on and strap up. To me they also felt pretty lightweight. Just normal walking I sink 4-8" depending on how fluffy the snow is. I can actually jog/slow run with these on and I didn't seem to sink much more than 8", and I weighed in at ~175ish with clothing and boots. I walked a little over a mile with these and am very impressed. My calves felt fresh and I know they would be killing if I wasn't wearing the snowshoes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mark from San Diego, CA on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    Lightweight for the size. Straps are easy to bind to boots for secure fit. They were great while in use. Had a bit of trouble securing them to my pack when not in use.
  • Reviewed by Missoula Dad from Missoula, MT on Thursday, January 19, 2012
    Never tried snowshoes before but do a bit of outdoor and back country stuff in the mountains. These have crazy good traction on hard pack snow and icy steep hills, going up or down. They are easy to walk in and seem to do the job all around. I sink at least 6 inches in 3-4 feet deep snow and can still pretty easily walk. I guess that's not too bad. The hypalon seems to have stretched a little bit after use, but not in a way that is affecting performance. I weigh 185-190 and these 30"ers work, but a larger size might have been better. Depends on your snow and body. One negative thing is that a little plastic binding strap guide broke on my 2nd or 3rd use. It's the only thing that seems semi-flimsy on the snowshoes. I was still able to use them though. I went to the hardware store and bought some little bolts, quarter($0.25) size D-rings and some nylon strap. I'm going to drill out the rivet on the plastic strap guide replace it with something sturdier using those parts. For the minor cost of this upgrade and the discount on the snowshoes, I'm happy.
    • Best Uses: All Terrain, Flat Terrain, Icy Conditions, Off Trail, Rolling Terrain, Steep Pitches
    • Cons: Break Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Pros: Attach Securely, Compact Design, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Lightweight, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Winter Loving Fool from Duluth, MN on Monday, January 2, 2012
    The snowshoes stayed firmly attached to the boots without any adjustments during a 1 hour snowshoe. If you have really deep snow, I would use wooden snowshoes for the maximum floatation but that is true for any of the metal shoes in my opinion.
    • Best Uses: All Terrain, Flat Terrain, Icy Conditions, Off Trail, Rolling Terrain, Steep Pitches
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Attach Securely, Good Traction, Lightweight, Stable
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chico from Utah on Wednesday, December 21, 2011
    This is not a highend showshoe although it will serve most peoples needs. I showshoe mostly off trail through the woods on a mountain where I live. The bindings are one of the cons to these shoes. The webing is narrow with small narrow buckles. They seem to hold OK although they are a bit difficult to tighten up around your boot due to their size. There is a small snap on the ends of the straps so the straps done flop around. The snaps are worthless and get clogged up with snow. This is not a huge negative. The biggest con is the decking rubs around the frame and squeaks very loud as you walk. The cleets seem stable and offer good traction. Overall the shoes seem well built and sturdy. Don't care for the squeaking so I will be sending them back.
    • Best Uses: All Terrain
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Good Traction
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chalky from Covington, WA on Monday, November 28, 2011
    Good build quality. Easy on; stay secured. Average weight for aluminum snowshoes. Used recently on worm flows approach to St Helens. 2 ft of fresh snow in parking lot and 3+ feet on the route. Used across varied terrain, (flat to very steep) with no issues.
    • Best Uses: All Terrain
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Attach Securely, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Traction, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.