Komperdell Mountaineer Trekking Poles - Compact, Power Lock, Pair

Closeouts. Increase your stability on rugged alpine terrain with Komperdell Mountaineer trekking poles, featuring Power Lock mechanisms and contoured grips.

  • Komperdell poles stabilize footing on the trail, relieve pressure on joints and help conserve energy
  • Poles quickly adjust to your preferred height
  • Collapses for easy transport
  • Power Lock mechanisms for ease of use
  • Contoured hand grips
  • Adjustable wrist straps
  • Removable baskets
  • Extended: 140cm (55')
  • Collapsed: 65cm (25-½")
  • Weight: 1 lb. 2 oz. pr.
  • Material:
  • Shaft: Aluminum
  • Handle: Composite
  • Tip: Carbide
  • Sold as a pair
  • By Komperdell of Austria
  • Made in Austria

Average Rating based on 41 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 41 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by nacra from Northeast GA - USA on Monday, April 02, 2012
    I ordered these because I had a 40% off coupon and they were very inexpensive. You get what you pay for with these. I would not recommend these at normal price (without a coupon) and may not recommend them at any price. These are as basic as it gets with the power lock. Take a look at the local discount big box and you get about the same thing with these poles.
    The Bad -
    The PLASTIC grips are not very comfy. The stud that holds the grip to the pole is too long. It sticks out into the grip on one side or the other and it irritates your hand. I can push it in and out so I'll eventually push it out a little and sand it down. That will solve that.
    The straps are basic webbing, no padding like some other poles.
    As mentioned, in other reviews, although they compress down pretty small, they don't lock unless the bottom section is extended about 5".
    As mentioned, they "boing" more than the other poles I've played with. More vibration on hard surfaces.

    The good
    The lever style power locks are very good. The don't slip with significant load and not as prone to failure as the older style twist locks.
    Strap adjustment seems to lock in securley. No problems there if you adjust them and use them correctly.

    I would only recommend these poles if they are less expensive than a similar big box set of poles.
    • Best Uses: Icy Conditions, Slushy Conditions
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Easy To Use, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by benny from Portland Oregon on Tuesday, March 20, 2012
    Nice trekking pole. only down side is lowest section does not stay in place when compressed.
    It is not a huge problem since gravity keeps it down when pole is in my backpack.
    • Best Uses: Icy Conditions, Powder, Slushy Conditions, White Out Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Easy To Use, Lightweight, Tough
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BC from Pittsburgh, PA on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
    I'm an avid hiker and mountain / ice climber. I was looking for a solid pair of poles that were lightweight, collapsable, and wouldn't break the bank. These fit the bill. I got to test these poles over the weekend on an ice climbing trip to the high peaks region of New York's Adirondacks Park. The poles performed well even in 8+ in of fresh snow. They were a HUGE help on the steep ascents to several climbs where keeping your balance on slick ice with a pack on can prove extremely difficult. These were just what I needed to make the approach and conserve enough energy for a full day of climbing. The manual lever lock system is easy to manipulate even when wearing thick gloves. The poles were secure and never slipped even with exterme force. My only complaint was that one of the pins that holds the lever lock in place fell out while I was adjusting it. I'm sure this was due to metal shrinkage caused by single digit temps. I'll get a replacement at a local hardware store and keep this in mind while making adjustments in cold weather. Poles lash onto pack or collapse small enough to fit inside if desired. Great buy!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy to adjust, Lightweight, Strong
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tobyab123 from Sydney, Australia on Monday, February 13, 2012
    Highly recommended. Cheap but not cheaply made!
    • Best Uses: Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy to adjust, Flexible, Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiking Girl from Walnut Creek, CA on Thursday, January 05, 2012
    I hike 25 miles a week. these poles vibrate and you can feel it every time you put them down in the ground. Not comfortable for hiking at all. I would not recommend them for the casual hiker or the avid more experienced hiker.
    • Best Uses: Not for hiking
    • Cons: Wobble vibrations
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy to adjust, Strong
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mwc from rockport,tx on Wednesday, December 14, 2011
    Hiked in Bandelier National Monument for the first test. Worked well in the snow and icy conditions.
    • Best Uses: Day trip, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy to adjust, Good grips, Lightweight, Strong
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fish and Raft from Clovis, CA on Sunday, December 04, 2011
    They will take up little space when not in use and are adjustable for use by myself or by my wife.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Pros: Easy to adjust, Good grips
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Guyman from Latham, NY on Saturday, November 19, 2011
    First time ever using hiking poles. Went on a steep hike with wet oak leaves covering cobbles. Very useful, allowed me to stabilize myself and avoid slipping. Used 'em uphill/downhill and glad I got 'em.
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Easy to adjust, Good grips, Lightweight, Strong
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by joe backpacker from Naples, FL on Saturday, November 05, 2011
    I took these out for a quick hike in the everglades to try them out and they were very functional. Good stability in soft soil contions.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy to adjust, Good grips, Lightweight, Strong
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Backfire from Southwest Michigan on Sunday, October 30, 2011
    These don't collapse like twist-locks. Low weight for the price. Bought a pair for my wife, son, and now me.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy to adjust, Good grips, Lightweight
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Minimalist
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 41 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.