Komperdell Southern Cross Trekking Poles - Pair

Closeouts. With a lightweight design that adjusts easily, Komperdell Southern Cross trekking poles are excellent for relieving joint pressure and easing back strain while day hiking, exploring the backcountry and during light alpine trekking.

Average Rating based on 45 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 45 reviews
  • Reviewed by Steve C from Lakewood, Colorado on Saturday, December 07, 2013
    I bought a pair and broke them on a trip up Mt. Rainier. I carried the broken pair all the way back and Sierra Trading post gladly exchanged them. Then I broke the second pair on their first use out (5 miles into a 25 mile backpacking trip) after the return. I don't see myself as being particularly rough on hiking pole so I am returning them for a diffrent brand thinking these just can't hold up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CaliforniaRole from Carlsbad CA on Monday, January 21, 2013
    Bought for a team hike, used by first timers, all poles worked as advertised, no problems at all. Would use this brand again for more advanced gear in future
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Maiden from Hesperus, Colorado on Thursday, January 03, 2013
    These poles suprised me by how heavy they were - I have other Komperdell poles that are much lighter in weight - probably half as much. Also, there are no markings to tell you how long the poles are when you extend them. The problem with that is that you cannot just extend the pole to your desired length and tighten it; you will need to either measure another extended pole and mark this one at the appropriate length or end up with a different length every time. I need my poles to have markings, so I returned these.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by snowshoe from New Paltz, NY on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
    Great snowshoe pole
    • Best Uses: Any
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Pros: Easy To Use, Nice Grip And Weight, Tough
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gary from Idaho on Thursday, October 04, 2012
    I plan to use this winter; so don't know how they will work yet; by the look and feel and comparison to previous product, these will be great.
    • Best Uses: Winter
    • Cons: none
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Easy To Use, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by triumphant-ck from new york, ny on Tuesday, October 02, 2012
    these are very nice. they are adjustable at two levels so they fold in a little more than if they only adjust in the middle.
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Easy To Use, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stereo from Charleston, WV on Saturday, September 29, 2012
    I love these...
    • Best Uses: Icy Conditions, Powder, Slushy Conditions, White Out Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Easy To Use, Lightweight, Stylish, Tough
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Novice hiker from Boston, MA on Tuesday, September 25, 2012
    They are as good as any trekking poles can be, and very helpful when hiking down. However, not so helpful when hiking up and carrying them is not that trivial.
    • Cons: Unreliable Lock
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Easy To Use, Lightweight, Tough
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by doglady from Oregon on Saturday, August 25, 2012
    I use these for hiking to relieve knee stress.
    • Best Uses: Hiking
    • Cons: Tend to loosen
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Easy To Use, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by onceinawhile from Boston, MA on Thursday, August 16, 2012
    These hiking poles are great for steep climbing in rocky, snowy, icy or muddy conditions.
    They compress to a length that allows them to go in regular luggage for remote hikes that require air travel.
    The only drawback is that to securely lock in the baskets takes a lot of effort: the rubber is properly formed, but it doesn't fit in too well.
    • Best Uses: Climbing steep slopes, Crossing streams, Icy Conditions, Slushy Conditions
    • Cons: Baskets hard to install
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Easy To Use, Fit in regular luggage, Lightweight, Secure locking mechanism, Tough
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 45 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.