Kovea Backpackers Gas Stove

Closeouts. Compact and durable, Kovea's Backpackers gas stove is a great choice for overnight trips.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JohnnyB from SoCal on Monday, October 13, 2014
    Purchased this stove for back packing trips with son's scout troop.
    Very good value with the frequently offered discounts.
    Small and lightweight, excellent for minimalist style packing. Didn't time it, but brings a large quantity of liquid to a boil quickly.
    Only significant downside I've encountered is the high center of gravity, need to be very cautious with larger containers especially. Works fine for me, but might not be the best choice for younger users or anyone who isn't paying close attention. Consider something like the Kovea Booster Dual Max Gas Stove if extra cost and weight isn't an issue. Word is that white gas is more efficient at higher altitudes, so dual fuel option could be advantageous as well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by batteryman from Wisconsin on Friday, August 15, 2014
    Recently purchased the Kovea stove from STP. Used along side the "Snow Peak Gigapower" stove on a week long canoe trip. The Kovea actually performed better, with better heat distribution and considerably better stability. The flame control from high to simmer performed well. It does not have auto lighting capability and it is heavier than the Snow Peak. Other than that we think this little stove is a "best buy"
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AMO from MN on Wednesday, August 6, 2014
    I love the simplicity of this little stove! My friend and I used it on the superior hiking trail this weekend and we couldn't get over how easy it was to use!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adirondack Ace from Northernmost NY State on Sunday, July 20, 2014
    I bought the Kovea Backpackers Gas Stove and the Kovea Eagle stove at the same time. This review will cover both of them. I'm posting the same review under the Eagle, word for word. FYI before you read further, I haven't used them in the field yet.

    I had just decided to change over to this type of stove for AT section hiking, and bought a Snow Peak LiteMax Titanium. I got a good deal on that, but when I saw how inexpensive [$15.36 and $13.26 with online deals flyers !] these were from STP, I thought "one for my bugout bag, one for the car, some for needy friends/relatives, maybe buy a bowlful to hand out at Halloween..." Before ordering them at this ridiculously low price, I remembered the adage "you get what you pay for!". But after looking them over for a couple of weeks, and boiling a quart of water on the Eagle, I haven't found any reason yet to think they're cheap quality.

    CANISTER COMPATIBILITY: I attached them easily and firmly to Primus, JetBoil, and MSR canisters, and they all fit. I put a bubble solution around the connection area to check for leaks. The stoves attached leak-free to all canisters. ! OFF TOPIC WARNING ! : The 8oz/227gram net MSR canisters leaked from the canister itself while the stove was connected, and for 10 -30 seconds after disconnecting. The leak was NOT from the gas connection between stove and can. The fault appears to be in how the canister valve was mounted to the canister body. I had a number of these canisters on hand, and every one I tried had the same leak. The lot # is 020714, found on bottom, dot-printed. It's a very slow leak, and probably only dangerous if you leave the stove connected and put it away in a backpack, tent, car trunk, covered gear bin, or closet. The canister has a warning, in tiny print, not to leave appliance attached to canister. I've contacted MSR and DOT Hazmat dept. about this.


    SIMMER, FLAME CONTROL:
    Backpacker(BP)-Very good simmer, but not extremely low. When simmering extremely low, If you happen to push in or left on the control knob when you grab it, the flame will go out. The gas flow resumes when the inward pressure is relieved, and you can restart it. Just don't think you turned it off. Control knob turns 7/8 of a full turn, but goes from off to full blast in about 1/2 turn. Still, the flame is finely adjustable from 1 3/4", burner width, , to 5 1/4", the full width of my pot, and 1" up the sides. Burner head has some jets pointing straight up, so even when flame covers whole bottom of pot, there's a ~2" ring of higher intensity flame in the middle.
    Eagle- very good simmer. Pressure on the wire valve handle will not affect flame while simmering extremely low. Valve handle turns 1 1/4 turns, but like BP, goes from off to full blast in 1/2 turn. Flame is finely adjustable from 1 1/4" burner width to 5 1/4" full pot width and 1" up the sides. Burner head is angled outward more than BP and flame intensity is more evenly distributed over bottom area of pot.

    POT RESTS: Each stove has 4 pot rests made of bent steel rods. Rod's don't have any wind screening ability. Be sure rods drop into their securing notch so they don't shift while cooking. This might be a little hard with numb or mittened hands...or red-hot rods.
    BP 5 1/8" diameter across pot rests. more stable. Top of pot rest is 6" above base of 8 oz canister.
    Eagle 3 3/4" diameter across pot rests. less stable. Top of pot rest is 6" above base of 8 oz canister.

    WEIGHT: I just have a kitchen scale, maybe not very accurate, so FWIW,
    BP My scale read almost 2 oz/55g. less than STP's specs/ weight shown on the box
    Eagle My scale agreed pretty much w/STP's specs/box specs.

    BOIL TIME: I tested only the Eagle for this. Water temp 74F, air temp 83F, covered pot, very high flame, but not quite highest possible, which I think is less fuel efficient. On kitchen table. I carefully measured 1 quart. Unfortunately, specs are based on 1 liter.
    I got a rolling boil in 4:25/quart, compared to 4:39/liter in the specs. To those of you already working out the conversions for those figures to get a precise, meaningful comparison: I hope you you are able to leave that mindset behind while you're actually backpacking. :~)
    ---

    When packing the Eagle, the valve handle is in its most compact/secure position when it's almost 1/4 turn open. Remember to close it before attaching it to the canister.



  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rob from Arkansas on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
    Seems to be a great product only tried once however appears to do the job, boils water in a 2qt pan in 4 minutes on medium.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Karkeys from Santa Cruz on Monday, June 23, 2014
    simple,elegant,inexpensive- what more can I say?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lowrider from ID on Wednesday, June 4, 2014
    They work just as well as any other stove of this type. Quality is good. The folding pot support legs must be completely seated in their notch to ensure they don't move while using the stove.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Andy in the woods from Michigan on Thursday, May 29, 2014
    Took this on my first backpacking trip with a big group. There were two bigger MSR stoves along, so I just wanted to see what this one could do. It was the crowd favorite! Boils water fastest! No muss, no fuss, super small and light. I boiled 9 pots of water ( up to 2L) on one can of gas and still going strong.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #