La Sportiva B5 Approach Shoes - Leather (For Men)

Closeouts. La Sportiva’s B5 Approach shoes walk the line between climbing and approach shoes with an impact brake system that reduces impact and increases traction all at the same time! The sturdy-yet-flexible FriXion® outsole is sticky and ready to tackle any terrain.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
  • Reviewed by Will and fair from Minneapolis, MN on Tuesday, June 21, 2011
    Given that they are La Sportiva I assumed a certain level of quality and I was sadly disappointed. Almost immediately after purchase, the soles started to fall apart. I glued them back together and maybe two weeks later, the heal cup wore out and the lining ripped away causing wicked blisters. This happened 2x proving that it was not by chance.
    • Cons: Flimsy
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Scoutclimber from Oxnard, Ca on Tuesday, February 08, 2011
    These are very good shoes and I replaced my heavier La Sportiva hiking boots and now I'm flying up the hills.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Outdoor
    • Cons: Gets dirty easily
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Duff the Explorer from Fort Collins, CO on Tuesday, August 10, 2010
    I took these with me to the Cordilerra Central in the Dominican Republic. I originally bought them intending to use them for approach and scrambling up fourteener's, but I decided to use them for ecology field work instead.

    They are incredibly durable and lasted for the duration of the two month trip, of which, consisted of repetitive abuse: bushwacking dense thorny cloud forest's, hiking steep muddy or loose rocky trails and hiking off trail on steep alpine terrain (yes there are pine forests in the Dominican Republic). The shoes lasted through brutal abuse; they had to be dried by campfire most nights and withstood hiking an average of ten miles a day through drenching rain much of the time. They have excellent traction even when wet and muddy.

    Although I had problems with the toe box collapsing on the right shoe I remedied that by re-lacing and skipping the culprit eyelet. The soles finally started to separate the last few weeks from being too close to the fire several times but some lucky Dominican guide with a size 11.5 foot will still get years of use out of them.

    I would buy another pair if Sierra had my size. I can only imagine how they would perform for their intended use. Although, they did work quite well for scrambling up steep slippery boulders. Another excellent product La Sportiva!

    Much more than I could say for the Cirque Pro's..
    • Best Uses: Outdoor
    • Cons: Hard to dry, Minimal Cushioning, Toe box pinch
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Mostly weather resistant, Rugged, Versatile, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jonnykk from Lyndonville, VT on Monday, April 05, 2010
    I bought these to replace a pair of LaSportiva Boulders from many years back. As with most climbing / bouldering shoes, they are meant to fit snug so I ordered a full size up for a bit more comfort. These have been great for hiking with the dogs and as a general all around shoe. I liked them enough that I ordered a 2nd pair.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tracker from Richmond, VA on Monday, March 29, 2010
    After some internet research, I chose La Sportiva because I have narrow AA feet. These shoes fit perfectly right away, this has never happened!!!!
    • Best Uses: Outdoor
    • Cons: Marks up floors
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by recreational climber from San Diego, CA on Sunday, March 28, 2010
    A rugged shoe with lots of sticky rubber, a true talus hopping shoe.
    • Best Uses: Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Best for climbers
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Seajh from Roanoke, VA on Tuesday, December 22, 2009
    I have put a lot of miles on multiple continents with these shoes. They are very stable in rocky terrain, and comfortable even on long approaches. Too bulky to climb in, but the rubber provides great traction while scrambling/ boulder hopping. The longevity of this shoe leaves much to be desired, however. Out of the box the lace eyelets fell out, after 2 months the inside liner/ padding of the heal was completely gone, now at 16 months the soles are de-laminating. Overall: comfort/stability great, durability/longevity poor.
    • Best Uses: Approach hikes
    • Cons: Poor craftmanship
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Comfortable stable, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by beastofthefield from a cave near yosemite on Thursday, December 17, 2009
    perfect for longer rougher approaches and easy fifth class backcountry climbs.
    • Best Uses: Long approaches
    • Cons: Too heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Sticky sole
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by etc. from Northwest GA on Monday, November 23, 2009
    comfortable shoe that performs well on trails as well as moderate climbs.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Flash from North Carolina on Wednesday, November 18, 2009
    Great Shoe not much wear time, but very comfortable!!!
    • Best Uses: Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Getting Started
    • Pros: Lightweight, Rugged, Versatile, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.