La Sportiva Nuptse Mountaineering Boots - Waterproof, Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Even the Himalayas are no match for the Nuptse moutaineering boots from La Sportiva. The outer boot is constructed with a proprietary package of materials consisting of PU coated Cordura with insulation plus an internal aluminum thermo-reflective coating for warmth and protection, and the the inner boot has its own laces for dialing in the perfect fit.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AK climber from Fairbanks, AK on Wednesday, March 28, 2012
    I usually wear a 37.5-38 in La Sportiva and sized up to a 39.5 with the Nuptse. Although the fit was great for ice climbing, after 8 miles of AT skiing, a quarter size amount of flesh was exposed on both of my heels. These do work better for me than the Scarpa Invernos, but I fear a long break-in period is ahead. Be aware and plan ahead when you take these out for the first time! That said,they stand up well to the sub-zero temps of interior Alaska.
    • Best Uses: Ice climbing interior AK, Mountaineering, Outdoor
    • Cons: Bulky, Heel lift, Stiff
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Comfortable at first, Rugged, Very warm
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Julius from Reisterstown MD on Monday, November 21, 2011
    Good boots 0 - 15F.
    • Describe Yourself: Competitive Climber
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SG from New England on Wednesday, November 17, 2010
    I normally don't leave negative feedback but my experience trying to get a pair of these boots was bad. I typically wear a women's 7.5 (men's 6/EU 38). I ordered a 38.5(women's 8) but had to jam my feet into the boots. I exchanged them for a 40 (men's 7.5/women's 9). Even this size boot was way too small. I gave up at this point [...] to end up with no boots. There is a note on the boot description saying to order a 1/2 size larger but the note is way off and useless. [...] I have bought a lot of things here but will never order a pair of shoes from here again as one can't rely on their sizing comments, especially for this product.
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AlexE from Los Angeles on Thursday, April 15, 2010
    These run really small--had to order 1.5 sizes bigger than normal. The toe box is also tight, width-wise and up and down. Once you get the sizing figured out, they are really nice boots.
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Rugged, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DrFunker from New England on Thursday, April 08, 2010
    Haven't been out on these yet. I bought them after researching the best boots for snowboarding/splitboarding. These boots came up in discussions many times. I am planning a trip to the White Mtns. this spring and bought these boots specifically for that purpose. Will try to write a post-review when I get back for the trip.
    • Best Uses: Mountaineering, Outdoor, Snowboarding
    • Cons: None that I can see
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Rugged, Weather Resistant, Well Built
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Brandon from San Diego, CA on Tuesday, March 09, 2010
    This is a full on mountaineering double-boot. Great for all season use on major peaks (think Rainier, Alaska, Canada, volcanoes in Mexico/SA) or winter work on less frigid peaks. Way overkill for what most people might climb. As other people have commented, the sizing is a bit strange. I normally wear an 8.5 (mens) which would be a 41.5 according to Sportiva. Knowing they run small and given the STP's purchase advice, I went up 1/2 size to a 42 - still too tight. My toes were right into the tips of the boot. Also, I have a narrow foot and even after going up a 1/2 size, they were still too narrow in the forefoot. Back half of the foot (heel/ankle) felt fine thought...
    • Best Uses: Harsh conditions, Winter mountaineering
    • Cons: Odd Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Bomb Proof, Bulky, Rugged
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Reviewed by Splitman from Seattle, WA on Sunday, March 07, 2010
    These boots are quite amazing! First time out in the Cascade backcountry without any problems, broke right in immediately. Conditions were frozen solid to crunchy to crusty and powdery. Climbed approximately 1800 ft, out for about 4 hours. Was able to snowshoe and snowboard in the boots. Much much better than snowboard boots for hiking in the back country. Forward lean needs to be adjusted on the highback due to significant flex of the uppers. Have not tried crampons, but are suppose to fit crampons. Super warm too! Can't wait to try with splitboard. Be sure to get half to one whole size larger. I am a 9 and the 9.5 fits me perfectly!
    • Best Uses: Backcountry snowboarding, Mountaineering
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Rugged, Versatile, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Denali Time from Duluth, MN on Thursday, February 18, 2010
    Good boot, very warm, very comfortable. A bit heavy and bulky.
    • Best Uses: Cold weather climbing, Outdoor
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Getting Started
    • Pros: Rugged, Very comfortable, Warm, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John Everest from NY, NY on Sunday, February 14, 2010
    Mountaineering Boot

    Better than Plastic

    Tough to size

    I am a 7.5 wide...ended up wearing a 8.5...
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight, Rugged, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Reviewed by Zebber the Dreamer from Duluth, MN on Tuesday, February 09, 2010
    These are no joke, big mountain boots. I am getting into mountaineering with aspirations of winter Teton summits, spring climbs on Mt. Rainier, and summer on Denali. This is a lot of boot maybe a bit much, however it is nice piece of mind to know: this boot + overboot = ten toes intact no matter what.
    • Best Uses: Big mountains
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Getting Started
    • Pros: Rugged, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.